Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Nexus, Facebook & Google multiple login integration Details »
vB Nexus, Facebook & Google multiple login integration
Mod Version: 1.00, by ibautocommunity (Coder) ibautocommunity is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.3 Rating: (17 votes - 4.47 average) Installs: 154
Released: 13 Aug 2009 Last Update: 13 Aug 2009 Downloads: 1928
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations External Content Is in Beta Stage  

vBulletin Nexus
Current project release: BETA
This works on vBulletin 3.7.X - 3.8.4

This product will allow visitors to join your community using their Facebook, Google, Yahoo or AIM account; and will allow your existing members to associate an existing forum account with one of the services - such as Facebook.

Please read the documentation and follow it exactly before requesting installation help. Please note, if you have heavily modified styles that are missing hooks - this product will not work and require additional installation steps.

DEMO: http://www.carblog.com/vbnexus

Basic Instructions for your forum's users: http://carblog.com/vbnexus/user-guide/

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #181  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 19:12
wolfstream wolfstream is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Real name: Tom Whiting
Originally Posted by cory_booth View Post
Awesome, going to install... Yes I paid for the other one, but my point wasn't to compare yours to his
Do keep in mind that this is not mine, just a minor correction. This is just another (more efficient) mod to do the same thing, better.

With this mod, if you have problems connecting to facebook, the thread (or reply) still gets posted, you just get the blank screen everyone's talking about

There's other things, but that is a fairly decent change in and of itself.
Reply With Quote
  #182  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 19:54
iflymyhelishigh iflymyhelishigh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
On my site, http://www.undertherotor.com

The mod appears, but the facebook button doesn't, I've read through the thread and have seen this mentioned a couple of times, any idea why?
Reply With Quote
  #183  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 20:21
webrats webrats is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Originally Posted by iflymyhelishigh View Post
On my site, http://www.undertherotor.com

The mod appears, but the facebook button doesn't, I've read through the thread and have seen this mentioned a couple of times, any idea why?
im with this guy
Reply With Quote
  #184  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 20:40
Calash's Avatar
Calash Calash is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by iflymyhelishigh View Post
On my site, http://www.undertherotor.com

The mod appears, but the facebook button doesn't, I've read through the thread and have seen this mentioned a couple of times, any idea why?
Looking at your page you appear to be missing the footer code. It attaches to the $template_hook[footer_links], so if your custom template does not have this hook the code will not be entered and you will not initialize the Facebook portion.

Easiest fix is to put that hook in your footer template. This will allow the init code to run and should fix the missing Facebook button problem.
Reply With Quote
  #185  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 21:05
Calash's Avatar
Calash Calash is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Just so I have a reference, and for anybody else having similar problems I am going to post the issues and solutions I have found so far.


Facebook Button does not appear next to Google Login button:
Check your footer template and make sure the $template_hook[footer_links] hook is there. Add if it is missing.


Login buttons do not show up in external scripts or you want to relocate them
Create a new plugin with any name and set for global start. Add the following code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

In your header or navbar template place $vbnex-login where you want the login buttons to appear

Disable Modify navbar template plugin.

Google Friend Connect login does not work outside of vBulletin directory.

Replace the
Include facebook js after <body> template contents with the following to add the bburl path to Javascript.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Blank page appears in background when Facebook asks if you want to post to profile. Blank sometimes stays after you accept or deny.

Go to http://www.facebook.com/developers
Click on your App, then Edit Settings, the Canvas
For Render Method select FBML

Save, reload your site, and test.

Last edited by Calash; 25 Aug 2009 at 21:15.
Reply With Quote
  #186  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 21:47
webrats webrats is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
i will make this work!! i still cant get buttons to show
Reply With Quote
  #187  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 21:49
iflymyhelishigh iflymyhelishigh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
OK, Footer code, what do you mean?
Reply With Quote
  #188  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 21:53
Calash's Avatar
Calash Calash is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
In your footer template look for a hook called $template_hook[footer_links] . If it is not there add it someplace. The plugin uses this hook to add code at the very bottom of the page. This inits the Facebook connect part of the mod.

Without it your button will be missing and parts of the Facebook connection will fail.
Reply With Quote
  #189  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 21:54
iflymyhelishigh iflymyhelishigh is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Alright the script is working!

Thank you so much!
Reply With Quote
  #190  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 22:20
webrats webrats is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
can you look at mine

forums.webrats.com
Reply With Quote
  #191  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 22:27
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Greets everyone...
I LOVE the idea behind this plugin. My site has an issue I have not seen yet addressed.
I get the login buttons and login windows.
But when logging in and redirected back to the site, it loads, but returns back to the "guest" screen with no authentication set.

To be fair, I do have the index.php file from VBAdvanced with the IBProArcade edit applied. My old index.php file is now forum.php - would this make a difference? Can I simply add the code to index.php if needed?
Reply With Quote
  #192  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 23:01
cad2go cad2go is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Originally Posted by Ryan Ashbrook View Post
FOr those getting the array_merge warning, simply do this.

Open the *** Initialize app *** plugin and find this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And above put this:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Real coders are willing to help anyone, regardless.
perfect! thanks.

btw wolfstream has shown those 'real coders' characteristics extensively on the fb connect mod. As have you above.

Thanks to both of you.
Reply With Quote
  #193  
Old 25 Aug 2009, 23:47
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Looks like my last post didn't make it.

I would like to let everyone know I got mine working by following all the instructions posted in the forum. I did have an issue with the login redirect not taking the user to the create user function. I have vbAdvanced and to make vbAdvanced my startup screen, I renamed the vbulletin index.php file to forum.php and then let vbAdvanced use index.php.

This was causing my problems. If you edit the product.xml file and follow the instructions posted earlier, rename index.php to your original vbulletin index.php file.
Reply With Quote
  #194  
Old 26 Aug 2009, 01:35
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Couple more issues:

Got the following error: class_dm_user.php(2962) until I disabled sending a PM under registration options.

When I tried to re-register (after dumping the Nexus records) I get a a database error. All that the screen says is "Here" and then the standard vbull database errror screen without any SQL.

I suppose I should ask again...

Does this system require the same edits for vbGallery as fbconnect?
Reply With Quote
  #195  
Old 26 Aug 2009, 01:59
cory_booth cory_booth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I figure pictures are worth a thousand words. Here is what I did.
Using Yahoo.

I tried to login...

I show the PM error screen.

I clean the database using phpAdmin and remove all entries created by plugin.

I disable the PM

I relogin same as before

I show the database error screen.

The only way I get my website back is to clear the user table, nexus table and session table.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (32.7 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (86.7 KB, 20 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (25.2 KB, 19 views)
File Type: jpg 5.jpg (38.0 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg 4a.jpg (8.3 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg 6a.JPG (24.5 KB, 22 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 17:33.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: