Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
phpAdsNew Banner Ads integration (advertisements, classified ads, Adsense, etc.) Details »
phpAdsNew Banner Ads integration (advertisements, classified ads, Adsense, etc.)
Mod Version: 1.0.4, by The M.I.P. (Member) The M.I.P. is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.x Rating: (19 votes - 4.79 average) Installs: 571
Released: 06 Nov 2005 Last Update: 12 Oct 2006 Downloads: 998
Not Supported Uses Plugins  

OpenAds / phpAdsNew Integration 1.0.4 for vBulletin 3.[56].x
2006-06-08 by mip

Integrates the OpenAds / phpAdsNew ads system by introducing a new template tag <ad ... />.
You can even deliver your Adsense stuff via phpAdsNew using HTML banners.

The features of phpAdsNew combined with the power of vBulletin's templating system gives you the possibility to place ads for specific user groups, forums, and keywords.

PREREQUISITES:
This plugin requires a working installation (local or remote) of a recent version ofOpenAds / phpAdsNew (free software released under the GPL).
When using OpenAds, replace phpAdsNew in this documentation with OpenAds (phpAdsNew is just the predecessor of OpenAds).

INSTALLATION:
When having a previous version of this product installed, see section UPGRADE instead.

Install product "phpadsnew-1.0.4.xml".
Set phpAdsNew path in Server Settings and Optimization Options to point to either your local phpAdsNew installation or a remote server (using XML-RPC).
It is strongly recommended to set $phpAds_config['compatibility_mode'] = true; in phpAdsNew config file, to prevent problems when phpAdsNew uses a database different from the one used by your vBulletin board.

When using XML-RPC, make sure to have lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php and lib-xmlrpc.inc.php copied from phpAdsNew misc/samples/xmlrpc/php/ to your forum's includes/ directory (not necessary when using a local phpAdsNew installation).

Read the NOTES section below.

Click INSTALL in this thread to mark product as "installed" and receive notifications when a new version comes out.

UPGRADE:
  • 1.0.3 --> 1.0.4
    1. Import product as usual, with "Allow Overwrite" set to Yes.
  • 1.0.2 --> 1.0.3
    Upgrading is recommended, as this is a bugfix release.
    1. Import product as usual, with "Allow Overwrite" set to Yes.
    2. Recompile any templates where you experienced problems with the <ad .../> tag (notably those where this tag is used repeatedly on a line).
  • 1.0.1 --> 1.0.2
    1. Import product as usual, with "Allow Overwrite" set to Yes.
    2. Set $phpAds_config['compatibility_mode'] = true; in phpAdsNew config file.
  • 1.0 --> 1.0.1
    There's basically no need to upgrade, as the changes don't affect a working installation, but I recommend to do so, to ease possible upgrades in the future.
    1. Import product as usual, with "Allow Overwrite" set to Yes.
    2. Alter the path to phpAdsNew in vBulletin Server Settings and Optimization Options to point to your phpAdsNew installation.
      As opposed to version 1.0 of this product, a local path is not relative to the DOCUMENT_ROOT.

USAGE:
Use the newly introduced <ad ... /> tag in your templates.
The syntax is similar to phpAdsNew's view_raw() function call - the tag understands what, clientid, target, source, and withtext as arguments.

Please make yourself familiar with phpAdsNew prior to using this product. You can't expect this product to work, if you didn't check if your phpAdsNew is delivering your banners cleanly.

Examples:
  • Get banner using keywords:
    <ad what="foo|bar" />
  • Get banner for guest usergroup (in this case, "ug1" must be set as a keyword in phpADsNew, see 2nd screenshot):
    <ad what="ug$bbuserinfo['usergroupid']" />
    (same technique can be applied to deliver forum-specific ads)
  • Similar invocation using template conditionals:
    <if condition="$bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==1"><ad what="" /></if>

NOTES:
  1. Always use the latest stable version of phpAdsNew.
    Old versions had bugs and some even had severe security issues - I'll give no support for installations with an outdated phpAdsNew.
    At the time of writing, latest version is 2.0.8.
  2. Templates which make use of the ad-tag might need to get recompiled after product change.
  3. Recommendations for heavy-duty servers: Move the plugin code to files; try to avoid using xml-rpc or cache xml-rpc requests (e.g. with memcache).
  4. Have an eye on current phpAdsNew security issues
  5. This product comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by applicable law.
  6. Support is provided at will.
    Don't expect help if you haven't read instructions or phpAdsNew manual, if you're using non-standard vBulletin software or if your problem descriptions are useless.

PS:
This plugin is donationware - it helps you to make some money, so please be fair and honor my work with an adequate pecuniary donation.
Donate via Paypal

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_01.gif
Views:	3054
Size:	40.8 KB
ID:	54593   Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_02.gif
Views:	2409
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	54594   Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_03.gif
Views:	3729
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	54595   Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_04.gif
Views:	2354
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	54596  

Click image for larger version

Name:	panplugin_05.gif
Views:	4077
Size:	34.8 KB
ID:	54597  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #451  
Old 07 Feb 2007, 04:37
gusfune's Avatar
gusfune gusfune is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by NathanLedet View Post
What did you have to do?
Had to go into openads (aka phpmyads) webpanel, go to inventory and select generate code (something like that, my panel is in portuguese).
Ask it to generate a Remote code, it will be a HTML code with <a tag>etc, etc</a>.
Grab this code and put on yout VB style where you want your ad to be exibted.

This will work for sure, but if yo uwant advanced capabilities like this hack does (like restrict to usergroups, etc) you'll have to code by yourself.
HINT: <if> tags may be really helpful in case you're doing it.

Originally Posted by EdQ View Post
I must be lucky, still works for me on 3.6.4
What's your phpmyads/openads version? It's really not working for me... Using the latest relase of openads...
Reply With Quote
  #452  
Old 07 Feb 2007, 05:31
EdQ EdQ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
From openads

You are currently using Openads 2.0.11 running on Apache 2.0.52, PHP 4.3.9 and MySQL 4.1.12-log
__________________
www.ls1.com

Last edited by EdQ; 13 Jun 2012 at 07:08.
Reply With Quote
  #453  
Old 07 Feb 2007, 11:53
Eagle Creek's Avatar
Eagle Creek Eagle Creek is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
phpAdsNew has a new name: Openads

Is it compatible?
__________________
http://www.nucia.nl/forum/
The best way to kill malware; is to kill it together.
I love vBulletin http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/images/newsm/bunny.gif
Reply With Quote
  #454  
Old 08 Feb 2007, 02:20
gusfune's Avatar
gusfune gusfune is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by Eagle Creek View Post
phpAdsNew has a new name: Openads

Is it compatible?
It's the same system, it's compatible.
Some people got this hack working, but others (like me), are having problems: ad not showing up
Reply With Quote
  #455  
Old 15 Feb 2007, 20:17
Nick0r Nick0r is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Does anyone know if this supports "text under banners"?
Reply With Quote
  #456  
Old 07 Mar 2007, 01:49
NathanLedet NathanLedet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
I'm running PhotoPost and have a plug in which displays the latest uploaded pictures on my portal home page (jig)...

so I have vBulletin, vbPortal, PhotoPost, and a plug in which displays the latest photos.

for some reason when I enter the code <ad what="zone:1" />, my pictures disappear and i get the following errors where the latest photos should be:

Warning: mysql_fetch_row(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /Gallery/inc_features.php on line 67

Warning: mysql_fetch_row(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /Gallery/inc_features.php on line 143

Any ideas why this is causing a conflict with PhotoPost?
Reply With Quote
  #457  
Old 08 Mar 2007, 09:43
jw00dy's Avatar
jw00dy jw00dy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
I run the same setup, and the ajax mods don't transfer over to vbP, so you'll just have to put the normal code from OpenAds in there if you want it to work.

Or you can hit up the vbP guys for some help getting it to work on vbP, but I didn't feel it was worth their time when I could just use the normal code and be done with it.
__________________
Just another squirrel trying to get a nut
Reply With Quote
  #458  
Old 08 Mar 2007, 12:09
NathanLedet NathanLedet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by jw00dy View Post
Iyou'll just have to put the normal code from OpenAds in there if you want it to work.
Still new to OpenAds...what's the "normal code"? will it still rotate banners? track impressions and clicks?
Reply With Quote
  #459  
Old 08 Mar 2007, 14:52
Gsmdenis's Avatar
Gsmdenis Gsmdenis is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Real name: Denis
very good , for this , i have just test
Reply With Quote
  #460  
Old 08 Mar 2007, 19:24
jw00dy's Avatar
jw00dy jw00dy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by NathanLedet View Post
Still new to OpenAds...what's the "normal code"? will it still rotate banners? track impressions and clicks?
Yes, they will still rotate.

In openads the code is supplied and called invocation code I believe (can't remember exactly). I think it's right after you setup the banner. You then edit your header template and add that code there.
__________________
Just another squirrel trying to get a nut
Reply With Quote
  #461  
Old 12 Mar 2007, 20:47
shunx91 shunx91 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Hi Guys,

I tried to install the hack but I'm getting the following messages:

Style Manager

Warning: main() [function.main]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/lib-xmlrpc.inc.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/httpd/vhosts/clubwrx.net/httpdocs:/tmp) in /includes/lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php on line 18

Warning: main(lib-xmlrpc.inc.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: Operation not permitted in /includes/lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php on line 18

Warning: main() [function.main]: open_basedir restriction in effect. File(/lib-xmlrpc.inc.php) is not within the allowed path(s): (/home/httpd/vhosts/clubwrx.net/httpdocs:/tmp) in /includes/lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php on line 18

Warning: main(lib-xmlrpc.inc.php) [function.main]: failed to open stream: Operation not permitted in /includes/lib-xmlrpc-class.inc.php on line 18
Can someone please help? I've had tons of trouble getting phpadsnew to display properly on vBulletin. Any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #462  
Old 13 Mar 2007, 00:38
jw00dy's Avatar
jw00dy jw00dy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Your openbasedir config isn't allowing the location that you have installed openAds to.

So you need to edit httpd.conf and add the location that you installed openads to or move the openads location.

I know nothing of your config, but usually their is an httpd.conf for each user so you can fix it for one account and not all.

Good luck.
__________________
Just another squirrel trying to get a nut
Reply With Quote
  #463  
Old 13 Mar 2007, 20:47
shunx91 shunx91 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
jw00dy,

Thanks for your help. Is the httpd.config a part of phpadsnew or vbulletin/ Also where can I find it and what should I look for inside? Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #464  
Old 14 Mar 2007, 09:13
jw00dy's Avatar
jw00dy jw00dy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
it's a part of neither. httpd.conf is the configuration file for apache webserver.

The other option is to install openAds in a location that's not restricted (meaning it's already allowed in openbasedir.

I can already tell you need to just remove it and then install it in a normal location like public_html/openads/ or public_html/forums/openads/ or something along those lines.
__________________
Just another squirrel trying to get a nut
Reply With Quote
  #465  
Old 14 Mar 2007, 21:49
shunx91 shunx91 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Thank you sir!

I was able to forward your feedback to my tech and he was able to help me solve most of the problem. Thanks again!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:55.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: