Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite) Details »
[DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite)
Mod Version: 2.0.1, by Deceptor (Coder) Deceptor is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (28 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 413
Released: 02 Mar 2010 Last Update: 23 Apr 2010 Downloads: 2293
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

vB Optimise Lite

This is ported from my original version released for vBulletin 3.8 located here. In this release I have re-coded vB Optimise from the gound and focused stability over features.

Professional version & feature list available @ www.DragonByte-Tech.com/forum
Priority support for Lite version is handled at the Developers Website.


What does it do?

vB Optimise is intended to optimise vBulletin software by integrating several PHP "cachers" and handling data before vBulletin. This works by encountering and handling data prior to vBulletin in order to skip the arbitary execution that would be more server intensive.

Real-Life Statistics

We've teamed up with some Big Forums to show you the impact of vB Optimise, you can view this public chart which shows both our statistics and theirs:

View Public vB Optimise Resource Statistics

Features - Lite
  • Supported Extensions
    • APC
    • eAccelerator
    • Memcache
    • XCache
    • WinCache
    • Filecache
  • Style Cacher
    Caches style data to globally reduce a query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Template Cacher
    Caches template data to globally reduce a query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Datastore Cacher
    Forces custom datastore items from modifications (including those from vB's blogs) to use your configured Datastore Cache method instead of being forced into the database. This reduces page queries by where affected.
  • vB CMS Template Caching
    (Automatic) Corrects many uncached templates within vB CMS to reduce upto 20+ queries on CMS pages (number varies based on content).
  • Optimal Settings Check
    Provides a quick interface to identify possible settings which can be changed on your forum for further optimisation.
  • Self-System Tester
    Provides a relatively straight-forward system check to ensure your vB Optimise installation works fully.
  • Automatic Cache Flusher
    Automatically flushes cache within the Admin CP based on specific triggers to make sure content does not remain stale on your forum.
  • XCache Authentification
    Supports XCache Admin Authentification by allowing you specify the username/password in a configuration if needs be.


Features - Pro
  • Notices Cacher
    Caches users dismissed notices to reduce a near-global query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Showgroups Cacher
    Caches the showgroups query which becomes more intensive as your user-base grows.
  • Forum Display Query Enhancement
    Enhances a stock vBulletin query within Forum Display to speed up the page.
  • Forum Home WOL Cache
    Caches Forum Home "Who's Online" to remove an intensive query and allow larger sites to display this data without impact.
  • vB Cache Override (Feature not available on vBulletin 3)
    Ability to override vBulletins new built-in database cacher for the CMS / Forum Sidebar Blocks to remove anything from 1 to 20+ queries based on your content.
  • Full Guest Caching
    Ability to cache entire pages and serve them saving not only hundreds of queries but upto 90% of CPU processing towards Guests.
  • Statistical Resource Savings
    Ability to see just exactly how many queries per day vB Optimise has saved your database. You'll be surprised at the numbers.
  • Forum Resource Statistic
    Shows off vB Optimise resource saving statistics directly within forumhome statistics.
  • ....and more!


Release Notes

If you've used vB Optimise before you'll be aware the previous version had phrase caching, however this caused complications with the way phrases are used within vBulletin so it has not been ported over at this time.


Available Translations
v1.6.0 French - Thanks to finereader

Change Log

[>>] Version 2.0.1
No change, just keeping in sync with vB 3.8/Pro

[>>] Version 1.6.1
Automatic Cache Flusher has additional parameters to make sure no data is stale
Resolved Bug: Potential PHP error when using eAccelerator which cannot flush within Admin CP on certain actions

[>>] Version 1.6.0
New OpCode Cacher Support: WinCache

[>>] Version 1.5.0
Resolved Bug: Style cache may have fetched ID 0 instead of correct file
Resolved Bug: Filecache permissions may not have worked
Optimisation: Re-wrote some base code to enhance operations.

[>>] Version 1.0.1
Added XCache Authentification Support
Added Filecache Support

Support

Priority support will be handled at DBTech.

FAQ

Q: I have WinCache installed, but vB Optimise tells me it's not?
A: WinCache only introduced OpCode support in version 1.1, if you're using version 1.0.x you will need to upgrade.

Q: I'm using the XCache method, flushing doesn't work?
A: If you have XCache authentification, turn the admin option on within vB Optimise Settings, then edit ./vboptimise/config.php and specify your XCache username/password. Alternatively you can disable XCache authentification within php.ini:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Q: I have eAccelerator installed, but vB Optimise tells me it's not?
A: eAccelerator does not provide the caching extension by default, you will need to recompile PHP with additional flags. For more information read eAccelerator documentation located here: http://eaccelerator.net/wiki/CompileConfiguration (Specifically look at: with-eaccelerator-shared-memory)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	vbo_optimal.jpg
Views:	2338
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	113423   Click image for larger version

Name:	vbo_options.jpg
Views:	1716
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	113424   Click image for larger version

Name:	vbo_selftest.jpg
Views:	1387
Size:	37.5 KB
ID:	113425  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Chat Modifications [DBTech] vBShout v6 (vB4) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 2842 24 Sep 2019 03:48
Major Additions [DBTech] vBActivity & Awards v3 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 934 14 May 2019 13:05
Miscellaneous Hacks [DBTech] Username Change v1 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 432 15 Apr 2017 18:44
Board Optimization [DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite) Deceptor vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 1279 10 Aug 2014 06:51

  #196  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 06:20
sadiq6210 sadiq6210 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Real name: Sadiq
when I click on (System test) in admincp, I got this message
vB Optimise is currently offline. Please enable and configure vB Optimise to run a system test.

Although I enabled it from (admincp >> vB Optimise Settings)
Reply With Quote
  #197  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 07:47
Super Jinni Super Jinni is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I uninstalled XCache and installed APC instead, but still getting the same result when running the test:

Running Test: Connection to xcache
Test completed successfully
Running Test: Store Cache
Test completed successfully
Running Test: Fetch Cache
Your Opcache Operator extension is functioning, however it is unable to store data. Please check your extension configuration.
Running Test: Flush Cache
Test completed successfully

I'm running CGI/FastCGI by the way (if that might have something to do with the issue).

Or is it possible to be a folder/file permission related problem?

Thanks for your help ^^
Reply With Quote
  #198  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 07:56
TeknoSounds TeknoSounds is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by sadiq6210 View Post
when I click on (System test) in admincp, I got this message
vB Optimise is currently offline. Please enable and configure vB Optimise to run a system test.

Although I enabled it from (admincp >> vB Optimise Settings)
do you have an OpCode cacher installed? One of the ones mentioned like xcache, memcache, APC, etc....

Originally Posted by Super Jinni View Post
I uninstalled XCache and installed APC instead, but still getting the same result when running the test:

I'm running CGI/FastCGI by the way (if that might have something to do with the issue).

Or is it possible to be a folder/file permission related problem?

Thanks for your help ^^
what operating system are you using?

Also saw you were running 3.8.5 for VB, why aren't you using the 3.8 mod?
Reply With Quote
  #199  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 10:16
Super Jinni Super Jinni is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by TeknoSounds View Post
what operating system are you using?

Also saw you were running 3.8.5 for VB, why aren't you using the 3.8 mod?
I'm using Ubuntu 10.04 LTS.
I'm also using the 3.8's mod.
When I was searching about my issue I got to this thread and found the same issue was already reported. So I thought I'd post it here.

I also thought this issue is related to XCache only, but now it's exist with APC.
Reply With Quote
  #200  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 12:24
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Super Jinni - Best alternative to XCache in my mind is Memcache. In regards to your issue it may be a CGI/FastCGI issue, do you know if you're using DSO or SuPHP for the handler? Typically cPanel let's you choose when building apache/php from within WHM.

Memcache would resolve the issues because it's different from your typical opcode cachers, it runs as a dedicated service

sadiq - Make sure vB Optimise is online and you have selected a cache system to use, with no cache system selected there's nothing to test
Reply With Quote
  #201  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 12:25
DragonByte Tech's Avatar
DragonByte Tech DragonByte Tech is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Originally Posted by Super Jinni View Post
I'm using Ubuntu 10.04 LTS.
I'm also using the 3.8's mod.
When I was searching about my issue I got to this thread and found the same issue was already reported. So I thought I'd post it here.

I also thought this issue is related to XCache only, but now it's exist with APC.
=) It's not an "issue" as such.

This portion of the mod simply reports whether or not your caching is working correctly - it does not attempt to modify or change anything. This message appearing means there is an issue with your caching - not the mod.

I'm sure Deceptor will try to give you some advice on how to fix your caching when he has a moment =)

Iain

EDIT: Looks like he ninja'd me and beat me to it ^.^
__________________
www.Dragonbyte-tech.com
Support is ONLY available @ our website, not via modification threads, Private Message or email.
Reply With Quote
  #202  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 12:56
Super Jinni Super Jinni is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Originally Posted by Deceptor View Post
Super Jinni - Best alternative to XCache in my mind is Memcache. In regards to your issue it may be a CGI/FastCGI issue, do you know if you're using DSO or SuPHP for the handler? Typically cPanel let's you choose when building apache/php from within WHM.

Memcache would resolve the issues because it's different from your typical opcode cachers, it runs as a dedicated service
I don't have cPanel/WHM. I'm in unmanaged VPS hosting, so I don't know whether I'm suing DSO or SuPHP or neither.

What do you think it's the best, Switching to mod_php then use XCache? Or stick with FastCGI and use Memcached?

I read somewhere there are not many advantages using FastCGI over mod_php. And some prefer to use mod_php. That makes me think of switching to mod_php.

Thanks


Originally Posted by DragonByte Tech View Post
=) It's not an "issue" as such.

This portion of the mod simply reports whether or not your caching is working correctly - it does not attempt to modify or change anything. This message appearing means there is an issue with your caching - not the mod.

I'm sure Deceptor will try to give you some advice on how to fix your caching when he has a moment =)

Iain
He already did
EDIT: Looks like he ninja'd me and beat me to it ^.^
^.^
Reply With Quote
  #203  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 15:16
Super Jinni Super Jinni is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
OK, I got XCache to work after switching to mod_php. It turned out that it was CGI/FastCGI issue.
I just hope it was right choice to ditch FastCGI.

Thanks Deceptor
Reply With Quote
  #204  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 20:13
ndL ndL is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
after 2hours of reading manuals, without any knowledge of linux - i finally made it!

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #205  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 20:39
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Glad you got it working, I'm not sure what the advantages are to mod_php or FastCGI myself but it was obviously the issue
Reply With Quote
  #206  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 20:50
ndL ndL is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
was a pain in the ass to correctly install memcache on my centos 5.4

if i had already known what to do, it would have taken about 5mins.

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showt...servers./page3

this should be the main article to read who cant imagine how to begin. but i must say that you should get newest memcache version, the one above is quite old
Reply With Quote
  #207  
Old 18 Jun 2010, 20:59
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Yeah Memcached is the hardest to install of them all really, but worth it in my opinion
Reply With Quote
  #208  
Old 19 Jun 2010, 19:48
Fungsten's Avatar
Fungsten Fungsten is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
When trying to run the System Test an error message comes back saying "vB Optimise is currently offline. Please enable and configure vB Optimise to run a system test."

However the system is online. TIA.

VB 4.0.4
__________________
My Mods:
Missing Images
Styles:
Hell Eye Shock
Reply With Quote
  #209  
Old 19 Jun 2010, 21:18
rajubd rajubd is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by Super Jinni View Post
OK, I got XCache to work after switching to mod_php. It turned out that it was CGI/FastCGI issue.
I just hope it was right choice to ditch FastCGI.

Thanks Deceptor
brilliant work brother my problem also solved
thanks a lot again...
Reply With Quote
  #210  
Old 20 Jun 2010, 13:04
Deceptor's Avatar
Deceptor Deceptor is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Originally Posted by Fungsten View Post
When trying to run the System Test an error message comes back saying "vB Optimise is currently offline. Please enable and configure vB Optimise to run a system test."

However the system is online. TIA.

VB 4.0.4
Make sure you have selected a cache system too, if it's set to None then there is nothing to test
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: