Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
How to remove HTML tags from thread preview (good for HTML-enabled forums especially) Details »
How to remove HTML tags from thread preview (good for HTML-enabled forums especially)
Mod Version: 1.00, by Gary King (Member) Gary King is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.0 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 7
Released: 10 Feb 2004 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Not Supported  

Don't you just hate it when thread previews show HTMl tags even though browsers don't interprete those tags in popup menus? Well then this hack is just right for you!

This hack will remove all HTML tags such as <b>, <i>, <strong> and even closing tags like </b>, </i>, and </strong> so that they don't show up in the thread preview. It's genius they say!

Anyways here we go:

open up forumdisplay.php and find
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Above, add


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If the above code doesn't show some thread previews properly, try the one below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

All done

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 01:01
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Nice, but why not just


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 01:18
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King Gary King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Fixed (You needed unhtmlspecialchars()) first.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 01:25
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Hmm ... now this code might produce invalid XHTML (thinking of quotes and ampersand).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 01:27
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King Gary King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
*testing* I'll post back with a full solution when I have one, should take a few minutes only heh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 01:40
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

might do the trick
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 01:46
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King Gary King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Foolproof solution attached
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 10:01
CarlitoBrigante's Avatar
CarlitoBrigante CarlitoBrigante is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Originally Posted by Gary W
Foolproof solution attached
Great it work! Should be enabled by default in next vb builds, can't someone contact the development staff?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 12:20
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King Gary King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
You could submit it as a bug and link to this thread if you want
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10 Feb 2004, 13:48
CarlitoBrigante's Avatar
CarlitoBrigante CarlitoBrigante is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Originally Posted by Gary W
You could submit it as a bug and link to this thread if you want
Will do!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 11 Feb 2004, 19:21
gmarik's Avatar
gmarik gmarik is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Marco
What is this about, can't get the idaea...
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23 Mar 2004, 13:51
cybermomcafe cybermomcafe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Is there any way to make this stop what is happening in the attached image...

What I was doing was using a replacement variable, {ebaylist} or {paypaldonate} for example to insert a preformatted paypal cart form or ebay listing into a post...

I don't care so much about the mouseover thread preview, just the "> that shows up by the thread title...

Thanks in advance!

Here's a link to the forum with the post I'm talking about... http://www.cybermomcafe.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=3
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (8.2 KB, 60 views)

Last edited by cybermomcafe; 23 Mar 2004 at 13:53.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 23 Mar 2004, 14:34
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King Gary King is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Originally Posted by cybermomcafe
Is there any way to make this stop what is happening in the attached image...

What I was doing was using a replacement variable, {ebaylist} or {paypaldonate} for example to insert a preformatted paypal cart form or ebay listing into a post...

I don't care so much about the mouseover thread preview, just the "> that shows up by the thread title...

Thanks in advance!

Here's a link to the forum with the post I'm talking about... http://www.cybermomcafe.com/vb/forumdisplay.php?f=3
I copied the code used in your post, and now there is nothing in the thread preview for me (which is a good thing, since you'd rather have nothing than broken stuff.)

Did you use the first replacement code I suggested in my instructions?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 23 Mar 2004, 15:18
cybermomcafe cybermomcafe is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Yeah, I tried both of them...

If I put the code straight into the post (enabling HTML on the forum, which I am trying to avoid) it doesn't add the "> above the thread title, but if I do it as a replacement variable it does...?

I turned on guest posting in that forum also...

I spose I could just turn on HTML LOL

I was using {ebaylisting} to be replaced with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Thanks for taking a look!

Last edited by cybermomcafe; 23 Mar 2004 at 15:47.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12 Jun 2004, 13:44
Intex Intex is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Nice work Gary_King. I've installed and it works apart from one thing. I have another hack that replaces <br> with <br />. How would I also exclude <br /> as well?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: