Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
User Rank by Posts Details »
User Rank by Posts
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by Farcaster (Coder) Farcaster is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.7 Rating: (3 votes - 4.33 average) Installs: 61
Released: 13 Jul 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 264
Not Supported DB Changes Template Edits Additional Files  

This is a quick modification I made for my own forum to rank all of my users by the number of posts they've made and make that ranking available on the postbit and profile pages. No extra queries are added, except for the cron job that runs to update the statistics at an interval you specify, which will add 4 queries when called.

This hack was only tested on 3.6.5, but it may work on 3.5.x as well. If anyone confirms that, let me know.

Installation Instructions
- 1 XML upload
- 1 File upload
- 2 optional template modifications

1. Upload the file rank_users_by_post.php to your forum/includes/cron directory.
2. Use the Product Manager to import the product file product-rah_user_rank_by_posts.xml
3. By default, user ranks will be updated once per hour. If you want to change the frequency of the updates, go into the Schedule Task Manager and find the job "Update User Post Ranks". You may change this script to run as often or as little as you like. You can run it manually to get an idea of how long it will take to run, which give you a good idea of how frequently you can safely run it. (On my forum, it runs almost instantaneously with over 2000 members.)
4. If you want to add the poster's rank to each post, you can add it anywhere by referencing the $post[postrank] variable. On my forums, I added it just under the users post count by finding:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And below that, add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

5. You can also reference the rank on the profile page. On my forums, I added it just above the user's last activity by editing the MEMBERINFO template and finding:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And above that, add:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And that's all there is to this one. It is a very simple hack, but I figured I'd share.

Standard (Global) Phrases Used:
rah_urbp_rank = "Poster Rank"

Known Bugs:
None.

Revision History:

v1.0.0 - Initial Release

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	postbit.PNG
Views:	2064
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	66909   Click image for larger version

Name:	profile.PNG
Views:	1347
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	66910  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 19 Jul 2008, 16:11
charles abiola charles abiola is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I test it. The answer is yes. It works with 3.7.2.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 09 Aug 2008, 09:43
Jezlad's Avatar
Jezlad Jezlad is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Can this be added to the members list at all?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 03 Sep 2008, 01:28
pheyz pheyz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 09 Sep 2008, 19:41
zombietom's Avatar
zombietom zombietom is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Real name: Tom
Great hack ! My forum users are loving it! thanks
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 06:04
pakdi pakdi is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
user rank work in vb 3.7.3 ?
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 11 Sep 2008, 07:20
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
yes. it works on mine
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 29 Jan 2009, 23:06
edytwinky edytwinky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Does this work on 3.7.4?

Edit: Yes It Does.

Last edited by edytwinky; 30 Jan 2009 at 14:48.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 31 Jan 2009, 18:28
iou1 iou1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I've installed this but I'm curious where I find it in my ACP?

All these coders always put where to install things and then uploading the XML but then never tell us where to find it! My eyes hurt, please spare me and just tell me what it's called in the ACP or where it can be found?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 31 Jan 2009, 18:29
iou1 iou1 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Snap! Finally! NM.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 25 Feb 2009, 00:23
Muzza Muzza is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Does this work on 3.7.4?

I noticed when I upgraded from 3.6.8 to 3.7.4 the posting ranks disappeared?

Is there something I can do to fix that?
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 25 Jun 2009, 16:45
john102774 john102774 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
*Installed

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 26 Jun 2009, 06:50
charles abiola charles abiola is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Originally Posted by Muzza View Post
Does this work on 3.7.4?

I noticed when I upgraded from 3.6.8 to 3.7.4 the posting ranks disappeared?

Is there something I can do to fix that?
I have the same problems too. Any fix for this.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: