Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vFCoders - Featured Content Slider Widget Details »
vFCoders - Featured Content Slider Widget
Mod Version: 2.4, by Badshah93 (Coder) Badshah93 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.1.x Rating: (31 votes - 4.87 average) Installs: 222
Released: 20 Aug 2011 Last Update: 18 Apr 2012 Downloads: 1879
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files  

.::vFCoders - Featured Content Slider Widget::.

Content Slider Source: http://webdeveloperplus.com/jquery/f...ing-jquery-ui/

What is it?
=====================================

Featured Content Slider Widget for VBulletin CMS to feature latest (or popular) articles in a block that displays as a slideshow.

Features
=====================================

1. Fully Integrated With VBulletin CMS.
2. Option To Select Sections.
3. Option To Select Categories.
4. Option to Sort Articles by date or views.
5. No Template or File Edits.
6. Can Add Seperate Widget for Different Sections.
7. Can Add more than 1 Featured Content Slider Widget in a page.

8. Option To Set Width For Each Content Slider Widget New!





New Installation Instructions
=====================================


1. Upload all the files in "Upload" Folder to forumroot.
2. In the Product Manager in AdminCP, import the product XML file.
3. Then Go To -> Admincp -> vBulletin CMS -> Widgets

Widget Type: CMS featured Content slider
and enter other details and save it..

5. Then Rest of the things are as it is which you do for other widgets.

a): Configure The Widget in VBulletin CMS -> widgets
b): Add the widget in page through layout manager.


Upgrade Instructions
=====================================


1. Unzip the attachment and upload all files in upload folder to forumroot.
2. Upload the xml through product manager. (Overwrite)
3. Delete all the old content slider widgets and make new ones.


Uninstallation Instructions
=====================================


1. Delete all the Content Slider Widgets in vBulletin CMS -> Widgets
2. Uninstall the product through product manager.


Mod History:

v1.0 : 20 Aug 2011 : First Release.
v2.0 : 21 Aug 2011 : Width Feature Added.
v2.1 : 21 Aug 2011 : Fixed Uninstall Bug.
v2.2 : 26 Aug 2011 : Improved mouseover effect of content slider.
v2.3: 28 Aug 2011 : Fixed Package ID issue.
v2.4: 18 Apr 2011 : Fix typo in install code and Updated for vBulletin 4.1.x.



-> Click On Mark As Installed If You Have Installed This Mod.
-> You Can Nominate it also for Mod Of The Month.
-> If u like my work, you can Donate me also.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	2077
Size:	8.8 KB
ID:	132160   Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	3142
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	132161   Click image for larger version

Name:	slider1.png
Views:	981
Size:	420.2 KB
ID:	137864  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBulletin CMS Widgets Slider Widget s3slider CrazyProgrammer vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 56 20 Aug 2015 18:00
vBulletin CMS Widgets [WIDGET] Slider cory_booth vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 318 11 Jun 2013 10:29
Portal Software Integrating WebDeveloperPlus' Featured Content Slider in vba or any other page Omar Al-Ansari vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 45 12 Jan 2011 04:07

  #361  
Old 31 Oct 2012, 10:27
charlesr charlesr is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Originally Posted by craftyone View Post
Perfect! Thank you so much, charlesr! Now it works great. Have a nice day/night! :-)
By the way, you have a 300KB image in the background which you almost never see..... Save everyone's bandwidth and ditch it.
Reply With Quote
  #362  
Old 18 Nov 2012, 08:05
Thommy Thommy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Great mod!!! Works fine!
Is there any way to see more as 5 pics random?
Reply With Quote
  #363  
Old 18 Nov 2012, 20:15
deltahawk5 deltahawk5 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Does this work for 4.2? It would be awesome if it did!
Reply With Quote
  #364  
Old 18 Nov 2012, 21:38
Thommy Thommy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Yes deltahawk, it works fine on 4.2!
Take a look: www.terra-pannonia.at
Reply With Quote
  #365  
Old 03 Dec 2012, 10:56
macroforum macroforum is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Originally Posted by Thommy View Post
Is there any way to see more as 5 pics random?
The same request...
Installed mod and nominated
Antonio
Reply With Quote
  #366  
Old 20 Jan 2013, 21:15
alhidaya alhidaya is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Hello

The slider offers only for items cms. Is that there would be an opportunity to have items FORUM?
Reply With Quote
  #367  
Old 22 Jan 2013, 13:33
SVTdrivah SVTdrivah is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Has anyone tried to get video to work with the slider?
Reply With Quote
  #368  
Old 28 Jan 2013, 14:15
SRobbins1977 SRobbins1977 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Hello,
We could use a little help. first... GREAT widget, thank you. Its a great first step to our sites redesign. Feel free to check out how we implemented it on our site: http://wdgaming.net/

To the questions...
1) As you can see from the slider, the small previews along the left side are not the same ratio as the main slider. Is there a way to add a spot to change that under the "Content Slider Box Width" in the configuration for the widget?
2) you may also notice that we have more room to include the preview of text. We would like to change the amount of text that is in the previewer. Is it possible to add that to the configuration widget?

If we need to do some php code, we're not too great at it, so the more detail on changing it would help.
Thank you again.

Last edited by SRobbins1977; 29 Jan 2013 at 12:34.
Reply With Quote
  #369  
Old 30 Jan 2013, 14:53
SRobbins1977 SRobbins1977 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by SRobbins1977 View Post
Hello,
We could use a little help. first... GREAT widget, thank you. Its a great first step to our sites redesign. Feel free to check out how we implemented it on our site: http://wdgaming.net/

To the questions...
1) As you can see from the slider, the small previews along the left side are not the same ratio as the main slider. Is there a way to add a spot to change that under the "Content Slider Box Width" in the configuration for the widget?
2) you may also notice that we have more room to include the preview of text. We would like to change the amount of text that is in the previewer. Is it possible to add that to the configuration widget?

If we need to do some php code, we're not too great at it, so the more detail on changing it would help.
Thank you again.
Im assuming no one knows how to do this as I have not been answered. So I went ahead and reverse engineered it myself.

Answer:
To change the size of the preview windows on the left.
  • Go to AdminCP > Styles & Templates > Search in Templates
  • Search for Text > vbcms_widget_cmsfcs_page
  • open the vbcms_widget_cmsfcs_page style(double click)
Now we change the settings of the preview boxes that are on the left of the slider. Back up the template settings as you will have to calculate the pixel positions based on what you change.
  • Find ".cmsfcs_{vb:raw id} ul.ui-tabs-nav{ "
  • --your width setting here sets the width of the preview boxs on the left side of the slider
  • Find ".cmsfcs_{vb:raw id} ul.ui-tabs-nav li img {"
  • --Width setting here changes the width of the image in the preview box on the left side of the slider
Now the title and preview text along the bottom needs to be moved over so it lines up with the preview boxes. Depending on the width you changed the preview boxes too will mean you have to calculate how to move these values over.
  • Find ".cmsfcs_45 .ui-tabs-panel .info {"
  • --Change the "left:" value to the width of the preview images + 15pixels
  • --In the same sectionfind width. you will see an equation something like "math {vb:raw width}-70}" the 70 value shown here needs to be equal to the width value we changed above.

I think I remembered it all. I sill need help with changing the preview text amount and now Im wishing I knew how to make the previews fade in rather than FLICK each time.

Any help on making the fading effect? PLEASE help.

EDIT: By The Way vB.org team... Your indents on bullets are not working... just adding a enter return. so I removed them.

Last edited by SRobbins1977; 30 Jan 2013 at 16:04.
Reply With Quote
  #370  
Old 01 Feb 2013, 06:32
Action-N's Avatar
Action-N Action-N is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Scott
SRobbins1977, Looks like you found away to make it work. Whether the panoramic images are on purpose or not to be corrected size at that width it be your whole front page. I think if people wanted to use a fixed forum width of 1024 I can share the template with the sizes I made. Have two, one was the default layout (540) an other was (60,40) .

A point I wanted to make I noticed most didn't make a separate layout for their front page from the rest of the cms articles. If you make a new layout named "Front Page" an copy the format over to it an ad the slider on that layout so you can take it off the "Home" layout your using as the article default.

The template is the widget one you made in the CMS templates. The (60,40) width is configured to 735. The (540) widget size is 525, but the width is hard coded to 540. Didn't dare making it the variable as it's make a mess an need all resized. These are both for use an designed for a fixed width forum size of 1024 with the default template. Oh an guess it won't be an easy swap, there is also hard coded colors in these, dual grays (#dadada, #e1e1e1) used from the default theme. Both located near the top of the template. My forum is closed atm, but for a demo I modeled the look used at http://www.superchevy.com/ only difference is gonna be the colors. Added note I made a layout to match their site also I wanna release soon
__________________
Action Network Forums : Visit our Free web portal for aftermarket and performance automotive enthusiasts to connect and share with other gear heads.
vbRides new garage add-on for vb 4.0.

Last edited by Action-N; 04 Feb 2013 at 05:32.
Reply With Quote
  #371  
Old 02 Feb 2013, 03:07
SRobbins1977 SRobbins1977 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by Action-N View Post
SRobbins1977, Looks like you found away to make it work. Whether the panoramic images are on purpose or not to be corrected size at that width it be your whole front page. I think if people wanted to use a fixed forum width of 1024 I can share the template with the sizes I made. Have two, one was the default layout (540) an other was (60,40) .

A point I wanted to make I noticed most didn't make a separate layout for their front page from the rest of the cms articles. If you make a new layout named "Front Page" an copy the format over to it an ad the slider on that layout so you can take it off the "Home" layout your using as the article default.

The template is the widget one you made in the CMS templates. The (60,40) width is configured to 735. The (540) widget size is 525, but the width is hard coded to 540. Didn't dare making it the variable as it's make a mess an need all resized. These are both for use an designed for a fixed width forum size of 1024 with the default template. Oh an guess it won't be an easy swap, there is also hard coded colors in these, dual grays (#dadada, #e1e1e1) used from the default theme. Both located near the top of the template. My forum is closed atm, but for a demo I modeled the look used at http://www.superchevy.com/ only difference is gonna be the colors. Added note I made a layout to match their site also I wanna release soon
The size is intended. As you can see we have a 1350 wide page, so having a "HD"(not true HD size) style image seemed like a unique interpretation of the modern web page. But we have a long way to go with the design.

Love what you've done with the layout for the widget. Fits right in with the rest of the page. Some inspiration. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you for the tip on not changing the height. Luckly we were happy with is or we would have tried.
Reply With Quote
  #372  
Old 03 Feb 2013, 14:31
Konstanta Konstanta is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
http://www.vfcoders.com no longer work?
Reply With Quote
  #373  
Old 13 Feb 2013, 15:01
jorge_kai jorge_kai is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
it's possible to make run this mod in vbulletin 3.8? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #374  
Old 19 Feb 2013, 21:00
b0wlninja b0wlninja is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
ummm so in trying to use your slider i am receving an error message in the admin CP

Fatal error: Class 'vBCms_Item_Widget_cmsfcs' not found in /home/reaper/public_html/packages/vbcms/collection/widget.php on line 234

could you help me in what i did wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #375  
Old 03 Mar 2013, 10:31
Martyn1983 Martyn1983 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Love the idea of this mod, but sadly not working on my forum. The overall box, and previews, displays but there is no transition between the images and selecting the thumbnails just refreshes the homepage.

www.fiat-scotland.com

Appreciate any help.
__________________
www.fiat-scotland.com - Scotlands dedicated Fiat club
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:50.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: