Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
MGC Chatbox Evo Details »
MGC Chatbox Evo
Mod Version: 3.4.0, by VBDev (Coder) VBDev is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2015 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (307 votes - 4.63 average) Installs: 2476
Released: 28 Jan 2008 Last Update: 02 Sep 2013 Downloads: 46153
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  



This mod is automatically compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x


Overview

MGC Chatbox Evo is the most ever installed chatbox for vBulletin !


It offers a new enhanced online experience to your members leading to increased time spent online of more than 25% by providing them with a new, more interactive, way to interact with each other.
  • Important number of features
  • High level of configurability to fit each users needs
  • Channels system
  • Many commands
  • Bot system
  • and more...
... makes MGC Chatbox Evo a must have for your forum !

Detailed features

Following is a non-exhaustive list:
  • Simple install
  • Ajax based with:
    • Fast and Intelligent chats retrieval through javascript calls to server files (refresh delay configurable per usergroup)
    • Edit/update by double-clicking on a chat
    • Interact on chats through menus and javascript
  • Many usergroup permissions to limit features according to usergroups
  • Full configuration of the chatbox display:
    Size, position on forum pages, editor layout (either top/bottom input or left/right textarea) and position, number of chats displayed, ...
  • Full configuration of the chats display:
    Authorized bbcodes selection, date/time options, avatar display, ...
  • Possibility to create channels (unlimited number) with multiple configuration options:
    • Warn user of new message when not active through blinking image and eventually sound notification
    • Possibility to select on which specific page each is displayed
    • Option to display the channel only for selected languages
    • Usergroup/User permissions to access the channel
  • Many commands available with usergroup/user permissions to access them:
    • /me: well known IRC command
    • /del: remove shouts (different possibilities of removal)
    • /ignore: ignore shouts from another user
    • /ban: ban user from chatbox
    • /pm: send a private chat to another user
    • /announcement: modify the announcement on top of the chatbox
    • /slap: allow user to slap another user
    • /team: chats sending between specified usergroups
    • /l33t: I33t-ify a message
    • /banchan: ban user from specific channel [PRO only]
  • Forum activity notifications system in the chatbox:
    • Different display options:
      • In the chatbox melted with chats
      • In the chatbox in a separate column
      • In the vB4 sidebar or a custom sidebar for vB3
    • Multiple notifications:
      • New thread creation
      • New post creation
      • Post thanked (Abe's)
      • New registrations (not included - separate product)
      • IBProarcade highscore (not included - separate product)
  • Bot system with set of predefined trigger chat and corresponding answers and automatic bot chats [PRO only]
  • Archive system with statistics as well as download and search capabilities
  • Possibility to display the list of users online in the chatbox
  • Force anynomous to enter a username before chatting if they can access the chatbox
  • Antiflood system
  • Private chats feature through PM in tabs
  • Optional sound notifications
  • Inactive mode feature for server load optimization
  • User statistics display in posts and profile
  • Chatbox statistics display on forumhome
  • Create thread from a chat [PRO only]
  • CMS Integration (not included - separate product)
    • vBAdvanced CMPS
    • vBulletin 4 CMS
  • Importers from other chatbox systems:
Install

Refer to the readme for the chatbox install.

Demo

Live demo on MGC Products forum

Languages
  1. French
  2. English
  3. German [Not yet updated]
  4. Serbian [Not yet updated]
Support

On my website mostly and in this thread


Intégration

Integration in IBProarcade is described in the readme.
vBAdvanced CMPS and vBulletin 4 CMS integration are available as additional modules.


Compatibility

This hack is compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x
, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x

Changelog

First part:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=221

Second part:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=5429

Third part:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...postcount=8469

How to set the channel images


Thanks to princeedwards for this little how to : click here

PRO version and additional addons available on my website

This mod is automatically compatible with vB3.6.x, vB3.7.x, vB3.8.x and vB4.x.x

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Chat Modifications Cyb - ChatBox Valter vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 1244 03 Feb 2016 13:36
Chat Modifications Chatbox Rules in cyb chatbox title Hornstar vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 15 23 Apr 2011 16:57

  #7036  
Old 15 Dec 2010, 05:42
Habsy Habsy is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
With all due respect I have been installing products for 5 years now successfully, I did not say it was the language pack that actually caused me the issues. This mod simply did not want to work for me and I do read instructions and familiarize myself prior to installation to avoid issues.

I will admit that I deleted product out of frustration but realized what I did and implemented a correct uninstall. My previous post was simply to help those that may encounter the same issue.
__________________
ForumICE.com
Reply With Quote
  #7037  
Old 15 Dec 2010, 07:06
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by Habsy View Post
One warning to users. Read the instructions carefully. If you simply uninstall the product without first deleting the files on your server you WILL corrupt your database as far as usergroup functionality goes. If you did this accidentally simply reinstall the product then uninstall properly per the instructions.

I could not get this chatbox to work for me at all and spent the past hour wasting my time. Installed the simple VSa instead. Worked immediately.
No, you won't. Please FOLLOW the instructions.

As with ANY mod/plugin you do on your site, it's COMMON knowledge to do a backup.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7038  
Old 15 Dec 2010, 15:28
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Habsy View Post
With all due respect I have been installing products for 5 years now successfully, I did not say it was the language pack that actually caused me the issues.
I don't think you meant to, but the way you responded to my post insinuated that. I wanted to make sure to anyone reading that there wasn't any more than the usual risk of importing the language pack.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7039  
Old 15 Dec 2010, 16:06
eido eido is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
will this cause any security threats to my forum?? as hackers tend to use the shoutbox to deface/hack forums.
Reply With Quote
  #7040  
Old 15 Dec 2010, 16:13
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by eido View Post
will this cause any security threats to my forum?? as hackers tend to use the shoutbox to deface/hack forums.
Your forum is vulnerable right now. If you mean will this make you any less or more secure, all that can be said is there haven't been any reports that I know of about this modification being exploited. Likely there would be reports here if it were happening all the time. And if it were a huge, frequently reported security vulnerability, it would have been reported to the Staff by now. No one can say if it will make your forum any more or less secure, but we can say we've not heard much, if anything, about it being so. However, this risk pretty much exists with most modifications, even vB default.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7041  
Old 17 Dec 2010, 01:01
Barbara1 Barbara1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
i was using it with 4.0.6 and it was ok,
i am using it at 4.1.0 and it works the same way. (at least for me)

i have some issues with the french to english language now but i'll fix it i guess.

thank you for this great mod


/off_topic
do we have a link about a tut of how to create a translation?
searched but havent' found anything yet.

Last edited by Barbara1; 17 Dec 2010 at 01:07.
Reply With Quote
  #7042  
Old 18 Dec 2010, 12:34
Alfa1's Avatar
Alfa1 Alfa1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
I have posted a fix to the vulnerability. But the vulnerability found in this mod does not allow your site to get hacked. It only allows access to your restricted chat rooms. So if you have a staff chat room, then others can see what your staff is saying. (if they are aware of the method)
Reply With Quote
  #7043  
Old 23 Dec 2010, 18:34
RK KINGKONG RK KINGKONG is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Real name: ROBB
Question

i have VB suite 4.1 patch 2 . I have 2 6 skins that I worked on a while back just changing colors in stlye vars , however now i want 2 more skins that i have just about ready but whats stopping me is. I cant find how or where to change the background color of the chat box text background and the ibProArcade v2.7.0+ background color in the game blocks ..
heres a sample image

PLEASE SOMEONE send me a instant message or email me aim: xaogxzeus email [email protected] i had the site put together by someone who is now in the military and now i cant figure this out .. ive went through every dvar comparing the good skin to the one missing these colors n have come up empty handed
Reply With Quote
  #7044  
Old 23 Dec 2010, 18:36
RK KINGKONG RK KINGKONG is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Real name: ROBB
my problem is with what i believe is the style var colors , because as i said i have other templates in which were just like in the above pictures and the colors changed from editing the style var colors like in this pic


but for some reason i cant seem to do it again or find it for these other 2 , and lets say on the home page the chat box has a black background just not while youre in the arcade . the mods i think are fine ... i could be wrong im new to this .
Reply With Quote
  #7045  
Old 23 Dec 2010, 21:08
RK KINGKONG RK KINGKONG is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Real name: ROBB
OK UPDATE what I learned is that the 2 new xml files I installed didnt have the same edits in the css.template / arcade.css so I just copy pasted the coding from the other arcade.css into the new xml file templates where you find the arcade.css n put it in there as the others have . that automatically added the black background i was looking for
Reply With Quote
  #7046  
Old 26 Dec 2010, 22:12
jrap jrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
I'm getting stuck in "Loading..." in Chrome, but Firefox it does eventually load the content.
__________________
Called.in - Automated User Phone Verification for vB. Check if out if you run a Buy/Sell/Trade forum!
Reply With Quote
  #7047  
Old 29 Dec 2010, 08:59
Sadistikal Sadistikal is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Hello.

I am really new to vBulletin and just installed your chatbox. I noticed that the AdminCP is in French (I believe?) but mostly all the text in the options are English. Anyway to fix this?

Also when I click the "Help" Icon on the actual shoutbox I get the following above the General Help Box:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I know that is a repeat statement..but that is how many times it shows it before showing the MGC Chatbox Help dialog.
Reply With Quote
  #7048  
Old 29 Dec 2010, 09:36
Ranger187 Ranger187 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Rule of thumb: Backup before you change/update or you'll be sorry.

Try and read the instructions once BEFORE you dive into this.... Based on this you didn't follow it in the order, nor import the English language.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #7049  
Old 29 Dec 2010, 10:31
Sadistikal Sadistikal is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
@Ranger187

I will take the backup advice, here in-out.

As for the reading, that I did do. I read the .htm file included a few times before beginning - even walking through the steps, finding the files, but not uploading or selecting anything.

I used the Fresh Install without Chat Imports.
> Uploaded FILES to my forum root. < folder by folder in fact>
> Uploaded IMAGES to my STYLES area. < again, folder by folder>
> Imported via AdminCP the .xml file from PRODUCT. <*>
> Used the Download/Upload section of Language Manager w/ Specified Options <*>

Note on "*": I did NOT upload these files to my Web Server, but instead uploaded from my Local PC. I did not see any instruction to upload them anywhere, so I did not...could this be the issue?

Not sure what else I could have missed as the instructions seem pretty straight forward. The Chatbox is functioning fine on the site and was fully customizable - and no database errors are being generated and sent to my Admin email. Just the AdminCP side bar is STILL in French (not the sections AFTER clicking - they are English) and the Help button generate the above posted error.
Reply With Quote
  #7050  
Old 29 Dec 2010, 15:28
Digital Jedi's Avatar
Digital Jedi Digital Jedi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Mark Daniel Martinez
Originally Posted by Sadistikal View Post
@Ranger187

I will take the backup advice, here in-out.

As for the reading, that I did do. I read the .htm file included a few times before beginning - even walking through the steps, finding the files, but not uploading or selecting anything.

I used the Fresh Install without Chat Imports.
> Uploaded FILES to my forum root. < folder by folder in fact>
> Uploaded IMAGES to my STYLES area. < again, folder by folder>
> Imported via AdminCP the .xml file from PRODUCT. <*>
> Used the Download/Upload section of Language Manager w/ Specified Options <*>

Note on "*": I did NOT upload these files to my Web Server, but instead uploaded from my Local PC. I did not see any instruction to upload them anywhere, so I did not...could this be the issue?

Not sure what else I could have missed as the instructions seem pretty straight forward. The Chatbox is functioning fine on the site and was fully customizable - and no database errors are being generated and sent to my Admin email. Just the AdminCP side bar is STILL in French (not the sections AFTER clicking - they are English) and the Help button generate the above posted error.
Importing doesn't require uploading, so no, that's not your issue. But it does look like you skipped a few steps. Your error probably stems from trying to upload the files folder by folder. That's never necessary. The files are all included in the same file tree structure as they would appear in your forum. You only need to grab all the contents and drop them into your root directory, overwriting all the necessary folders in one swoop. Trying to do it one at a time means you could overlook something or put a file in the wrong place too easily. Not to mention it takes nearly 20 times as long.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:28.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: