Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 12 Oct 2018, 02:52
ironmancamper ironmancamper is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Need Help site is down

As of last night our website won't come up. When you try to log on you get this:

Database Error Database error
The database has encountered a problem.
Please try the following:
Load the page again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.
Open the www.puroshermanos.com home page, then try to open another page.
Click the Back button to try another link.
The www.puroshermanos.com forum technical staff have been notified of the error, though you may contact them if the problem persists.

We apologise for any inconvenience.


We called Ipage support and they said of course it was a Vbulletin issue.

-So far I have tried to do a restore of the site from different days which didn't work.
-Checked the Config.php and tried a few things there but still nothing
-Uploaded a Config.php from a week ago

I'm not a programmer so I am lost at this point, seems like the Vbulletin software is not seeing the MYSQL database? Or it needs to be restarted, both I have no idea on doing.

This is what we have:
Ipage hosting
Vbulletin 3.8.7 Patch level 2
MySQL version 5.6.32 on Ipage
PHP 5.3.29

Any help would be appreciated, even if it someone to call to fix this.

Rich
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12 Oct 2018, 03:17
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
I get a http security page when I visit the URL you posted.

You have your public_html folder password protected. That could explain why your site is not working.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12 Oct 2018, 03:20
ironmancamper ironmancamper is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
We set that up as an added layer of security I will PM you that log in info.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12 Oct 2018, 03:54
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
I took a look. It's a 503 error.

The HyperText Transfer Protocol (HTTP) 503 Service Unavailable server error response code indicates that the server is not ready to handle the request.

Common causes are a server that is down for maintenance or that is overloaded. This response should be used for temporary conditions and the Retry-After HTTP header should, if possible, contain the estimated time for the recovery of the service.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12 Oct 2018, 11:51
ironmancamper ironmancamper is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Looks like ipage was able to restore whatever the issue was, they said it had to do with connecting to SQL server and the datafiles?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 Oct 2018, 03:45
ironmancamper ironmancamper is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Ipage also said that the issue was caused by Vbulletin being upgraded? We never did any upgrade. They said the fix was for them to edit the Config.php file to show mysqli as the database. The website is up but now I am having issues with images, .jpg wont show a thumbnail just a url and when you add an image to the album same issue no thumbnail. Work fine with .prn files. I have checked the thumbnail setting, check the user group setting and rebuilt the thumbnails. I can't figure this out, it seems to me that ipage made a change to my Vbulletin or PHP version which caused the database issue that shut the entire website down , which is now causing my image issue. Does this make sense? And does anyone have any advice?

Thank you for any input.

Rich
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 Oct 2018, 21:20
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
It would be hard to say what the issue with jpg not working, especially if your host is making changes & not telling you.

Did the jpg image actually upload to the server without an error & did you verify the image is actually there via ftp?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 Oct 2018, 22:03
ironmancamper ironmancamper is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Yes, it uploads no problem and I went into mysql and looked at the image database and its there and shows the file size but shows 0 under the thumbnail files size. PNG files work fine, seems to only be with .jpg
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15 Oct 2018, 22:05
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Are you storing images in your db instead of the file system still?

Really hard to say without inspecting the server logs, is php set to display_errors on a page?

If its not, enable it & see if it will show any errors when trying to upload another image.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16 Oct 2018, 00:24
ironmancamper ironmancamper is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Yes, should I switch to file system? I see where I can do that but wasn't sure if that would help?

I will have to figure out how to change the display_errors on a page.

Thank you very much for taking the time to give me some suggestions, I appreciate it.

Rich
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 16 Oct 2018, 06:07
Max Taxable's Avatar
Max Taxable Max Taxable is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Originally Posted by ironmancamper View Post
Yes, should I switch to file system?
You definitely want to store images in the file system instead of the database.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:13.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: