Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
MonkeyStop - Auto-Moderation of Spammer Keywords and URLs by postcount Details »
MonkeyStop - Auto-Moderation of Spammer Keywords and URLs by postcount
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by tweakmonkey (Member) tweakmonkey is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (12 votes - 4.42 average) Installs: 153
Released: 18 Oct 2006 Last Update: 18 Oct 2006 Downloads: 569
Not Supported Uses Plugins Is in Beta Stage  

Description
-----------
A quick but effective hack that lets you set keywords that will flag posts and set as Moderated, requiring approval from a mod/supermod/admin before they're visible to users. You can also set the number of URLs to be allowed per post to stop flooding from spammers. Additionally, you can configure
the number of posts required to avoid the moderation, so the filter only effects new users to your forum.

Installation
------------
Import product-monkeystop.xml (ACP / vBulletin Options / Manage Products / [Add/Import Product])

Usage
------------
Configure the product in ACP / vBulletin Options / vBulletin Options / General Settings. (scroll to the bottom)
New threads and posts containing the offenses will automatically be moderated.
You can view moderated threads in ACP / Moderation / Moderate Threads. You should also see an icon in the thread postbit and forum display if the post is moderated (see screenshot).

Since most spammers register then spam your board while their post count is low, it may be effective to leave the default values (0 URLs allowed until post count is 3) or even up the post count requirement. If you wish to allow some links, change URLs to 1 or 2 for example.

!!! Warning !!!
------------
If you allow keyword auto-moderation, your users will receive an "Invalid Thread" message when they use a flagged word on new threads because it's a moderated thread. However this error can be customized here:
Admin Panel / Phrase Manager / phrase type: Error Messages / invalidid (page 15 or so of the errors)
I added:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

... and supplied a link for my users explaining why their post was moderated.

Credits
-----------
This is a hack of the "Auto Moderation by Keywords" mod by Andreas (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=47102)
Thanks go out for his great mod -- if only I could PM or e-mail him to thank him directly! I only made minor changes to the mod to allow it to work with vBulletin 3.6.0 (by default it wouldn't work on new threads) and to auto-moderate posts URLs.
So give him credit if you think it's cool, but his PM box is full.
Dan "Tweak Monkey" Kennedy

History
-----------
v1.0.1: Added minimum post count option
v1.0.0: Initial release

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.gif
Views:	2195
Size:	26.4 KB
ID:	54803   Click image for larger version

Name:	settings.gif
Views:	1266
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	55175  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Auto-Moderation by Keywords Andreas vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 71 08 May 2013 18:56
Moderators Functions Moderation Auto-PM v2.0.1 Alan @ CIT Modification Graveyard 336 13 Jul 2007 09:46

  #76  
Old 20 Oct 2008, 17:56
tweakmonkey tweakmonkey is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by Lizama View Post
Hi, is this mod compatible with vBulletin 3.7?
Yes, I am using it with 3.7 and have no problems.
__________________
http://www.tweak3d.net (since 1998)

My mods
MonkeyStop - Postcount-based auto-moderation of spam keywords and URLs
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 21 Oct 2008, 23:16
Lizama Lizama is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by tweakmonkey View Post
Yes, I am using it with 3.7 and have no problems.
Thanks, I will install it
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 24 Oct 2008, 04:41
induslady induslady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Hello coder
Hope you are back.

I would like to have this mod to exclude self-domains.

Have set in my domain ( indusladies.com) to exclude all the URL's for members with post count less than 10. Now I would like to allow the URL for my domain ( indusladies.com) alone i.e. internal links to appear in their posts.
Let me know.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 22 Jan 2009, 18:32
zooki zooki is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
I cant believe how few people use this mod, it is truly awesome!!

AM I missing something? Howcome not so many people use this? lol

I just came here to give this mod a BUMPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP and a Thanks to the creator

An Improvement would be for the threads that are moderated to be dumped into a Forum of my choice, like a Trash forum, for easy pruning
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 22 Jan 2009, 18:41
tweakmonkey tweakmonkey is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Thanks! I use it all the time still as well.

I will have to look into that request. I don't really have a lot of time to code but I'm sure it's doable. :P I tried setting up email notifications for it but my PHP skills were too weak at the time.
__________________
http://www.tweak3d.net (since 1998)

My mods
MonkeyStop - Postcount-based auto-moderation of spam keywords and URLs
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 08 Mar 2009, 19:43
thephonemall thephonemall is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Will this work on 3.8?

Will this work on 3.8?
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 08 Mar 2009, 20:35
tweakmonkey tweakmonkey is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Yes, I use the mod still and run the latest VB version.
__________________
http://www.tweak3d.net (since 1998)

My mods
MonkeyStop - Postcount-based auto-moderation of spam keywords and URLs
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 25 Jun 2009, 19:23
darkie79 darkie79 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
bump on this topic, as I had a question. Monkey, the hack is great, but I had a question...

When I updated my word list, is seems to be extracting words from other words, for instance, if I post the word "pass" and the filter is set to moderate it minus the "p", it pulls "pass" along with anything else including that word; however, if I moderate phrases such as "I am going to shoot you" then it will only moderate that specific phrase.

Any ideas?


FYI:

I modified the code to send an email using sendmail, which in turn emails my cellphone text email, which in turn texts my cell I did this for my entire support team...it's a great feature, but the random texts got annoying over words such as what I mentioned above.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 25 Jun 2009, 22:25
tweakmonkey tweakmonkey is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by darkie79 View Post
bump on this topic, as I had a question. Monkey, the hack is great, but I had a question...

When I updated my word list, is seems to be extracting words from other words, for instance, if I post the word "pass" and the filter is set to moderate it minus the "p", it pulls "pass" along with anything else including that word; however, if I moderate phrases such as "I am going to shoot you" then it will only moderate that specific phrase.

Any ideas?
Hmm, that is a strange one. Can you paste in exactly what you put in your "Auto-Moderation Keywords" field in AdminCP? I didn't moderate phrases, but only single words (ie "viagra", "sex", or "http") and it has worked almost 100% to catch most spam. I'm assuming you're using it specifically for spam prevention.


FYI:

I modified the code to send an email using sendmail, which in turn emails my cellphone text email, which in turn texts my cell I did this for my entire support team...it's a great feature, but the random texts got annoying over words such as what I mentioned above.

I was meaning to add that feature! I'd love it if you sent the modified code my way so I can update the plugin with that feature for everyone... if you don't mind. I'll remove your phone # and give credit etc.
__________________
http://www.tweak3d.net (since 1998)

My mods
MonkeyStop - Postcount-based auto-moderation of spam keywords and URLs
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 28 Jun 2009, 18:18
snoopy5 snoopy5 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Hi

I use this on vb 3.80 without any problems. One of the best mods out there!

BUT this mod does not work with visitor messages. I get currently massive spam over the visitor messages.

If this mod would include not only postings in forums, but also in visitor message with a user profile, this would help a lot!

Any chance to get this done with visitor messages?
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 29 Jun 2009, 12:34
darkie79 darkie79 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Originally Posted by tweakmonkey View Post
Hmm, that is a strange one. Can you paste in exactly what you put in your "Auto-Moderation Keywords" field in AdminCP? I didn't moderate phrases, but only single words (ie "viagra", "sex", or "http") and it has worked almost 100% to catch most spam. I'm assuming you're using it specifically for spam prevention.





I was meaning to add that feature! I'd love it if you sent the modified code my way so I can update the plugin with that feature for everyone... if you don't mind. I'll remove your phone # and give credit etc.
Do you have an email? I'll just send a couple text files with the changes.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 29 Jun 2009, 17:11
tweakmonkey tweakmonkey is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Originally Posted by snoopy5 View Post
Hi

I use this on vb 3.80 without any problems. One of the best mods out there!

BUT this mod does not work with visitor messages. I get currently massive spam over the visitor messages.

If this mod would include not only postings in forums, but also in visitor message with a user profile, this would help a lot!

Any chance to get this done with visitor messages?
Thanks,
I'm sure it could be adapted to Visitor messages. I haven't had spammers hit me that way. The one I have seen them try is Signatures a lot though...

There's one way to fix either of these problems. Create a usergroup for people that have say, 10, 20, or 50 posts. Make it so regular users with less than this many posts do not have access to post signatures or Visitor messages. Unless the spammer starts after making 50 legitimate posts (very unlikely) their spam will never be seen.

Or for a quick fix, make your most generic/lowest post count usergroup have this setting applied:
Follow Forum Moderation Rules

In the guest/visitor profile page option of the usergroup CP ^^^


Originally Posted by darkie79 View Post
Do you have an email? I'll just send a couple text files with the changes.
Sure, send it to dan -at- tweak3d dot net
__________________
http://www.tweak3d.net (since 1998)

My mods
MonkeyStop - Postcount-based auto-moderation of spam keywords and URLs

Last edited by tweakmonkey; 29 Jun 2009 at 17:46.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 07 Jul 2009, 18:00
darkie79 darkie79 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Re

Monkey,

Email Sent, sorry for the delay.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 07 Jul 2009, 18:31
tweakmonkey tweakmonkey is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Np, saw it. Thanks and I'll look at it when I've got some time.
__________________
http://www.tweak3d.net (since 1998)

My mods
MonkeyStop - Postcount-based auto-moderation of spam keywords and URLs
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 21 Jul 2009, 06:15
induslady induslady is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Hi,

Is it possible to avoid auto-moderating posts that includes internal URLs (ie. links to URLs within own domain)?

I've included keywords like .com, http, www and it auto-moderates posts that include links to my own site.

Thank you.

Induslady
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: