Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account Details »
Facebook Connect - Allow your users to login with their Facebook account
Mod Version: 2.0.5, by sllik (Member) sllik is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (78 votes - 4.72 average) Installs: 499
Released: 10 Dec 2008 Last Update: 24 Mar 2009 Downloads: 6154
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Translations External Content  

Facebook Connect
This add-on allows your guests and existing users to login with their Facebook account through Facebook Connect.

WORKS WITH 3.8!

Benefits of Facebook Connect
  • Users can simply login with their Facebook account without going through the registration process.
  • Increase user interaction and your traffic through Facebook notifications and news-feeds!
Features
Facebook users will be able to receive Facebook notifications when:
  • There is a reply to their thread or a thread that they're subscribing to
  • They receive a new PM
News-Feed will be published on to the user's wall when the user:
  • Logs in for the first time
  • Replies to a thread
  • Creates a new thread
Fetch user data from Facebook
Fetch data like name, location, profile picture and use it on your forums! (NOTE: Some data may not be available for some users)

Automatically befriend user's friends
If any of the user's friends are also registered on the forum, they will automatically be friends!

How to Upgrade From 2.0.0 to 2.0.1
  • Upgrade the product. (Import the product XML again and set overwrite to yes).
  • Update Feed Template IDs in the settings (make sure they are the same as at: FB Connect Options -> News-Feed Templates)
How to Upgrade From 2.0.1 to 2.0.2
See UPGRADE.html
  • Fixed the notification problem (notifications were sent to wrong people)
  • Login button will now be displayed on vbAdvanced pages
How to Upgrade From 2.0.2 to 2.0.3
See UPGRADE.html
  • Fixed the Facebook avatar displayed for the wrong people problem.
  • Added Facebook UID & Profile URL field to data map.
Professional Install/Upgrade/Support Services
Want this mod professionally installed? It's guaranteed to work on your forum! Download the archive and see INSTALL.html/UPGRADE.html for more details!

Troubleshooting
Server Requirements:
PHP 5

If you get an error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Means that there is something wrong with your callback URL. Your callback URL must be where xd_receiver.htm is; so when you enter [callbackurl]/xd_receiver.htm into your browser you should see a blank page (not a 404 page not found error or anything else).

If you get a continues this means there is a javascript error. Make sure you've done all the template edits correctly (especially footer & navbar). Clear your cache and reload the page.

If nothing happens when you click the Facebook Connect button make sure your callback url domain is the same as you forum domain (the one set in your forum settings) - more specifically make sure that there is a www (or isn't) in both domains.


Many more features may be implemented in the future so keep checking for updates.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot1.png
Views:	4327
Size:	103.3 KB
ID:	90376   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot2.png
Views:	6040
Size:	105.8 KB
ID:	90377   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot3.png
Views:	6908
Size:	139.5 KB
ID:	90378   Click image for larger version

Name:	shot4.png
Views:	6017
Size:	106.3 KB
ID:	91218  

Click image for larger version

Name:	shot5.png
Views:	5131
Size:	60.9 KB
ID:	91219  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #106  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 20:53
Wakey Wakey is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Real name: Simon Wakefield
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
very weird... what are your server specs and forum url?
http://gnpgt7ai.joyent.us

Server Specs from CP

Server Type SunOS
Web Server Apache
PHP 5.2.6
PHP Max Post Size 32.00 MB
PHP Maximum Upload Size 32.00 MB
PHP Memory Limit 32.00 MB
MySQL Version 5.0.67
MySQL Packet Size 1.00 MB

Running version 3.7
Reply With Quote
  #107  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 21:03
TriMe's Avatar
TriMe TriMe is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
yeah if you guys get these "page cannot be displayed" errors, just close it (the popup box) and open it again. It means that facebook servers are overloaded
Ah! Your right. Thanks!!

TriMe
Reply With Quote
  #108  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 21:32
Wakey Wakey is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Real name: Simon Wakefield
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
very weird... what are your server specs and forum url?
Additionally I just tried it in IE and got the message shown in the attached image
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Error.JPG (36.3 KB, 48 views)
Reply With Quote
  #109  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 21:54
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by playSocial View Post
Additionally I just tried it in IE and got the message shown in the attached image
it happens every time your reload the page?
Reply With Quote
  #110  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 22:03
macc's Avatar
macc macc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Sllik Thanks for Your help !

regards

macc
__________________

Welcome to Libar
Reply With Quote
  #111  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 22:04
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
FOR THOSE PEOPLE WHO HAVE TROUBLE LOGGING IN.

Some people have problems logging into their board after they logged in with fbconnect and logged out.

The nickname you choose when you login with fbconnect for the first time is NOT associated with your current vbulletin account! So when you try to login to vbulletin through the vbulletin login form enter your vbulletin username (not the nickname you chose when you logged in with fbconnect) and your vbulletin password (not your facebook password).

Basically you never enter the nickname you chose with fbconnect into a vbulletin login form!
Reply With Quote
  #112  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 22:22
janslu janslu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
what do you mean connection reset errors? can you provide any more details on that?
IE6 stops displaying the page with "Operation aborted" error. It works fine for forum start page though... It happens every time I try to open the page. Clearing cache doesn't help.

Other browsers work fine but one of Firefox browsers displays "Connection reset" error but displays the page fine. I have no visible errors in logs... Any way I can help you? I may try to setup testing environment...
Reply With Quote
  #113  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 22:29
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by janslu View Post
IE6 stops displaying the page with "Operation aborted" error. It works fine for forum start page though... It happens every time I try to open the page. Clearing cache doesn't help.

Other browsers work fine but one of Firefox browsers displays "Connection reset" error but displays the page fine. I have no visible errors in logs... Any way I can help you? I may try to setup testing environment...
if you would be able to setup a test environment that would be amazing!
Reply With Quote
  #114  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 22:40
Wakey Wakey is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Real name: Simon Wakefield
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
it happens every time your reload the page?
Yep
Reply With Quote
  #115  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 22:46
janslu janslu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
if you would be able to setup a test environment that would be amazing!
OK.
the test site uses a slightly older vbulletin (beta2) but the problems is still present.

Open the following urls in IE6 to see the problem:

http://test.babyboom.pl/forum/

and for example:

http://test.babyboom.pl/forum/staram...0/#post2886350

You can switch to http://www.babyboom.pl/forum/ to see the working site...

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #116  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 23:15
sllik sllik is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Originally Posted by janslu View Post
OK.
the test site uses a slightly older vbulletin (beta2) but the problems is still present.

Open the following urls in IE6 to see the problem:

http://test.babyboom.pl/forum/

and for example:

http://test.babyboom.pl/forum/staram...0/#post2886350

You can switch to http://www.babyboom.pl/forum/ to see the working site...

Hope this helps.
cool, im installing a VM to run the site on IE6, works great on FF & IE7.
Reply With Quote
  #117  
Old 10 Dec 2008, 23:34
janslu janslu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Originally Posted by sllik View Post
cool, im installing a VM to run the site on IE6, works great on FF & IE7.
I've been playing with various things and it's getting really funny. So far I've been using Windows xp sp3 and IE6 to test. This one throws "operation aboerted" error and shows "Opening page: C:\Windows\System32\xpsp3res.dll/dnserror.htm" in the status bar.

I've tried another build of IE - an ancient IE6 running on Win98 Crossover bottle for mac and this one gave another error - 80004004. Google suggests that this means nesting errors. And I've pinpointed the culprit - it's the location of this line:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://static.ak.connect.facebook.com/js/api_lib/v0.4/FeatureLoader.js.php"></script>

from headerinclude. If I move it below, inside <body> tags, the error disappears and everything seems to work fine. I have to get some rest now (it's 1 am here) and I will return to my tests tomorrow.

Cheers

Last edited by janslu; 10 Dec 2008 at 23:46. Reason: clarified my findings
Reply With Quote
  #118  
Old 11 Dec 2008, 02:09
TomJames TomJames is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Great application! Is it possible to use the connect API to pull users favourite movies / any other data or can you only get validation that the user account exists?

~~

The only thing I dislike about the applications is that you're handing over a lot of power to a as of yet unproven site (still struggling to finance their ever increasing costs). If Facebook goes down for a few hours, a few days or forever your members wouldn't be able to login, those perhaps more likely is Facebook simply changing / removing the connect feature at one point or another.

Since this app doesn't get the users email or password (as far as I can see) I can't even see away to solve that in the worst case scenario.

~~

Anyway, brilliant app, just finished playing with it on my test server and I'll be adding it to my main forum later. Great work and I look forward to future updates!
Reply With Quote
  #119  
Old 11 Dec 2008, 03:10
xxalexkimxx's Avatar
xxalexkimxx xxalexkimxx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
wow this is so cool dude...Thanks million times.
Reply With Quote
  #120  
Old 11 Dec 2008, 04:04
CyprusTM CyprusTM is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
would this be usable with other software. i have a website which allows people to sign up and post news on site etc, would i be able to use this script to integrate that instead of facebook?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:49.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: