Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Default profile pic/ Show user's profile pic anywhere Details »
Default profile pic/ Show user's profile pic anywhere
Mod Version: 1.00, by Gio~Logist (Coder) Gio~Logist is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2021 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.0 RC3 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 5
Released: 10 Sep 2005 Last Update: Never Downloads: 108
Not Supported  

Default Profile Picture/Show Profile Picture Anywhere
by gio~logist



PHP Edits: 1
Template Edits: *Depends on where you want this to show*
Files Added: 0
Templates Added: 0
Queries: 0

This is a fairly simple hack that allows you to show a user's profile picture anywhere (i used it to welcome the user to the UserCP). If user does not have a profile picture, it shows any picture that you upload into the Misc. folder named "profiledef.gif".

Note: I am customizing my vb fully to function with a system similar to myspace, therefore, my usercp is different. However, i'm sure you get the idea.

Also, i have not tested this on vb3.5 but i'm 99% sure this works because it does not effect any major codes.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screen.gif
Views:	430
Size:	51.6 KB
ID:	34291  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases [Naxon] User's ID In Profile Naxon vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 19 25 Dec 2007 06:27

Comments
  #2  
Old 10 Sep 2005, 04:38
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Erm ... that won't work at all in vBulletin 3.5 as $bbuserinfo doesn't exist; also you are not taking care of the storage method so it will just display a broken Image if Profile Pictures are stored in the Filesystem.

Furthermore, it can be done without Code Edits (Hook global_start), it could even be done without an additional Query at all (Hook fetch_userinfo_query).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Sep 2005, 04:41
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Real name: Giovanni Martinez
What would i have to change $bbuserinfo to?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Sep 2005, 05:10
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
$vbulletin->userinfo

Furthermore, image.php? only works when Profile Pictures are stored in the Database.
Take a look at how member.php does it to get the idea.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Sep 2005, 05:11
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Real name: Giovanni Martinez
Text has been updated

Last edited by Gio~Logist; 10 Sep 2005 at 05:14.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Sep 2005, 05:56
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
That won't work, as you can't use $this->whatever within an evaluated String.
You must break out of it or use {}.

And it still doesn't work if Profile Pictures are stored as Files.
If you want, I can post corrected Code.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Sep 2005, 06:01
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Real name: Giovanni Martinez
Feel free to do so...

I need to stop trying to do vb3.5 hacks without even having one lmao

WE NEED A BETA FORUM!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Sep 2005, 14:57
rjerina rjerina is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
you can run your own beta forum if it is not available to the public...

releasing 3.5 hacks without even trying them on 3.5 first is kind of no offense, stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10 Sep 2005, 16:23
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Real name: Giovanni Martinez
Originally Posted by rjerina
you can run your own beta forum if it is not available to the public...

releasing 3.5 hacks without even trying them on 3.5 first is kind of no offense, stupid.

I agree lol.... however, i do not have a test board to try it out on.

Kirby has been helping me, and i think i've been doing ok considering the circumstances. Once i get my hand on a 3.5 board, i will be able to do alot more.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13 Sep 2005, 23:24
juanchi juanchi is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Your mod will work with vbulletin 3.0.X, right? I need to put that picture on another page, when I first find myself with the need to do something like this my first thought was that this have to be something someone already done.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 19:53
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Real name: Giovanni Martinez
Yes, this will work with 3.0.x

Just replace all signs of

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

With:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14 Sep 2005, 22:39
Mathiau's Avatar
Mathiau Mathiau is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Mathiau
Can you not setup a web serv locally on your PC to test, or you just dont have a VB license?
i would love to do this, once properly tested on a 3.5*
__________________
Life isn't short, your just dead for too long
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15 Sep 2005, 19:25
Gio~Logist's Avatar
Gio~Logist Gio~Logist is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Francisco
Real name: Giovanni Martinez
Originally Posted by Mathiau
Can you not setup a web serv locally on your PC to test, or you just dont have a VB license?
i would love to do this, once properly tested on a 3.5*
I wouldn't be able to post hacks if i didn't have a license...

I will test it ASAP, however, maybe if you install it and tell me how it goes, that would help :-D
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 22 Feb 2006, 06:18
MissKalunji's Avatar
MissKalunji MissKalunji is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Mj Bain
does this work?
__________________
____________
BossLady
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 19 Jul 2008, 11:27
just77me just77me is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
how does this work with vbulletin 3.7? any idea to get the image code thank you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:32.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: