Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 19 Apr 2016, 21:12
greigeh greigeh is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Real name: Greig David
Post Thanks / Like System interfering with Quick Edit

Hello again!


For some random reason, my post thanks/like system is interfering with the quick edit feature on my vBulletin. When a person edits the post and saves it they're simply left on a kind of loading screen. However - the edit does actually save into the database but just doesn't automatically take the user back to the post.

has anyone heard of any incidents this has happened before or such?

Thanks

--------------- Added 19 Apr 2016 at 21:39 ---------------

Update: this appears in the error log? Does anyone have an idea of how to locate this error?

[19-Apr-2016 20:32:47 UTC] PHP Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '=' in /home/wukohi/public_html/showpost.php(258) : eval()'d code on line 199
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19 Apr 2016, 22:27
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
What is on line 258 of your showpost.php file? It should probably be a hook. Your problem is with some plugin that is using that hook location.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19 Apr 2016, 22:46
greigeh greigeh is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Real name: Greig David
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
What is on line 258 of your showpost.php file? It should probably be a hook. Your problem is with some plugin that is using that hook location.
($hook = vBulletinHook::fetch_hook('showpost_post')) ? eval($hook) : false;

i've had a look at the plugins which has this hook but can't really find any errors with it
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19 Apr 2016, 23:47
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Start disabling them one at a time and see which one removes the error. How many of those plugins have 199+ lines and have an equal sign on the 199th line?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 00:57
greigeh greigeh is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Real name: Greig David
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
What is on line 258 of your showpost.php file? It should probably be a hook. Your problem is with some plugin that is using that hook location.
Originally Posted by squidsk View Post
Start disabling them one at a time and see which one removes the error. How many of those plugins have 199+ lines and have an equal sign on the 199th line?
So I disabled all the plugins which used the hook location showpost_post and it's still causing the error even though that's the hook found in the Parse Error. Yet when I disable the entire Post Thanks/Like System the error goes away.

Baffled
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 02:25
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Which mod is it? Please post a link to the mod in question - without a link we don't know which one and from what I recall there are three thanks mods, two older ones and the DBTech one as well.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 18:42
greigeh greigeh is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Real name: Greig David
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Which mod is it? Please post a link to the mod in question - without a link we don't know which one and from what I recall there are three thanks mods, two older ones and the DBTech one as well.
Sorry it is the DragonByte Tech: Advanced Post Thanks / Like
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...hanks+%2F+Like
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 18:51
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by greigeh View Post
Sorry it is the DragonByte Tech: Advanced Post Thanks / Like
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...hanks+%2F+Like
I have found in developing code on my local dev site, that if I have some kind of error in my plugin code hooked at locations beginning with "editpost_update_" then I get exactly the behavior you described in your first post.

I see that DBTech's product has a plugin hooked at "editpost_update_process". Try disabling just that plugin and see if the issue goes away. If so, then I suggest you report this issue in DBTech's thread for that product.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 19:37
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
Funny you should mention the post thanks hack.

I have a problem with this but i do not use DragonByte i use this one http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231666

when i go to a thread and click on the inline mod menu and press select all it only selects the very first post.

When i disable this it works like it should do and selects them all.I am not sure how i would fix this and any help would be greatly appreciated as always.

Malc
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 19:52
Dr.CustUmz's Avatar
Dr.CustUmz Dr.CustUmz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Real name: Ryan
Originally Posted by the one View Post
Funny you should mention the post thanks hack.

I have a problem with this but i do not use DragonByte i use this one http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231666

when i go to a thread and click on the inline mod menu and press select all it only selects the very first post.

When i disable this it works like it should do and selects them all.I am not sure how i would fix this and any help would be greatly appreciated as always.

Malc
you should create your own thread or ask for help in the products thread.
__________________
Sorry been away so long, new baby, got married, got into GM, just got to the point I can resume developing.
I'm working on a bunch of products, some free, some paid, and will release them all at once.
Dirt RIF CustUmz
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 20:27
greigeh greigeh is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Real name: Greig David
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
I have found in developing code on my local dev site, that if I have some kind of error in my plugin code hooked at locations beginning with "editpost_update_" then I get exactly the behavior you described in your first post.

I see that DBTech's product has a plugin hooked at "editpost_update_process". Try disabling just that plugin and see if the issue goes away. If so, then I suggest you report this issue in DBTech's thread for that product.
Strangely, this still doesn't erase the issue. I'm thinking i'm going to have to go back to the drawing board and remove the script entirely.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 20:38
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Real name: Chris
Originally Posted by greigeh View Post
Strangely, this still doesn't erase the issue. I'm thinking i'm going to have to go back to the drawing board and remove the script entirely.
Why not just do the smart thing and ask the developer on their site?
__________________
You can get access to my 180 mods for vB 3.6 - 4.x at The Admin Zone as well as the professional support you are used to. New vBulletin Spider Definitions, vBulletin Spiders List Hits 1000 Spiders! ​ OzzModz down. Site has had a data breach, checking how the intrusion happened. Change your PW if you use the same one on my site and others.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20 Apr 2016, 21:51
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is online now
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by greigeh View Post
Strangely, this still doesn't erase the issue. I'm thinking i'm going to have to go back to the drawing board and remove the script entirely.
Sometimes you overlook simple info in the install instructions or don't do something right, re-installing should sort it. If you've used this for a long time or recently updated then don't completely uninstall it (you'll lose all past thanks/likes and such) simply re-install and allow overwrite.

Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Why not just do the smart thing and ask the developer on their site?
Good point made - greigeh have you done this yet?

Originally Posted by the one View Post
Funny you should mention the post thanks hack.

I have a problem with this but i do not use DragonByte i use this one http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231666

when i go to a thread and click on the inline mod menu and press select all it only selects the very first post.

When i disable this it works like it should do and selects them all.I am not sure how i would fix this and any help would be greatly appreciated as always.

Malc
Malc please open a new thread as Dr Customz stated (honest mistake but what you did is often referred to as Thread Hijacking) and even more so since your mod is different. Asking for help in the mods thread OR on their site as Ozzy mentioned above to the OP would more than likely yield faster results.

Originally Posted by Dr.CustUmz View Post
you should create your own thread or ask for help in the products thread.
^^
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 21 Apr 2016, 15:45
squidsk's Avatar
squidsk squidsk is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Originally Posted by the one View Post
Funny you should mention the post thanks hack.

I have a problem with this but i do not use DragonByte i use this one http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=231666

when i go to a thread and click on the inline mod menu and press select all it only selects the very first post.

When i disable this it works like it should do and selects them all.I am not sure how i would fix this and any help would be greatly appreciated as always.

Malc
I know the solution to this problem, if you start your own thread I'll post the solution there.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 21 Apr 2016, 17:35
the one the one is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Real name: malcolm
apologies

Sorry greigeh and everyone my mistake it wont happen again.I will do what you suggested squidsk

Many thanks

Last edited by the one; 21 Apr 2016 at 17:42.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:18.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: