Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
BB Code [table] Details »
BB Code [table]
Mod Version: 0.1.7.1, by StGaensler (Member) StGaensler is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (100 votes - 4.77 average) Installs: 1198
Released: 14 Feb 2006 Last Update: 26 Mar 2008 Downloads: 11827
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template  

BB Code [table]
by StGaensler

Description
This Hack provides a BB code [table] to add a table to the post
The skin of the table automatically fits the style because the CSS classes of vBulletin are used.

A table is simply made of some lines (will be the rows). The cols are seperated by |. So this will be a table:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

A screenshot of a "ready" table is attached

Usage
  1. install attached product XML through product manager (overwrite existing)
  2. install at least one language pack in AdminCP -> Languages & Phrases -> Download / Upload Languages -> Import Language XML File
    Important: Select the language you want to import the phrases into, not "(Create New Language)" - this won't work! If you use another version of vBulletin than I use enable "Ignore Language Version" to import the language pack.

Please note: (installing)
Installing this product will: (reverted during uninstall)
  1. rename a existing BB code "table" to "table_saved"
  2. add a new BB code [table]
If you want to have live sortable columns (JavaScript): Download attached sorttable.js.txt rename it to sorttable.js and place it into the /clientscript/ folder of your vBulletin. Then go to AdminCP -> vBulletin Options -> BB Code [table] Settings -> Enabled Features Of This BB Code and enable sortable
Note: Including the file on the webpages where it is necessary is done by my product. So if sortable is disabled, it won't be included automatically.
If you want to have a icon for the editor you may use this for free: Download this icon and place it in your /images/editor/ folder.

Please note: (usage)
  • Of course you can use vB Code and smilies inside the table!
  • The first line defines how much columns are in the table. If the other lines have more or less colums they are cut off or filled with   (space)
  • You can find a detailed description of the options (please read it before requesting help)
  • Empty rows are (should be ) removed.

New features
  • define colspan of cells
  • small panel in AdminCP
  • define CSS class of table and tablerows
  • live sorting of table through clicking the head of a column
  • defining maximum width of a table

Maybe planned features
  • detailed description of the vB Code in misc.php?do=bbcode depending on the features enabled in AdminCP (planned for next beta version)
  • define formatting (bold, italic), align (left, right, center) and width of the cols
Suggested but not planned features
  • none

Known problems
  • Bugfix of version 0.1.1 doesn't work if vBulletin should write template names into the source code

Version history:
0.0.1 - 0.0.5 internal releases for testing purposes (Thanks to Zombie79 from powerforen.de for testing)
0.1 first official release
0.1.1 fixed small bug: if a line ends with eg vbcode quote no new row was generated (should already have been fixed but did not work)
0.1.2 workaround: removed call to function bcmod(), it could also be done another way
0.1.3.x beta version described here (and following) - added admin panel, colpan and css feature
0.1.4 stable version - no significant changes to the last beta (0.1.3.8)
0.1.5.x beta version described here (and following) - added sortable, maxwidth, versioncheck, upgrade message, compatibility to vB 3.6
0.1.6 stable version - two bugfixes to last beta, {br} for posting linebreaks in a tablecell
0.1.7.x stable version - compatibility to vB 3.7 (description) - added tab seperated tables

This hack can be used for free. If you want to make a small donation, just contact me. We will find a way
I don't want this product to be distributed from other sources. Please don't upload it to other vBulletin related boards etc.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	table_01.jpg
Views:	8619
Size:	10.9 KB
ID:	42776   Click image for larger version

Name:	table_02.jpg
Views:	7744
Size:	10.1 KB
ID:	42777   Click image for larger version

Name:	table_03.jpg
Views:	11868
Size:	30.9 KB
ID:	42792   Click image for larger version

Name:	table_04.jpg
Views:	6976
Size:	135.1 KB
ID:	48107  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #421  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 20:54
triff's Avatar
triff triff is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Sverre
There are several downloads here, which one should I download if I want the 0.1.7.x stable version?

table_bbcode-language-de.xml (5.5 KB, 668 downloads)
table_bbcode-language-en.xml (5.1 KB, 1973 downloads)
sorttable.js.txt (6.8 KB, 1791 downloads)
product-bbcode_table-multi.0.1.6.xml (31.3 KB, 365 downloads)
product-bbcode_table-multi.xml (33.4 KB, 1067 downloads)
__________________
Basic Roleplaying Central - the best d100 RPG website there is!
Reply With Quote
  #422  
Old 11 Feb 2009, 22:56
StGaensler's Avatar
StGaensler StGaensler is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Stefan
Sorry guys, I haven't been here some time Thanks for the ones who helped out.
Originally Posted by katie hunter View Post
Does this modification causes any server load ?
"Yes and no"
If you create a table with [table=debug] you can look in the sourcecode, how much server time my script uses.
The script uses this server time only once if the postcache is enabled - vBulletin then caches the whole post in its database and only generates it new if you change the post.
Originally Posted by edytwinky View Post
How do you make it where every other row is a different color? I did a search on the whole css myclass thing and it was rather confusing.
I automatically asign the css classes alt1 and alt2 to the table rows, so they get a different color. If there's no difference in your style between those two classes, you won't see this.
Originally Posted by triff View Post
Works with vb 3.8.0?
Yes There is only one small bug: I don't update the BB-Code cache, so if you upload an Icon you probably have to save a BB-Code again to make this work.
Originally Posted by triff View Post
There are several downloads here, which one should I download if I want the 0.1.7.x stable version?
As already said one page before:
2. table_bbcode-language-en.xml (English)
3. sorttable.js.txt
5. product-bbcode_table-multi.xml
You don't necessarely need the sorttable.js but it enhances the feature of this BB-Code a lot
Reply With Quote
  #423  
Old 14 Feb 2009, 08:57
zelnik zelnik is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Can someone explain what the JS script actually does?

I'm a bit confused as I have installed the JS scripted and enabled it and I can't see any difference in what the BBCODE does?

Yes I have renamed and uploaded it to clientscripts

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #424  
Old 14 Feb 2009, 09:15
StGaensler's Avatar
StGaensler StGaensler is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Real name: Stefan
Click on the column header in one table, and the table is sorted by this column. If that doesn't work: Have you enabled this feature in your admincp?

Stefan
Reply With Quote
  #425  
Old 14 Feb 2009, 09:46
zelnik zelnik is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Thanks and fantastic mod!! One of my favs
Reply With Quote
  #426  
Old 15 Feb 2009, 18:48
jacx jacx is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
agreed, by far and away one of the best mods on the site and VB should be begging you to use your code for a built in version in future.

Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #427  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 15:13
zushiba zushiba is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
This is an excellent mod that will save me a LOT of time. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #428  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 19:40
Teresa Teresa is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Originally Posted by rwoscott View Post
When I click my table icon, all I get is the table tags, nothing else.
Is this how it is supposed to work?

I thought it would show the default columns as well.

I'm on 3.6.5, BTW.
I couldn't find an answer to this post. I would like the DEFAULT tag to put up a simple table with a header so users know what to do. Finding BB code help while posting is like finding a needle in a haystack.

I would like the default table to be:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or something like that.

How can I change the standard code thrown out when the button is pressed?
Reply With Quote
  #429  
Old 24 Feb 2009, 19:49
Teresa Teresa is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Also, I don't understand something. I get how cool this is. But what I don't get is how people are finding it so helpful--beyond using it themselves. If you aren't the admin and know to come here to look at all the options, where are your users or even other moderators or admins finding out how to use the great features of this bbcode?

Maybe I'm missing something. I hope so.
Reply With Quote
  #430  
Old 26 Feb 2009, 03:58
singabaloo's Avatar
singabaloo singabaloo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
I'm also having trouble with the sortable.js script. It doesn't seem to work.

In the ACP I have selected sortable in Enabled Features Of This BB Code
I have also selected Sortable tables by default in "This setting allows you to define if tables should be sortable (live sorting through JavaScript) by default"

sortable.js has been copied to my /clientscript directory.

What else can I check to see why it's not working ?

I am defining a sort order in the TABLE head, is that the porblem ?
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The table is within a page using Logican's WebTemplates incase that makes a difference.

update After some playing around, it seems that sortable.js *is* working when I create a table in a normal post. It's just not working when it's within Logican's WebTemplates. has any anyone been able to get this working ?

Last edited by singabaloo; 26 Feb 2009 at 07:02.
Reply With Quote
  #431  
Old 27 Feb 2009, 19:27
myHybridcar.com myHybridcar.com is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I uploaded table.gif but the icon is not appearing in the editor. Did I miss something?
Reply With Quote
  #432  
Old 09 Mar 2009, 09:17
Keesa Keesa is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Is there anyone who can show me simply what additional CSS to add if all I want to do is increase the cellpadding?

As you can see, it is pretty squished.

Reply With Quote
  #433  
Old 15 Mar 2009, 21:09
plothook plothook is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
try this:

table.stg_table td, table.stg_table th {
padding: 3px;
}
Reply With Quote
  #434  
Old 21 Mar 2009, 20:31
espesso espesso is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Thumbs up

Wow great mod and works perfectly...

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #435  
Old 23 Mar 2009, 02:42
tommythejoat's Avatar
tommythejoat tommythejoat is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Tom McIntyre
Question

I like this mod, but I will be glad to see the distributable description.

I did notice that if I have a table with live sortable columns in a post and subsequently edit that post, the live sorting feature is disabled. It would be great if that could be fixed, or if there is a work around, I could at least document that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: