Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vB Database Backup Details »
vB Database Backup
Mod Version: 3.7.001, by Paul M (Member) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (32 votes - 4.84 average) Installs: 515
Released: 08 Jan 2008 Last Update: 30 Apr 2008 Downloads: 3125
Not Supported Translations  

This modification is no longer available or supported.

Note: Because I did not write the original version, but rather have modified & adapted it, support of this modification may be limited

When vb 3.5 first came out I was using this backup system on my vb 3.0 - and having nothing better to use - I converted it to work on vb 3.5 (here) and since then I have cut it down and adapted it, first for vb 3.6 and now for vb3.7.

The original version was by Trigunflame and the rights to the code were bought by Zoints (D.Chapman) in January. In 2007 David gave me permission to release my adaptation.

I have stripped out much of the extra stuff that I do not use (or indeed, could not get to work). This is a simple (lite) version that does a php based dump of your database either as one file, or one file per table.

Notes:
* I will not add anything new to this, or spend vast amounts of time supporting it.
* This is a Lite version to allow people to use the basic backup functionality on 3.7.


History:

v3.7.001 : First version for vB 3.7.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #121  
Old 18 May 2008, 18:38
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Originally Posted by b6gm6n View Post
ahh right thanks, thats 'backups' within public html? - well ok then
Its just an example, not a suggestion of what to actually use.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #122  
Old 19 May 2008, 01:44
XFSImperial's Avatar
XFSImperial XFSImperial is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Installed. We'll see how things go tonight at 1:00AM
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #123  
Old 19 May 2008, 18:02
b6gm6n's Avatar
b6gm6n b6gm6n is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Ant
well i waited a day...only ran the once (by me pressing run-now) for some reason it's not working, i have lost confidence, uninstalled, sorry dude
Reply With Quote
  #124  
Old 19 May 2008, 18:54
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Works fine if you set it up correctly, not much i can do if you dont.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #125  
Old 19 May 2008, 20:07
b6gm6n's Avatar
b6gm6n b6gm6n is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Ant
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Works fine if you set it up correctly, not much i can do if you dont.
yeah your right, i know.... i just got frustrated with it as other things were praying on my mind, re: other webbby stuff not installing...or driving me mad
Reply With Quote
  #126  
Old 25 May 2008, 01:14
energetic energetic is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
installed and thanks
please tell how to restore the database if needed ?
Reply With Quote
  #127  
Old 25 May 2008, 19:41
Chadi's Avatar
Chadi Chadi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
It does not delete backups (unless they are the same name as the new one its creating, in which case it will overwrite).
Could you possibly add this feature to automatically prune backups older than x amount of days? That would be great.
__________________
...............................
Talk Jesus Forums: Christian Chat
games . chat . gallery . bible . videos
Reply With Quote
  #128  
Old 25 May 2008, 20:04
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Sorry, I wont be adding any features to this in the forseeable future.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #129  
Old 31 May 2008, 18:33
Jason Buchanan Jason Buchanan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
I am a true rookie when it comes to this. Does it matter which folder on the server I upload the files too, or do they go in the forum folder?
Reply With Quote
  #130  
Old 01 Jun 2008, 18:11
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul M
Copy the files in the includes folder to your forum includes folder, similar for the cron folder.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member


Cable Forum
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.
Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #131  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 00:12
Jason Buchanan Jason Buchanan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Okay I have installed everything in the proper folders. I click run and get:
Automatic Database Backup for vBulletin 3.7

An error occured during the Backup : Could not open Destination SQL file for writing.

I created a folder named backups? What else should I do and how do I CHMod a folder to 777?
Reply With Quote
  #132  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 00:30
Jason Buchanan Jason Buchanan is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
I changed all the 0666 to 0777 and now when I run it I get this:

Automatic Database Backup for vBulletin 3.7


Warning: require_once([path]/includes/mysqlbackup.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in [path]/includes/cron/cronbackup.php on line 19

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/darkhors/public_html/forum/includes/mysqlbackup.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php52/pear') in /home/darkhors/public_html/forum/includes/cron/cronbackup.php on line 19
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 03:23
[email protected] TrIn@dOr is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 04:04
shlomot's Avatar
shlomot shlomot is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Real name: Shlomo Tommer
Red face Could not open Destination SQL file for writing

Thanks for this important MOD. However, I'm getting the same error:
Originally Posted by nothing4me View Post
I get the error: An error occured during the Backup : Could not open Destination SQL file for writing.
The situation is as follows:

1. I didn't edit anything in mysqlbackupconfig.php

2. Since the relative path for the backup files is '../../backups/', I created a 'backups' folder in forum root and chmod to '777'

What am I missing here? Thanks for your help.
__________________
Cheers to all,
Shlomo Tommer

tsConnections | Celebrities Galore
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 02 Jun 2008, 06:05
|Jordan|'s Avatar
|Jordan| |Jordan| is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Is there any way to have it automatically compress the backed up database? The backup can be quite large.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:37.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: