Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Import External Images Details »
Import External Images
Mod Version: 1.0.5, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (38 votes - 4.68 average) Installs: 303
Released: 07 Nov 2010 Last Update: 14 Feb 2011 Downloads: 1874
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

This vBulletin 4 product imports external images in your posts from external servers or paths into a specific path, normally your forum's image folder.

Differently than the previous product Image Cache for vBulletin 3.x., it parses the posts at regular intervals for new images and replaces the external references in the background. Also, instead of using only a single folder, it creates folders for years and months, making it much easier to handle large quantities of images. The source and destination image URL's are stored into database, too, avoiding unnecessary duplicates.

It moves and optionally converts images from one place to another. It is a handy tool in order to keep your images local to your forums.

Version 1.0.4 is temporarily in BETA stage until the users have confirmed the newly requested features.
Version 1.0.5 is still in BETA stage. It adds a new bunch of additional features, one of which allows you to test your mathematical understanding ... and a few other to fine-tune CURL and socket timeouts, and resizing on the fly of too large images. If you don't know what these options do, please leave them at their default values.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	08-11-2010-11.32.53.jpg
Views:	3960
Size:	112.4 KB
ID:	123480   Click image for larger version

Name:	02-02-2011-22.06.39.jpg
Views:	2746
Size:	126.0 KB
ID:	126356  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #421  
Old 20 Nov 2012, 22:11
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Rckcrwlr View Post
I'm in the process of a doing a new install with my existing DB. It got me thinking...if I uninstall this, what can I expect to happen?

Will it say with them locally?
Default back to original?
Lose all images?

Thanks
John
A new install with the same database and all data? how?

At worst, the new installation of this product will try to re-import the images. However the uninstall code should be commented out and the lookup table should remain in place. Thus, reinstalling the plugin should not do any harm.

If the uninstallation code is not commented out, you will not loose any images though, because they are stored to your web space.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #422  
Old 26 Nov 2012, 21:08
webrats webrats is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
can we store the images in the DB
Reply With Quote
  #423  
Old 27 Nov 2012, 19:03
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by webrats View Post
can we store the images in the DB
No. This plugin is intended to download images from external sites and store them to the file system. It is not meant to be a revamped or integrated attachment system
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #424  
Old 03 Dec 2012, 03:12
webrats webrats is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
No. This plugin is intended to download images from external sites and store them to the file system. It is not meant to be a revamped or integrated attachment system
to bad, it make it hard for people with multiple servers to use

can you associate a sub-domain with the images?
Reply With Quote
  #425  
Old 03 Dec 2012, 22:00
Manoel Júnior's Avatar
Manoel Júnior Manoel Júnior is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Manoel Júnior
Is there any way to debug and verify because the product in my Forum stopped working. Is there any way to debug and verify?
Reply With Quote
  #426  
Old 04 Dec 2012, 09:27
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by webrats View Post
to bad, it make it hard for people with multiple servers to use

can you associate a sub-domain with the images?
You may redirect images via .htaccess, for example.

I don't see the problem however. If you have multiple servers, how do the images influence their manner of "seing" images? Could you make an example of what you ahve and what you would like to have?
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #427  
Old 04 Dec 2012, 09:28
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Manoel Júnior View Post
Is there any way to debug and verify because the product in my Forum stopped working. Is there any way to debug and verify?
One of the possible issues are missing space, but also server settings. If your server disallow pulling in external content (sockets, curl, fopen) it is likely not working.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #428  
Old 04 Dec 2012, 10:10
webrats webrats is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
You may redirect images via .htaccess, for example.

I don't see the problem however. If you have multiple servers, how do the images influence their manner of "seing" images? Could you make an example of what you ahve and what you would like to have?
all my servers are behind a load balancer , they are all clones of each other.
you hit a random server every time you hit my site.
the easiest fix is to push the images to the db since. all the servers grab the images from the DB. since the db stores ALL the images its very easy to keep everything updated and accurate on all the servers.
Reply With Quote
  #429  
Old 04 Dec 2012, 15:13
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by webrats View Post
all my servers are behind a load balancer , they are all clones of each other.
you hit a random server every time you hit my site.
the easiest fix is to push the images to the db since. all the servers grab the images from the DB. since the db stores ALL the images its very easy to keep everything updated and accurate on all the servers.
If the servers are cloned, they should replicate/mirror the images after a while, too ... or not?
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #430  
Old 06 Dec 2012, 05:46
tourajabbasi's Avatar
tourajabbasi tourajabbasi is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Real name: Crow
Hi,

My server suddenly stopped importing pictures...
can you tell me which settings do i have to check ?
(sockets, curl, fopen) where are they in the server?

We are using dedicated server / centos 6 / 64bit

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #431  
Old 06 Dec 2012, 08:14
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by tourajabbasi View Post
Hi,

My server suddenly stopped importing pictures...
can you tell me which settings do i have to check ?
(sockets, curl, fopen) where are they in the server?

We are using dedicated server / centos 6 / 64bit

Thank you
You first should check if your firewall allows to pull in external data, before anything else. Then, if PHP allows to use fopen on external sources, then which options are checked. If fopen does not allow to pull data, you must have CURL instead. The plugin prefers CURL over sockets and falls back to sockets, unless you choose to use only sockets.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #432  
Old 16 Dec 2012, 01:53
Manoel Júnior's Avatar
Manoel Júnior Manoel Júnior is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Manoel Júnior
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
One of the possible issues are missing space, but also server settings. If your server disallow pulling in external content (sockets, curl, fopen) it is likely not working.
Searching deeper, more exactly in error_log me this message appears:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Was that why the product is not working properly? What should I do?
Reply With Quote
  #433  
Old 18 Dec 2012, 16:36
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Manoel Júnior View Post
Searching deeper, more exactly in error_log me this message appears:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Was that why the product is not working properly? What should I do?
I think the product tried to load a huge image. PHP usually has a space limit and in this case it has 128 MB per process and this memory ran out of space. Maybe you need to enable the image resizing and trim imported images down to a suitable limit.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #434  
Old 20 Dec 2012, 00:30
Manoel Júnior's Avatar
Manoel Júnior Manoel Júnior is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Real name: Manoel Júnior
Hi y2ksw,

That even when not doing more cache have to put the value 0 in attributes: Maximum Width and Maximum Height.

When I put 0 value stopped giving error and now is doing the caching of images.

Thanks for all the help and serves as a warning to others.
Reply With Quote
  #435  
Old 22 Dec 2012, 14:16
Doganay YILDIZ Doganay YILDIZ is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
There is a problemmi? Pictures ftp uploading beautifully. However, I opened the new topics added almost 6 hours but still ftp. What's the problem?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lisansdevir


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: