Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Digital Point User Map Details »
Digital Point User Map
Mod Version: 1.0.3, by digitalpoint (Coder) digitalpoint is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (14 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 155
Released: 08 Jun 2010 Last Update: 02 Dec 2011 Downloads: 1622
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

About
This is a system for geo-locating your currently online users and plotting them on a world Google Map. You can click any of the pins for a link to pull up the user's location in Google Earth.

This is something I originally made almost 5 years ago. Now that I rewrote it for vBulletin 4, I wrapped it up as a product package and released it for the world to use.

Installation
  • Put the usermap.php file in your forum folder.
  • Install the product-digitalpoint_usermap.xml product under AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product
Notes
  • Important! - this uses the free GeoIP PHP extension, so you must have it installed on your server in order for it to work.
  • Uses datastore cache so it does not repeat GeoIP queries unnecessarily.
  • Upgraded to Google Maps API v3.
You can see a live version in action here:
http://forums.digitalpoint.com/usermap.php

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	world.jpg
Views:	3175
Size:	150.3 KB
ID:	118226   Click image for larger version

Name:	europe.jpg
Views:	2266
Size:	153.5 KB
ID:	118227  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Miscellaneous Hacks Digital Point Spy digitalpoint vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 446 30 Dec 2016 14:40

  #361  
Old 22 Jun 2012, 01:16
cherylferraro's Avatar
cherylferraro cherylferraro is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
This mod looks great, but for some reason it's not working on my setup. I'm trying to figure out what I've done wrong...

url: *

GeoIP install is verified, it's showing up in php.info. I'm not seeing any errors. The page loads but the map isn't displaying.

I've probably bungled something, but I can't figure out what... thank you in advance for pointing me in the right direction.

Last edited by cherylferraro; 25 Jun 2012 at 18:36. Reason: removed url
Reply With Quote
  #362  
Old 22 Jun 2012, 16:24
digitalpoint's Avatar
digitalpoint digitalpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Shawn
Is the GeoIP database installed?
Reply With Quote
  #363  
Old 22 Jun 2012, 16:50
cherylferraro's Avatar
cherylferraro cherylferraro is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Yes.

Does that look right?

I've disabled all other mods just to see if there was a conflict but the map still won't display...

Last edited by cherylferraro; 22 Jun 2012 at 18:52. Reason: removed url
Reply With Quote
  #364  
Old 22 Jun 2012, 18:47
digitalpoint's Avatar
digitalpoint digitalpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Shawn
Yep... Looks good there. Unfortunately it's gonna have to wait until Sunday before I can really look into it (no computer until then).
Reply With Quote
  #365  
Old 22 Jun 2012, 18:51
cherylferraro's Avatar
cherylferraro cherylferraro is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Okay, no problem. Whenever it's convenient for you. In the meantime I'll keep poking at it and if I figure it out I'll post the solution in this thread.
Reply With Quote
  #366  
Old 25 Jun 2012, 16:10
digitalpoint's Avatar
digitalpoint digitalpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Shawn
Hmmm... everything looks like it's installed okay, but for whatever reason, the geoip extension on your server doesn't seem to be resolving IPs for some reason.

Can you make a simple PHP script to test the actual geoip functionality? See this post.
Reply With Quote
  #367  
Old 25 Jun 2012, 18:34
cherylferraro's Avatar
cherylferraro cherylferraro is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I put my own ip in that php script and it comes up blank. Seems like it is the server.

That site uses Cloudflare, reverse proxy. I added mod_cloudflare to httpd.conf which enabled vbulletin to log user IPs instead of cloudflare's, but it looks like it probably doesn't work with geoip.

To see if it would happen on a site that wasn't coming through cloudflare I tried the script on another domain that is on the same server. It didn't work there either.

I've got a couple of sites where I'd really like to install the map so I'll contact cloudflare and see if they have any suggestions. If there's a solution I'll post it here. Thank you for taking a look.
Reply With Quote
  #368  
Old 02 Jul 2012, 17:08
togotutor togotutor is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Reserved for later.
Reply With Quote
  #369  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 01:59
addamroy addamroy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I installed this mod on my test forum and I'm getting the following error when I navigate to the /usermap.php page...

"Fatal error: Call to undefined function geoip_record_by_name() in /home/****/public_html/testvb/usermap.php on line 100"
Reply With Quote
  #370  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 08:03
digitalpoint's Avatar
digitalpoint digitalpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Shawn
It requires the geoip PHP extension...
Reply With Quote
  #371  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 18:38
addamroy addamroy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I had it enabled and I'm still recieving the same error... What do I do next?
Reply With Quote
  #372  
Old 10 Jul 2012, 18:46
digitalpoint's Avatar
digitalpoint digitalpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Real name: Shawn
Well it's either not installed or not installed correctly because your PHP stack doesn't know the function. Does it show if you look at php info via a phpinfo() call?
Reply With Quote
  #373  
Old 11 Jul 2012, 01:01
addamroy addamroy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Originally Posted by digitalpoint View Post
Well it's either not installed or not installed correctly because your PHP stack doesn't know the function. Does it show if you look at php info via a phpinfo() call?
How do I do a phpinfo() call?
Reply With Quote
  #374  
Old 11 Jul 2012, 06:58
cjwinternet cjwinternet is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
I've got about 300 of these at the top of usermap.php...

"Warning: geoip_record_by_name() [function.geoip-record-by-name]: Required database not available at /opt/geoip/share/GeoIP/GeoIPCity.dat. in [path]/usermap.php on line 100"
Reply With Quote
  #375  
Old 11 Jul 2012, 08:54
TeknoSounds TeknoSounds is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by addamroy View Post
How do I do a phpinfo() call?
if you don't know how to create a php file to do this, you can find out in your AdminCP, at the bottom on the left under Maintenance, click View PHP Info then search for geoip
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:58.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: