Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite) Details »
[DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite)
Mod Version: 2.0.1, by Deceptor (Coder) Deceptor is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (119 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 1097
Released: 18 Dec 2008 Last Update: 23 Apr 2010 Downloads: 6748
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files  

vB Optimise Lite

The newly revamped vB Optimise was created for vBulletin 4, but has now been made compatible for vBulletin 3.8. In this release I have re-coded vB Optimise from the gound and focused stability over features, you'll notice Phrase Caching and vBAdvanced Integration have bit the dust, this is to maintain a sync state between this version and the vBulletin 4 release.

Professional version & feature list available @ www.DragonByte-Tech.com/forum
Priority support for Lite version is handled at the Developers Website.


What does it do?

vB Optimise is intended to optimise vBulletin software by integrating several PHP "cachers" and handling data before vBulletin. This works by encountering and handling data prior to vBulletin in order to skip the arbitary execution that would be more server intensive.

Real-Life Statistics

We've teamed up with some Big Forums to show you the impact of vB Optimise, you can view this public chart which shows both our statistics and theirs:

View Public vB Optimise Resource Statistics

Features
  • Supported Extensions
    • APC
    • eAccelerator
    • Memcache
    • XCache
    • WinCache
    • Filecache
  • Style Cacher
    Caches style data to globally reduce a query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Template Cacher
    Caches template data to globally reduce a query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Datastore Cacher
    Forces custom datastore items from modifications (including those from vB's blogs) to use your configured Datastore Cache method instead of being forced into the database. This reduces page queries by where affected.
  • vB CMS Template Caching
    (Automatic) Corrects many uncached templates within vB CMS to reduce upto 20+ queries on CMS pages (number varies based on content).
  • Optimal Settings Check
    Provides a quick interface to identify possible settings which can be changed on your forum for further optimisation.
  • Self-System Tester
    Provides a relatively straight-forward system check to ensure your vB Optimise installation works fully.
  • Automatic Cache Flusher
    Automatically flushes cache within the Admin CP based on specific triggers to make sure content does not remain stale on your forum.
  • XCache Authentification
    Supports XCache Admin Authentification by allowing you specify the username/password in a configuration if needs be.

Features - Pro
  • Notices Cacher
    Caches users dismissed notices to reduce a near-global query within all vBulletin forum-based pages.
  • Showgroups Cacher
    Caches the showgroups query which becomes more intensive as your user-base grows.
  • Forum Display Query Enhancement
    Enhances a stock vBulletin query within Forum Display to speed up the page.
  • Forum Home WOL Cache
    Caches Forum Home "Who's Online" to remove an intensive query and allow larger sites to display this data without impact.
  • vB Cache Override (Feature not available on vBulletin 3)
    Ability to override vBulletins new built-in database cacher for the CMS / Forum Sidebar Blocks to remove anything from 1 to 20+ queries based on your content.
  • Full Guest Caching
    Ability to cache entire pages and serve them saving not only hundreds of queries but upto 90% of CPU processing towards Guests.
  • Statistical Resource Savings
    Ability to see just exactly how many queries per day vB Optimise has saved your database. You'll be surprised at the numbers.
  • Forum Resource Statistic
    Shows off vB Optimise resource saving statistics directly within forumhome statistics.
  • ....and more!

Release Notes

If you've used vB Optimise before you'll be aware the previous version had phrase caching, however this caused complications with the way phrases are used within vBulletin so it has not been ported over at this time.


Available Translations
v1.6.0 French - Thanks to finereader

Change Log

[>>] Version 2.0.1
New launch for vB 3.8

[>>] Version 1.6.1
Automatic Cache Flusher has additional parameters to make sure no data is stale
Resolved Bug: Potential PHP error when using eAccelerator which cannot flush within Admin CP on certain actions

[>>] Version 1.6.0
New OpCode Cacher Support: WinCache

[>>] Version 1.5.0
Resolved Bug: Style cache may have fetched ID 0 instead of correct file
Resolved Bug: Filecache permissions may not have worked
Optimisation: Re-wrote some base code to enhance operations.

[>>] Version 1.0.1
Added XCache Authentification Support
Added Filecache Support

Support

Priority support will be handled at DBTech.

FAQ

Q: I have WinCache installed, but vB Optimise tells me it's not?
A: WinCache only introduced OpCode support in version 1.1, if you're using version 1.0.x you will need to upgrade.

Q: I'm using the XCache method, flushing doesn't work?
A: If you have XCache authentification, turn the admin option on within vB Optimise Settings, then edit ./vboptimise/config.php and specify your XCache username/password. Alternatively you can disable XCache authentification within php.ini:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Q: I have eAccelerator installed, but vB Optimise tells me it's not?
A: eAccelerator does not provide the caching extension by default, you will need to recompile PHP with additional flags. For more information read eAccelerator documentation located here: http://eaccelerator.net/wiki/CompileConfiguration (Specifically look at: with-eaccelerator-shared-memory)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Chat Modifications [DBTech] vBShout v6 (vB4) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 2844 13 May 2020 13:34
Major Additions [DBTech] vBActivity & Awards v3 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 934 14 May 2019 13:05
Miscellaneous Hacks [DBTech] Username Change v1 (vB4) DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 432 15 Apr 2017 18:44
Forum Home Enhancements [DBTech] InfoPanels v2 (vB4) [AJAX] DragonByte Tech vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 279 25 Apr 2016 22:44
Board Optimization [DBTech] vB Optimise 2.0.1 (Lite) Deceptor vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 461 05 Sep 2013 22:22

  #526  
Old 29 Dec 2008, 15:35
rellek rellek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Hi,

Thanks for that hack, worked fine... until now.
I've got a little problem.
I use eAccelerator and it seems like the cache is not flushed. I changed templates and styles a little bit and I only see results if I turn off vB Optimise. When I turn on again, I see old templates.
No matter when I flushed the cache (while disabled or not).

Does someone know a solution?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #527  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 01:37
JesusLiv3s JesusLiv3s is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by Deceptor View Post
JesusLiv3s - vB Optimise won't modify output if you disable all features but just have it turned on, but with that said, try running it on a default style and see if the same occurs. Which cache method are you using?
I am using the file cache method.
This only seems to happen with Greenfox, and Greenfox based styles.
It happens even when everything but the Online switch is turned off.
__________________
Nothing to see here, keep scrolling along.
Reply With Quote
  #528  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 01:49
Jim O's Avatar
Jim O Jim O is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Jim (duh)
Originally Posted by rellek View Post
Hi,

Thanks for that hack, worked fine... until now.
I've got a little problem.
I use eAccelerator and it seems like the cache is not flushed. I changed templates and styles a little bit and I only see results if I turn off vB Optimise. When I turn on again, I see old templates.
No matter when I flushed the cache (while disabled or not).

Does someone know a solution?

Thanks.
Try restarting Apache or whatever is controlling php if you are using a different web server.

You could also try changing to XCache...
__________________
World War Two Zone

JLK Hosting
for non oversold Virtuozzo VPS solutions - specializing in vBulletin and nginx
Reply With Quote
  #529  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 04:02
Phaedrus Phaedrus is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
If this doesn't get mod of the month, then it's rigged. Awesome. BTW, works well with 3.7.4 PL 1.

Thanks dude.
Reply With Quote
  #530  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 08:41
rellek rellek is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by Jim O View Post
Try restarting Apache or whatever is controlling php if you are using a different web server.

You could also try changing to XCache...
Sorry, it's a managed server where I don't have the root password.

And I heard of problems with Xcache
Reply With Quote
  #531  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 15:52
MissKalunji's Avatar
MissKalunji MissKalunji is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Mj Bain
Originally Posted by Deceptor View Post
Depends on your setup, typically it should be off, but try setting it to On. It may resolve your issue
I got someone real nice helping me with xcache so all my problems should be done after that....Thank you for your help if i wasn't broke i would def make a donation you deserve it.
__________________
____________
BossLady
Reply With Quote
  #532  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 17:35
MissKalunji's Avatar
MissKalunji MissKalunji is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Mj Bain
* never mind *
__________________
____________
BossLady

Last edited by MissKalunji; 30 Dec 2008 at 20:55.
Reply With Quote
  #533  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 18:41
MissKalunji's Avatar
MissKalunji MissKalunji is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Mj Bain
something else. When vboptimize is enabled. If someone receive an e-mail from me

it shows as - instead of dancehallareaz.com Entertainment

When i disable it it shows fine...

Any ideas on what settings i might have messed up?
__________________
____________
BossLady
Reply With Quote
  #534  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 20:59
KevinL KevinL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
If you search in the thread I think the answer was to disable caching phrases for the time being.
Reply With Quote
  #535  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 21:07
MissKalunji's Avatar
MissKalunji MissKalunji is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Mj Bain
oops sorry.
__________________
____________
BossLady
Reply With Quote
  #536  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 21:21
KevinL KevinL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
haha no need to be sorry

I had to do it earlier myself
Reply With Quote
  #537  
Old 30 Dec 2008, 21:44
janslu janslu is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
my observations

I am running a fairly busy forum at http://www.babyboom.pl/forum . We are currently running on two servers - one for web and a separate one for db.

On web server we are running nginx serving static files and proxying to apache2 with mod_php 5.2.3 and apc 3.0.19. On db - mysql 5.0.51.

The extension caused:
- a slight decrease in pageload (but hardly visible) and not consistent (some pageloads were longer some shorter),
- huge decrease in db->web bandwidh usage (from 30mbit avarage to 10mbit), but not that impressive drop in overall queries/sec numbers.
- noticeable increase in web server load (it's probably no more than few percent avarage cpu usage, but that pushed it over the limit in my case.

So far I have decided to turn it off because my web server is on it's last legs because of load (>900 concurrent users). I will resume tests when I install my new machine.

Thanks for your work :-)
It may have great influence in most situations, especially on sites where mysql is a bottleneck. But before you install, you have to consider a slight increase in load with APC...
Reply With Quote
  #538  
Old 31 Dec 2008, 12:00
ABDALWAHID ABDALWAHID is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Hello,


Warnung: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at [path]/includes/adminfunctions.php:280) in [path]/includes/class_activecache_methods.php (Zeile 190)


vB Optimise: Your XCache requires administration authentification to be able to clear to cache, to login simply try flush the cache again. To disable admin authentification for XCache set "enable_auth" to Off in your php.ini configuration.

xcache.admin.enable_auth = Off


------

XCache
XCache Support enabled
Version 1.2.2
Modules Built cacher
Readonly Protection N/A
Opcode Cache enabled, 268,435,456 bytes, 4 split(s), with 4096 slots each
Variable Cache enabled, 268,435,456 bytes, 4 split(s), with 8192 slots each
Shared Memory Schemes mmap

Directive Local Value Master Value
xcache.admin.enable_auth Off Off
xcache.cacher On On
xcache.coredump_directory no value no value
xcache.count 4 4
xcache.gc_interval 0 0
xcache.mmap_path /dev/zero /dev/zero
xcache.readonly_protection no value no value
xcache.shm_scheme mmap mmap
xcache.size 256M 256M
xcache.slots 4K 4K
xcache.stat On On
xcache.test 0 0
xcache.ttl 0 0
xcache.var_count 4 4
xcache.var_gc_interval 300 300
xcache.var_maxttl 14400 14400
xcache.var_size 256M 256M
xcache.var_slots 8K 8K
xcache.var_ttl 7200 7200

--------------


it s not ok?
Reply With Quote
  #539  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 17:14
Big-K Big-K is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
I'm a novice on Cache.

How can I identify my Cache Method and how can I change it?
Reply With Quote
  #540  
Old 01 Jan 2009, 17:44
Jim O's Avatar
Jim O Jim O is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Real name: Jim (duh)
Originally Posted by Big-K View Post
I'm a novice on Cache.

How can I identify my Cache Method and how can I change it?
Run php info (you can find it in the admin control panel at the very bottom in the "Maintenance" section. Scroll down and look for XCache and/or memcache. I'm not as familiar with eAccelerator or APC but they would likely appear there as well.

In order to configure vBulletin to work with the installed cache you would need to edit includes/config.php. The line is near the bottom and will look like:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

where XXX is the method that you use.

If you are on shared hosting you should provide a "datastore prefix" with the line:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

where ZZZ is some prefix that will identify your items in the cache.

If no cache methods are available and you are on shared hosting you can ask your host to install XCache for you.
__________________
World War Two Zone

JLK Hosting
for non oversold Virtuozzo VPS solutions - specializing in vBulletin and nginx
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: