Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 16 Jun 2011, 14:56
Meestor_X Meestor_X is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Adding Full CKEditor to CMS Static Page editor

So, tried this in 4.1.3 and it worked fine except that the CKEditor CSS was quite messed up with vb's CSS. I figured once vb had integrated CKEditor they probably would fix all the CSS issues. I was right.

Under 4.1.3, I had only uploaded CKEditor to a forum sub-folder, and done 2 simple changes to the vbcms_content_staticpage_inline template.

First was, changing, at the top of the template:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and changing:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So today I upgraded my test site to 4.1.4 to see what would happen.

CSS is fixed, but toolbar icons are missing. Toolbar functions all work, but are missing the proper icon.

Any suggestions on what to do to fix this?


Thanks!

-Andy.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16 Jun 2011, 16:07
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
It looks like you are trying to add all the other buttons, but do you have the images for them? If you look at the sprint.png file here, I don't think it has the images you need - https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/imag...tor/sprite.png That is the default that comes with vbulletin. I think you will need to get another sprite file that has the additional images.

Actually, I tried this. The problem is all the buttons are using this CSS as default:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And it is overriding this (which I think is incorrect also):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To fix, you need to edit the clientscript/ckeditor/skins/kama/editor.css file to not exclude the icons.css file. Then you need to edit the icons.css file and do a find replace of ".cke_skin_kama" and replace with ".cke_skin_kama span:not(.cke_browser_ie)" and also add a background image for all the icons of "background-image: url("icons.png");". Save. Upload. That will also replace all the images that vb had made for the editor, but I didn't feel like going through the icons.css file and finding the vb made ones and deleting them from the file.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)

Last edited by Lynne; 16 Jun 2011 at 18:26.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16 Jun 2011, 20:42
Meestor_X Meestor_X is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Thanks, Lynne for your fast answer.

Where do I add "background-image: url("icons.png");" ? Can't I just change that in editor.css from "sprite.png" to "icons.png" (after copying icons.png to the appropriate folder) on the line you quoted?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16 Jun 2011, 21:21
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I made the changes in the file icons.css since I was in there anyway. But, you can do it however you want. I was just doing a quick test to see how to get it to work. I don't know if it was the best way - I just know I found *a* way to get it to work.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19 Jun 2011, 07:10
Meestor_X Meestor_X is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Thanks, Lynne.

I must have misunderstood a step, as I have not got it working from your instructions. I think I still am missing where to put "background-image: url("icons.png");" You are saying that you put it in icons.css and it worked. Where exactly?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19 Jun 2011, 17:07
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I entered it for each definition.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 23 Jun 2011, 13:53
HouseAddict HouseAddict is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
How do I, instead of this full blown editor:

http://img706.imageshack.us/img706/3...reen000319.jpg

include the regular, customized one with minimal options (that shows up everywhere else in cms/forum):

http://img863.imageshack.us/img863/211/screen000320.jpg

--------------- Added 23 Jun 2011 at 14:15 ---------------

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
It looks like you are trying to add all the other buttons, but do you have the images for them? If you look at the sprint.png file here, I don't think it has the images you need - https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/imag...tor/sprite.png That is the default that comes with vbulletin. I think you will need to get another sprite file that has the additional images.

Actually, I tried this. The problem is all the buttons are using this CSS as default:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And it is overriding this (which I think is incorrect also):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To fix, you need to edit the clientscript/ckeditor/skins/kama/editor.css file to not exclude the icons.css file. Then you need to edit the icons.css file and do a find replace of ".cke_skin_kama" and replace with ".cke_skin_kama span:not(.cke_browser_ie)" and also add a background image for all the icons of "background-image: url("icons.png");". Save. Upload. That will also replace all the images that vb had made for the editor, but I didn't feel like going through the icons.css file and finding the vb made ones and deleting them from the file.

And that didn't work for me either... I still have those missing icons showing up.

Last edited by HouseAddict; 23 Jun 2011 at 14:15.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05 Jul 2011, 01:22
HouseAddict HouseAddict is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Even created a request for that, but no luck so far:

http://tracker.vbulletin.com/browse/VBIV-12549
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements [CKEditor] MARCO1 Advanced Editor - Quick Reply & Quick Edit With Full Editor Control MARCO1 vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 469 20 May 2019 08:04



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:51.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: