Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #46  
Old 20 Feb 2017, 19:41
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Yes I do realize that and it wasn't really aimed at him in general. The overuse of saying "oh it would take years, it would take forever, we cant do that without a total revamp, starting from scratch" is more what my post was aimed at, not one person in particular.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 22 Feb 2017, 08:55
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
Originally Posted by final kaoss View Post
we cant do that
Given the track record of vB since the IB takeover that seems to sum it up nicely...

I wonder why you would think that vB7 would be worthwile, when vB4 had serious, serious issues after initial release, and vB5 was what I would call a desaster? I notice a trend there...
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 14 Mar 2017, 19:53
meissenation meissenation is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Why did you upgrade anyway, what issue did you have with the previous version ?

I've not seen upgrade steps fail for a while, did you note and/or log the failures ?

Not entirely sure what you mean by "bunch of legacy menus" from vB4, but the ACP hasnt been altered really - unless you mean some options that no longer do anything are still there. I think they are slowly being removed (where its been decided the option will never return).
Was seeing errors in my PHP log about bad code with 4.2.x so I wanted to upgrade to the latest and greatest. I figured it'd been enough time that vb5 had been out so it'd be stable - which for the most part it is - I just didn't realize how much of a shock to the system it'd be.

For the ACP menus - I have a blank row that takes me to what appears to be an add-on from 4.x even though I didn't copy any files over from vb4. I might have been mistaken with vB Spell and vB Survey not being a legacy product, but Google Analytics menu is completely useless - I put in my analytics information and it didn't add analytics to my site at all. It took me a little while to realize it, so in the analytics screenshots at the bottom of my post you'll see it go dead for a period of time -- that was while I had my analytics code in the "Google Analytics" settings before I realized it wasn't working and I manually added it into my footer template.
Capture.PNG
Capture2.jpg



Here's the real tale of vBulletin 4 versus vBulletin 5... In almost every metric on Google Analytics - my YTD metrics are down by half. The *only* change was from vb4 to vb5 and being down during the upgrade and that's it. As stated previous paragraph above - I didn't realize the "Google Analytics" settings menu doesn't actually do anything... so while I thought Analytics was monitoring my site it really wasn't, hence the period where the metrics are 0. Once I realized it wasn't measuring I manually put the analytics code into my footer.
Analytics-YTD_Sessions.jpg
Analytics-YTD_Users.jpg
Analytics-YTD_Pageviews.jpg
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 14 Mar 2017, 19:57
Dave Dave is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Real name: Dave
Originally Posted by meissenation View Post
Was seeing errors in my PHP log about bad code with 4.2.x so I wanted to upgrade to the latest and greatest. I figured it'd been enough time that vb5 had been out so it'd be stable - which for the most part it is - I just didn't realize how much of a shock to the system it'd be.

For the ACP menus - I have a blank row that takes me to what appears to be an add-on from 4.x even though I didn't copy any files over from vb4. I might have been mistaken with vB Spell and vB Survey not being a legacy product, but Google Analytics menu is completely useless - I put in my analytics information and it didn't add analytics to my site at all. It took me a little while to realize it, so in the analytics screenshots at the bottom of my post you'll see it go dead for a period of time -- that was while I had my analytics code in the "Google Analytics" settings before I realized it wasn't working and I manually added it into my footer template.
Attachment 156008
Attachment 156009



Here's the real tale of vBulletin 4 versus vBulletin 5... In almost every metric on Google Analytics - my YTD metrics are down by half. The *only* change was from vb4 to vb5 and being down during the upgrade and that's it. As stated previous paragraph above - I didn't realize the "Google Analytics" settings menu doesn't actually do anything... so while I thought Analytics was monitoring my site it really wasn't, hence the period where the metrics are 0. Once I realized it wasn't measuring I manually put the analytics code into my footer.
Attachment 156012
Attachment 156011
Attachment 156010
Was your forum down for almost a month? That might explain why there are less visitors.
There's like a big gap of no sessions.
__________________
https://technidev.com - security, development, exploits, vBulletin
dave[at]technidev[dot]com

Contact me for custom vBulletin 3/4 work & server/website management.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 15 Mar 2017, 01:33
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by meissenation View Post
Was seeing errors in my PHP log about bad code with 4.2.x so I wanted to upgrade to the latest and greatest.
See, this is your issue right here.

A few errors in the php logs does not a valid upgrade reason make.

Upgrading is not a magic wand that fixes all known issues. A broken site that gets upgraded more often than not results in an upgraded, but still broken, site.

When this happens you need to investigate what the errors are, whether they even matter (most php errors are actually warnings of some sort and aren't of any consequence), and then try to fix them.

An upgrade should be because you want something that's in the new release. Not to run the 'latest and greatest'.

Upgrading to vB5 does not magically stop people visiting your site.

Sorry to sound brutal but 'rushing to upgrade for no reason' is one of the things I rail passionately against. People do it for the wrong reasons and often end up killing their boards because they didn't think it though.
__________________
MARK.B (Member of the vB Support Team)
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 15 Mar 2017, 04:55
noypiscripter's Avatar
noypiscripter noypiscripter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Originally Posted by meissenation View Post
but Google Analytics menu is completely useless - I put in my analytics information and it didn't add analytics to my site at all. It took me a little while to realize it, so in the analytics screenshots at the bottom of my post you'll see it go dead for a period of time
Maybe you included the <script></script> tags which you shouldn't. It is mentioned in a little note in the Analytics setting to exclude the script tags. If you include them then there would be duplicate script tags which will cause javascript error and prevent the Analytics code to run.
__________________
Glenn Vergara, an ex-vB Developer, now a vB Mod Developer

GIPHY for vB5 | AutoLinker | Video Attachments Player | New Registered Users Module | Clear System Cache Cron | DragNDrop Upload | Topic AJAX AutoUpdate | Force Read Topic
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: