Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08 Jun 2007, 14:28
ski diva ski diva is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
How do I target ads to specific forums?

I know how to get an ad to appear at the top of the page of each forum. Right now I have the same ad appearing for each one. But I'd like to make it so that the ads are forum specific. For example, if I have a forum on "Decorating," I'd like to have an ad that's relevant to that. Or if I have a forum on "Gardening," there'd likewise be an appropriate ad.

Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09 Jun 2007, 04:56
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
Are you using any ad provider?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09 Jun 2007, 10:52
ski diva ski diva is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Yes, I'm using OpenAds.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09 Jun 2007, 11:54
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
It should automatically display relevant ads. Or am I wrong?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09 Jun 2007, 12:00
ski diva ski diva is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I'm trying to target specific ads to show in specific forums. For example, I'd like to have ads about "gardening" appear in the "gardening" forum, or ads about "decorating" in the decorating forum. So it wouldn't be the same ad appearing in all the forums.

I'm not sure how to do that (I'm new at Openads), so if you can tell me how, it'd be very much appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09 Jun 2007, 12:07
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
If it's like AdSense, it would automatically pick up keywords from the page.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09 Jun 2007, 12:14
ski diva ski diva is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
I don't think it does that. Openads works by establishing zones and then linking ads by keywords to each zone. I can set up a zone for "forums" in general," but I can't figure out how to do this for each specific forum.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09 Jun 2007, 12:29
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
In the ad code, does it have a place to put the "zone"?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09 Jun 2007, 21:34
ski diva ski diva is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Yes.

Here's an example of the code:

<script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='http://www.XXXXXX.com/openads/adx.js'></script>
<script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript'>
<!--
if (!document.phpAds_used) document.phpAds_used = ',';
phpAds_random = new String (Math.random()); phpAds_random = phpAds_random.substring(2,11);

document.write ("<" + "script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='");
document.write ("http://www.XXXXX.com/openads/adjs.php?n=" + phpAds_random);
document.write ("&amp;what=zone:3");
document.write ("&amp;exclude=" + document.phpAds_used);
if (document.referrer)
document.write ("&amp;referer=" + escape(document.referrer));
document.write ("'><" + "/script>");
//-->
</script><noscript><a href='http://www.XXXXX.com/openads/adclick.php?n=a6bd937f' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.XXXXX.com/openads/adview.php?what=zone:3&amp;n=a6bd937f' border='0' alt=''></a></noscript>
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10 Jun 2007, 00:12
tobybird's Avatar
tobybird tobybird is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Have you looked through the Openads forum? I just found this... Is this what you are wanting to accomplish?

Howto: Using Keywords For Banner Selection Discussion

What about the following:

I want to show the selected banners on the pages, on which there is a specific text.

Example: The word "Marketing" is mentioned on the page
I want those banners shown, which have "Marketing" in keyword.

Is this possible?
No, this is contextual advertising, that's not supported by OpenAds. It is a very difficult process to filter out key words and use those to drive the ads. Google are good at that, they call it Adsense.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10 Jun 2007, 03:48
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
Originally Posted by ski diva View Post
Yes.

Here's an example of the code:
Replace the two instances of "zone:3" with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To do this with multiple forums:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12 Jun 2007, 00:54
ski diva ski diva is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Thanks, Dismounted, but this doesn't seem to work; all it seems to do is remove the ad from all the forums instead of allowing me to deliver a specific ad to a specific forum.

I must be doing something wrong, but I don't know what it is.

And tobybird: I'm not trying to do contextual advertising. It's more straightforward than that; what I want to do is have the ads vary by forum. For example, if there's a "gardening" forum, I want to have a specific gardening ad there. If there's a "cooking" forum, the ad would be different. Or maybe have I'd have all the forums with the same ad, except for one.

HELP!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12 Jun 2007, 10:27
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
You need to create multiple zones and replace the capitalised words in the code I gave you.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12 Jun 2007, 18:39
ski diva ski diva is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Let me try to restate my problem, so that I can take advantage of the help you're trying to give me!

All of my forums draw from the same template. There are a dozen different forums, to each of which I would like to deliver a specific banner. The Cooking forum gets a Cooking ad. The Ratkilling forum gets a Ratkilling ad. And so on.

Right now, I can only deliver the same ad (or range of ads) to all forums. Which is fine if I have an advertiser who sells both Cooking and Ratkilling equipment.

How can I specify which goes where?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Jun 2007, 10:36
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
You need to setup multiple zones to match the forums and use the code I gave you to assign a different zone to each forum.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Exclude stats from specific subforums on specific forums (e.g. index) Adult SEO vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 7 18 Dec 2006 03:02



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:36.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: