Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 06 Nov 2016, 14:58
adkaush adkaush is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Migrating SMF to vBulletin - What's the Best Way?

Good day,

My forum is on SMF 2.0.11 and I have recently purchased the vBulletin license and wish to switch over to vBulletin. Yes, I did my research and have found enough information to get along. However, please read to the end, have a few specific questions that I need help with before I go ahead and switch over.

So, as far as I have researched and read, have come to these threads ..

The Impex sub-forum here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=267
Zachery's Impex guide: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=320362

Zachery's Github: https://github.com/vBZachery/vbimpex
vBulletin manual: http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/i...rsion=40202604
Manual for 4.2.3 Patch Level 2: http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/i...rsion=40202604

I hope I'm on the right track ..

I understand that I cannot upgrade from SMF 2.0.11 to VB 5 Connect directly. So I have to first install the VB4 and then upgrade. Once upgraded and no errors, should upgrade to VB5 connect.

Questions:

1. Should I install the VB Forum 4.x or should I install the VB Forum 4.x Publishing Suite before I initiate the import?

2. My current SMF forum is at MySite.com/forum/ ('forum' folder is the root for SMF installation). Will there be any problems if I install the VB 4.x on the root of the domain name? Will there be any conflicts since MySite.com/forum/ is the root of SMF installation. However, if I install VB 4.x on the root, will the VB installation have any conflict with the forum folder?

For example, MySite.com/forum/ would show the SMF installation or would it show the VB forum installation?

Sorry, I'm trying hard to explain but not sure if I'm doing a good job at putting my thoughts to words. Another example of what I'm trying to say ... If I have Wordpress installation at the root of the domain and the SMF/VB forum in the "forum" folder, then Mysite.com/forum/ gets a conflict. Wordpress tries to take over the folder displaying it as part of the Wordpress installation.

That's the kind of conflict I am talking about. Would appreciate if anyone can answer my questions and show me the correct way of importing SMF to vBulletin.

Thanks and cheers!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06 Nov 2016, 22:53
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
I would go this route:
- Install vBulletin 3 (Yes, if you purchased a vB4 license in the past or more recently a vB5 license you can still download and install vB3 HOWEVER can only run one version at a time - you're allowed one test site though, so you know ).
- Impex (import) from SMF 2 to vB3.
- Upon successful import and cleanup with the site showing in vBulleitn 3, now upgrade to vBulletin 4.
- If you wish to upgrade to vBulletin 5 now is the time to do so i.e. immediately following a successful upgrade to vB4 otherwise simply forego the upgrade to 5 and run vB4.

As for your other concerns:
1. It depends on, if you want to use the vBulletin CMS or not (see below for more on that).
2. You can install vBulletin in any folder i.e. /testvb/ then once you successfully complete the import and upgrade(s) to whichever vBulletin version you can then move SMF to another folder, move vBulletin to /forum/ or /forums/ and simply update the bburl in the database to reflect the new location and it will work fine. If you decide to utilize vB4 and it's CMS then you could move the CMS to the root i.e. public_html and still run the forums from /forum/ and such. Alternatively you could install Wordpress and use it as a CMS, then install a SSO/Bridge and connect vB to Wordpress since many love the ease-of-use of Wordpress respectively.

Reference: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=323562
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 06 Nov 2016 at 23:14.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08 Nov 2016, 11:59
adkaush adkaush is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Thank you so much Superman

I have read your reply over and again and have understood how to move with the import. This is what I'm going to do, please correct me if I'm going wrong anywhere.

I would be installing the vBulletin 3 in root/vbulletin folder just to avoid any kind of conflict with the current installation. Once vBulletin is installed and working just fine, I will upgrade it to vB4 and immediately will upgrade to vB5 Connect. I do wish to use the vB CMS (Blog, etc) so that I can use all the aspects of the software.

Once upgraded to vB 5 connect, I will remove the SMF installation and move all the files from vBulletin folder to the root of the domain and change BBurl.

Is that the correct way to do it? Please correct me if I'm wrong anywhere or if I should do anything differently.

Just another question .. Where should I install Impex through this time? Should the Impex be installed on the root of the domain while the SMF installation is in FORUM folder and VB3 installation is in the vBulletin folder? Should I keep the Impex once everything is done or can I delete it?

Appreciate your help and support

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08 Nov 2016, 14:37
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Install Vbulletin in a test folder as to not interfere with your working live site. Do the import here and when you are done then place the live site in a new folder and move the Vbulletin site into the root folder. Make sure to change the paths in the Vbulletin install.

--------------- Added 08 Nov 2016 at 14:38 ---------------

Install Impex into Vbulletin root, not the root where smf is.
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09 Nov 2016, 12:02
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by adkaush View Post
Thank you so much Superman

I have read your reply over and again and have understood how to move with the import. This is what I'm going to do, please correct me if I'm going wrong anywhere.

I would be installing the vBulletin 3 in root/vbulletin folder just to avoid any kind of conflict with the current installation. Once vBulletin is installed and working just fine, I will upgrade it to vB4 and immediately will upgrade to vB5 Connect. I do wish to use the vB CMS (Blog, etc) so that I can use all the aspects of the software.

Once upgraded to vB 5 connect, I will remove the SMF installation and move all the files from vBulletin folder to the root of the domain and change BBurl.

Is that the correct way to do it? Please correct me if I'm wrong anywhere or if I should do anything differently.

Just another question .. Where should I install Impex through this time? Should the Impex be installed on the root of the domain while the SMF installation is in FORUM folder and VB3 installation is in the vBulletin folder? Should I keep the Impex once everything is done or can I delete it?

Appreciate your help and support

Regards.
Yes that is correct, Richie in the post above also described it so if his description makes more sense then by all means .

Once you're done its best to remove impex AND always ensure after upgrading that you remove the /install/ folder do not rename it (security risk).
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13 Nov 2016, 19:02
adkaush adkaush is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Thanks for the help guys, appreciate that a lot.

Have another question .. I have downloaded the Impex from here: https://github.com/vBZachery/vbimpex

Is this version of Impex good for importing SMF 2.0.11 database to VB 3.8.9 patch level 1?

Would appreciate your help!

Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Nov 2016, 05:23
adkaush adkaush is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Alright, a heck of a ride man!

Finally imported everything, fixed all forums, sub-forums, users, usergroups, settings (a lot of them) and what not! But I knew I'd be successful because of you awesome guys providing support and I really mean that. You all made it look so easy

I wish to ask a few questions and would reaaally appreciate if someone here can please answer these questions ...

I wish to use the vB5 connect (blogs, homepage, suite, etc). So should I move the VB installation to the root of the domain or should I move it to some folder? I believe, I should move it to the domain root but still wish to confirm.

That's all I have on my mind. Would appreciate your help a lot!

Regards.

--------------- Added 15 Nov 2016 at 18:22 ---------------

Could anyone please look at this page and guide me, what can I do to make the BB code work? All the threads are showing like that after the import ..

indianvapers.com/vb/showthread.php?t=3148

Would appreciate your help a lot.

Last edited by adkaush; 16 Nov 2016 at 13:26.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16 Nov 2016, 12:49
adkaush adkaush is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Hi guys, would appreciate if anyone can guide me in regards to the above questions.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Nov 2016, 12:10
adkaush adkaush is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Ok, I guess, I'm on my own. Been waiting for someone to point me in the right direction with the questions I've asked. But I guess, that's all I can get ...

Can anyone at least tell me why the BB Code is not coming through properly? And if there is some easier way to fix it?

May be I should run a query through PHP MyAdmin and replace all the gibberish code with the correct code? Or if there is some tool available that can check the BB Code and fix it without running database queries?

Come on guys, please point me in some direction, a little help to guide me to the solution for the problem I'm facing?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 Nov 2016, 15:44
socialteenz's Avatar
socialteenz socialteenz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Real name: Arun
You can try replacing the old bb codes to the new ones with this add on.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=239234

Always take a backup before performing them.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:03.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: