Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 15:43
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Adding breadcrumb?

I just installed a new style but this style does not have a correct breadcrumb.
Here an image of what it looks like:



And here an image of how I want it to look like.



I checked the sources and all codes are correct and on the correct place but it does not want to show the correct information on the forum. Does it has anything to do with the vars itself?

I totally have no clue. Any ideas on how to make it look the same?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 18:09
mmoore5553 mmoore5553 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
i would have to see the actual forum or test board. i would assume just copy breadcrumbs from default and add it to your skin.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 19:00
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Originally Posted by mmoore5553 View Post
i would have to see the actual forum or test board. i would assume just copy breadcrumbs from default and add it to your skin.
"I checked the sources and all codes are correct and on the correct place but it does not want to show the correct information on the forum. Does it has anything to do with the vars itself?"

I checked it on both forums. The codes are the same but they both show something different.
The breadcrumb is in the nav template right? Near the bottom.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21 Jul 2010, 19:19
mmoore5553 mmoore5553 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Yes that is correct ...I would not know where to guess since a theme and no link but if code is there it should work or css is wrong or hiding it .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22 Jul 2010, 10:32
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Hmm how could CSS affect that?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22 Jul 2010, 16:22
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
The breadcrumb isn't even shown in the image in the first post. You need to check your navbar template and make sure the code is in there. Go to edit the template, click on View History > Compare and you'll see where it is supposed to be.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 22 Jul 2010, 16:29
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
The breadcrumb isn't even shown in the image in the first post. You need to check your navbar template and make sure the code is in there. Go to edit the template, click on View History > Compare and you'll see where it is supposed to be.
Not original:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Original:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

All I did was deleting the forum home image. Even if I add it back the breadcrumb is still not there.
I checked the source when at a topic and the new skin does not show the breadcrumb at all.
Where

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

is at in the template will show nothing on a topic. It doesn't show the breadcrumb at all o.o.

Am I being stupid or what?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23 Jul 2010, 03:51
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Try disabling your modifications/plugins and see if you still have this problem.
Note: To temporarily disable the plugin system, edit includes/config.php and add this line right under <?php


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


If your files are all default files, and your style is default, the only other thing I can think of is that a modification is causing the issue.

A link to your site would help as well.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 23 Jul 2010, 09:57
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Forum Link

I disabled all plugins and the breadcrumb is still not showing up.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23 Jul 2010, 16:26
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Does it show up on a vbulletin default style (you only show your custom style)? Are all your files totally default? Have you looked at your error_logs to see if anything is in there (if you don't know where they are, ask your host)?

How to create a vbulletin default style:
  • Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Add New Style
  • Parent Style: No Parent Style
  • Title: Default vBulletin
  • Allow User Selection: Yes
  • Save
Then browse the site using that totally default vbulletin style - do you still have the same problem?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23 Jul 2010, 16:42
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
The breadcrumb is shown in the vBulletin default style.

The breadcrumb code part of the navbar in vBulletin default style and the custom style is exactly the same but the breadcrumb does not show up in the custom style.

http://freestylersworld.com/?styleid=46
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25 Jul 2010, 08:30
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 26 Jul 2010, 03:01
mmoore5553 mmoore5553 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
I just took a look at your site and there is no code for breadcrumb. You have it either comment out or not there at all. I was logged in as guest and should have seen it unless you have it not there for guest. If you want to PM me login then i can check more but so far nothing there

--------------- Added 26 Jul 2010 at 03:05 ---------------

There is missing code. I used firebug and added appropriate code and they showed up. I am not sure what on this theme they missed but the code wrong. Without admins rights to vbulletin or at least rights to see the styles and templates this is as far as i can help

Last edited by mmoore5553; 26 Jul 2010 at 03:05. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 26 Jul 2010, 10:38
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
I checked again and the codes are on the correct places. I even tried moving the breadcrumb to the SHOWTHREAD template and that didn't work aswell.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26 Jul 2010, 16:22
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
You cannot move templates for it or it won't work. Variables need to be registered to work in a template. Is your breadcrumb code in the navbar template?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:38.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: