Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
YAFB - Yay! Another Facebook Bridge Details »
YAFB - Yay! Another Facebook Bridge
Mod Version: 5.0.4b, by mrpaint (Coder) mrpaint is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.7 Rating: (25 votes - 4.44 average) Installs: 230
Released: 19 Sep 2009 Last Update: 30 Sep 2011 Downloads: 2524
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations Is in Beta Stage  

The add-on has been updated to reflect Facebook new policy starting October 1st (read more here). Basically this is a maintenance update for user of this add-on from the past. The add-on now supports vBulletin 3.8.x only. In this new version, there are only the basic features: register and login (some simple sharing too). It keeps old settings so you don't need to re-configure.

How to update (this is important):
1. Disable the add-on in AdminCP
2. Upload files in the package (make sure you disable the add-on before uploading)
3. Import the xml in the package, choose Yes to rewrite.
4. Re-enable the add-on
5. Done

Just remember to disable the add-on before uploading files and you will be okie.

A little note for attachment downloads:
- YAFB v1.4 had been downloaded 36 times before I removed it
- YAFB v1.5: 4 downloads, YAFB v1.5.1: 26 downloads, YAFB v1.6: 29 downloads, YAFB v1.7: 22 downloads, YAFB v1.8: 48 downloads
- YAFB v1.9: 150 downloads
- YAFB v2.0: 31 downloads, YAFB v2.0.1: 10 downloads, YAFB v2.0.2: 49 downloads, YAFB v2.1: 55 downloads; YAFB v2.2: 1210 downloads; YAFB v2.2.5: 661 downloads

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #331  
Old 17 Oct 2009, 05:07
mrpaint's Avatar
mrpaint mrpaint is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Dao Hoang Son
Minor change

Well, I have just got this new idea:

In version 2.1, the script will try to catch the request from Facebook's servers and produce a special page just for Facebook to fetch data. Now it supported thread/post view and memberinfo view. It's pretty good in my opinion. But there is one problem: when the thread/post contain many pictures, there will be only one of them display in the Publisher. I have made a change to the function and I will include it here. Upload overwrite the old file in root/fbb/ and user will be able to select one from many images for the link posted

Cheers
Attached Files
File Type: php functions.php (47.6 KB, 13 views)
Reply With Quote
  #332  
Old 17 Oct 2009, 12:30
Veer Veer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Updated.

Yes, its v good now, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #333  
Old 17 Oct 2009, 14:50
dazkeirle dazkeirle is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by mrpaint View Post
Hi mates,

I have just released the new version (2.1) with most of improvements are placed in AdminCP. Besides, the sharing ability is increased with meta tags support for Facebook's servers' requests. I hope you guys like it

For those who installed 2.0.2: just download the upgrade file, it's smaller and take less time to upload to your server

A special note: If you use the share button in posts, make sure to place an image named "share_facebook.gif" in button directory. If you don't want to use that button, go ahead and disable it in settings page (AdminCP > Facebook Bridge > Edit Settings)
The upgrade is very good, you are excelling yourself on this well done, I'm more than happy to run this mod.

Checked today and have about 20 new users through it and so it is good to have that button there.

I've created a share button which goes with my button set, it's the common famfamfam silk set and the button goes ok with it.

here's the button:

you can see it in use here:

facebook.jpg

you can check out my integration on http://www.mygreatphone.com in the forums.

Keep on working at it pal. (I'd still love, as an admin to be able to set permissions in admincp, even if only as a backup for those users who can't work it out on their own, atm you have to try and explain and thats not always possible with some people. Admin should always have backup control.)
Reply With Quote
  #334  
Old 17 Oct 2009, 15:10
matthewhotdude matthewhotdude is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Don't suppose you have a psd of that button?
Reply With Quote
  #335  
Old 17 Oct 2009, 15:16
matthewhotdude matthewhotdude is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Dazkeirle, you know your site how you have the connect with facebook image. How did you do that? I can't seem to do it. This is what I have in the fbb_navbar_button template


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #336  
Old 17 Oct 2009, 16:42
mrpaint's Avatar
mrpaint mrpaint is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Dao Hoang Son
The button looks neat, thank you

Anyway, a new screencast: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vBwwiffLvJ8
Reply With Quote
  #337  
Old 18 Oct 2009, 10:32
Strike3ForumsMH Strike3ForumsMH is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Hey mrpaint, that's the share button link for the postbit? I want to manually place it in my template and I just want to make sure the link I have to share it with Facebook is right.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #338  
Old 19 Oct 2009, 07:18
mrpaint's Avatar
mrpaint mrpaint is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Dao Hoang Son
Hmm, no more replies huh? Kinda surprise after tons of questions on the previous pages

Anyway, I have just figured out the way to publish new thread in a certain forum to a Facebook Page. The idea is you setup to publish threads in your Announcement forum to a Facebook Page but you can setup as many forum as you want, each forum can publish to different Page. You can see it in action here:

Posting in... http://daohoangson.com/vb38/forumdisplay.php?f=4 (it's Annoucement forum but all Registered Member can post since it's a test board)
Post published in... http://www.facebook.com/pages/A-Demo...9356066?v=wall (posts are published on behalf of the Page itself)

A small notice: it's a bug in the Facebook Platform that we can't use the Page of the Application. Actually, we can publish to the Application Page but the posts will be published on behalf of the Page Owner.

Anybody interest in this feature? Let me know and I will pack it up for you
Reply With Quote
  #339  
Old 19 Oct 2009, 09:33
drsli's Avatar
drsli drsli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Dietmar
Thatīs exactly what Iīve been looking for, mrpaint! Iīm in for opting!
Reply With Quote
  #340  
Old 19 Oct 2009, 15:49
Calash's Avatar
Calash Calash is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Don't know if I would use it much but it sounds very interesting.

Just pushed the newest update to my live site and swapped out vBnexus. The migration worked perfectly.

Great job

Edit: Actually, now that I looked at your demo links I think I would use it. It would make a great way to keep people informed of recent updates and such. Kind of like the Twitter mod I have running, but only for announcements and such.
Reply With Quote
  #341  
Old 19 Oct 2009, 18:14
mrpaint's Avatar
mrpaint mrpaint is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Dao Hoang Son
Version 2.2 is out

Besides the requested function of selecting auto on options for new connections. I added the ability to publish threads to a Facebook Page. Please setup a Fan Page, you shouldn't use the Application Page because there is a bug in Facebook Platform that prevent us from publishing on behalf of the Page itself. Page publishing can be used in numbers of ways such as Annoucement forum's threads get published to official Board Page. And if your board has some kind of club or group or clan, you can ask them to setup their Facebook Page and send all thread to that page, automatically! All we need is ideas, right? Hope you like it

Note: There is no Upgrade package this time because almost every files get updated. You can remove the old files and upload again because some files have been removed to improve performance.

Regards,
Reply With Quote
  #342  
Old 19 Oct 2009, 19:03
Matt Lathrop Matt Lathrop is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hey I just tried the send notification thing... It was only able t send it to 604/3160 users... any reason? I am on a slower than usual internet connection if that might be it.
Reply With Quote
  #343  
Old 19 Oct 2009, 21:06
principino1984 principino1984 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Marco Dominici
Originally Posted by mrpaint View Post
Version 2.2 is out

Besides the requested function of selecting auto on options for new connections. I added the ability to publish threads to a Facebook Page. Please setup a Fan Page, you shouldn't use the Application Page because there is a bug in Facebook Platform that prevent us from publishing on behalf of the Page itself. Page publishing can be used in numbers of ways such as Annoucement forum's threads get published to official Board Page. And if your board has some kind of club or group or clan, you can ask them to setup their Facebook Page and send all thread to that page, automatically! All we need is ideas, right? Hope you like it

Note: There is no Upgrade package this time because almost every files get updated. You can remove the old files and upload again because some files have been removed to improve performance.

Regards,
How do I set that thing???


Marco
Reply With Quote
  #344  
Old 20 Oct 2009, 02:02
mrpaint's Avatar
mrpaint mrpaint is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Dao Hoang Son
Originally Posted by Matt Lathrop View Post
Hey I just tried the send notification thing... It was only able t send it to 604/3160 users... any reason? I am on a slower than usual internet connection if that might be it.
You have 3160 connected users? Or you have 3160 registered users? The send notification only send to successful connected users

Originally Posted by principino1984 View Post
How do I set that thing???


Marco
Please go to Forum Manager, edit the Forum you want to enable this feature and you will see new fields to fill
Reply With Quote
  #345  
Old 20 Oct 2009, 07:08
principino1984 principino1984 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Marco Dominici
ok thanks I foud it..I'm gonna try!

Marco
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 14:51.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: