Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 19 Dec 2012, 13:00
Mellnik Mellnik is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Am I allowed to....

I got a vB4 license, am I allowed to run a forum with v4.2.X and another one with v3.8.X?

If not how can I purchase vb3 ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19 Dec 2012, 13:57
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Kevin
You are only allowed to run one forum per license, but you can choose the version of vb to run (from what your license allows). My understanding is that there is only one kind of license for sale right now, and although it is being promoted as vb5 at this point, it will allow you run one forum of any version, including vb3 if that's what you want.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19 Dec 2012, 14:25
Mellnik Mellnik is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
You are only allowed to run one forum per license, but you can choose the version of vb to run (from what your license allows). My understanding is that there is only one kind of license for sale right now, and although it is being promoted as vb5 at this point, it will allow you run one forum of any version, including vb3 if that's what you want.
Hmm so I have to pay $250 for vb3 oh wow good job vbulletin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19 Dec 2012, 17:18
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
No. You pay $250 for vBulletin. Then it's your choice which version you want to run.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19 Dec 2012, 23:01
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by Mellnik View Post
Hmm so I have to pay $250 for vb3 oh wow good job vbulletin
No.

This.
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
No. You pay $250 for vBulletin. Then it's your choice which version you want to run.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20 Dec 2012, 07:25
Christos Teriakis Christos Teriakis is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Real name: Christos
Originally Posted by Mellnik View Post
Hmm so I have to pay $250 for vb3 oh wow good job vbulletin
Somehow is the same price. If I remember well vB3 owned license costed $169 plus ~$50/year for upgrades. Thus with just 2 years upgrades the total cost is again $250.

Same happen with vB4. More expensive than vB3 as it was selling for ~$200 (again not 100% sure about the price). But as there was no yearly renewal, after 3 years it also came to ~$250.

I believe that all commercial forum software has this price ($250) per major version. Just different marketing tricks to show that it cost less. eg IPB says $25 for renewal but is for 6 months. Worst of them (like in my own issue) if you have bought addons which you don't want to upgrade, you can't do it. You must pay the renewal fees for all addons.

I'm attaching the proof for what I wrote about IPB. I've the Forum, Nexus, Content, Blog and Downloads. I don't use Content and Downloads. But still I must pay the renewal fees for ALL plugins as it's a fix price.


Chris
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ibprenewal.jpg (70.3 KB, 8 views)

Last edited by Christos Teriakis; 20 Dec 2012 at 07:31.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 21:42.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: