Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
lazy load, load your page faster & save bandwidth Details »
lazy load, load your page faster & save bandwidth
Mod Version: 1.00, by dinodonk (Member) dinodonk is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.0 Rating: (14 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 119
Released: 23 Feb 2011 Last Update: Never Downloads: 663
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code  

this mod is using jquery lazy load by Mika Tuupola. you can see demo at his site here

Lazy Load will delay the loading of images outside of viewpoint to make the page load faster. That is, images in the visible part of the web page are only loaded and remaining images are loaded when visitor scrolls down the page, at some times it can even helps to save bandwidth.

in template headinclude, add this code at the bottom


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

copy jquery.lazyload.mini.js to your <vb root>/clientscript/ folder


done!!!

pls click install if you like this modification


Thanks to OldSchoolDSL for this suggestion

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Realtime Template Compressor: Reduces page sizes, loads pages faster, saves bandwidth ShiningArcanine vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 281 03 May 2011 13:10
RealTime Template Compressor: Reduces page sizes, loads pages faster, saves Bandwidth Logician vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 108 18 Dec 2004 11:34

  #46  
Old 14 Oct 2013, 16:40
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by Arrogant-One View Post
Oh, I didn't know you had a version of your own. Can you please tell me how to use your's instead? Will I need to uninstall it?
lol my vb version is 4.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 16 Oct 2013, 18:53
smirkley smirkley is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Tried to install and test, but no change and isnt operating for me.

vb v4.2.0pl3

tried with variations suggested.

note:am using pretty url's and "showthread" isnt part of the url anymore, tried with what does show on my threads, wondering if that is the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 16 Oct 2013, 19:28
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Can somebody please show me the difference or demonstrate the difference between:

Pretty urls
Advanced friendly urls (currently using)
Mod Rewrite Friendly URLs
Basic Friendly URLs

and

Standard URLs

What is best here and why all this choice?

Thank you....
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 17 Oct 2013, 03:43
smirkley smirkley is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I shouldnt have used the phrase, "pretty", when all I meant was "Mod Rewrite" urls.
I think the pretty part is a wordpress phrase?

From the help link in acp:
Enabling friendly URLs can increase your site's ranking in search engines and can be useful for users to understand the URL's that they follow.

•Standard URLs:
showthread.php?t=12345

•Basic Friendly URLs:
showthread.php?1234-Thread-Title

•Advanced Friendly URLs:
showthread.php/1234-Thread-Title

•Mod Rewrite Friendly URLs:
threads/1234-Thread-Title

Note: In order to use the Mod Rewrite Friendly URLs the appropriate rewrite rules must be defined for your server.
Mod Rewrite requires htaccess tweaking.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 17 Oct 2013, 07:16
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Much appreciated.. Thanks for that.

I will look into Mod Rewrite out of curiosity...
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 19 Oct 2013, 01:33
Arrogant-One's Avatar
Arrogant-One Arrogant-One is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Real name: Alex
Originally Posted by ForceHSS View Post
lol my vb version is 4.2.1
Can I please have a link to your download, I use 4.2.1 now too.
__________________
OzChess - Australia's Chess Forum- http://www.ozchess.com
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 21 Oct 2013, 05:38
final kaoss final kaoss is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
The only change you have to make to the code is here. I changed it to 1.9.0


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Originally Posted by Arrogant-One View Post
Can I please have a link to your download, I use 4.2.1 now too.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 21 Oct 2013, 11:28
@ngel @ngel is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Spyros
I tried to update with this, and it works:

http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs.../jquery.min.js
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 22 Oct 2013, 08:02
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
So, do we need to upload a new script or keep the original script in place?

BTW I put it in clientscript/jquery folder..
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 22 Oct 2013, 08:06
Kolbi's Avatar
Kolbi Kolbi is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Real name: Matthias
Using jquery 1.9 you have to edit lazyload see details here: https://gist.github.com/mameier/5099718


// If needed I might have the fixed version on my server...

Last edited by Kolbi; 22 Oct 2013 at 08:11.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 30 Mar 2014, 18:09
tpearl5's Avatar
tpearl5 tpearl5 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: John
any ideas on getting this working for attachments?
edit: now that I look at this more carefully, I'm not seeing how this would ever work without modifying image tags to include "data-original=" in place of the img src.
__________________
John

Last edited by tpearl5; 31 Mar 2014 at 15:12.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 21 Apr 2014, 22:29
fxdigi-cash fxdigi-cash is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I don't think this mod works on attachment, but could be only on external pictures.

there is no jquery fade-in effect when loading pages so that means it is not working.

possibly there is a conflict with something else.
__________________
Shoot me a PM if I didn't reply in your post when you needed help. I can't remember things easily
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 13 Jun 2014, 18:28
RichieBoy67's Avatar
RichieBoy67 RichieBoy67 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Richie
Originally Posted by Kolbi View Post
Using jquery 1.9 you have to edit lazyload see details here: https://gist.github.com/mameier/5099718


// If needed I might have the fixed version on my server...
Feel free to send me the fixed version
__________________

Let us take care of your forum, seo, seo reports, maintenance, what ever you need.

Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 14 Jun 2014, 02:13
thetechgenius's Avatar
thetechgenius thetechgenius is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
I have a question.

Does this work with HTTPS/SSL? Because my entire forum runs on a SSL Connection, and I know if some things on a page are not running through SSL, users will get a "Partial" secure warning when visiting my site.

However, I know Google has SSL enabled on there servers, so I can just change:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To This:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But will that work, is that the only URL I have to change to use SSL?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 14 Jun 2014, 08:36
ezak ezak is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
does it affect on SEO and archiving ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:30.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: