Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Add New Facebook "Like" Button to Threads and OpenGraph to Headinclude Automatically Details »
Add New Facebook "Like" Button to Threads and OpenGraph to Headinclude Automatically
Mod Version: 0.2.1, by kall (Coder) kall is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.4 Rating: (1 vote - 4.00 average) Installs: 25
Released: 15 May 2010 Last Update: 16 May 2010 Downloads: 201
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits External Content Is in Beta Stage  

From The Open Graph Protocol :
The Open Graph protocol enables any web page to become a rich object in a social graph. For instance, this is used on Facebook to enable any web page to have the same functionality as a Facebook Page.
Basic metadata
To turn your web pages into graph objects, you need to add basic metadata to your page. We've based the initial version of the protocol on RDFa which means that you'll place additional <meta> tags in the <head> of your web page. The four required properties for every page are:

og:title - The title of your object as it should appear within the graph, e.g., "The Rock".
og:type - The type of your object, e.g., "movie". Depending on the type you specify, other properties may also be required.
og:image - An image URL which should represent your object within the graph.
og:url - The canonical URL of your object that will be used as its permanent ID in the graph, e.g., "http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0117500/".
This modification will add these tags to all pages, and the <og:title> attribute to your SHOWTHREAD pages (for the moment.. additional Pages to be added soon), along with the Facebook 'Like Button' under the Thread Title (as we are supposed to put the Like button next to the thing the person is Liking).

Install Instructions:
AdminCP - Plugins & Products - Manage Products - [Add/Import Product] , browse to the location of the .xml file you downloaded from this thread, Import it.
Template Modifications
In SHOWTHREAD, find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add under:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Wherever you want to add the Like Button, add

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Configuration Instructions
AdminCP - Settings - Options - Opengraph/Facebook Integration
Global On/Off - Set to Yes to turn the system on.
FB - Page Admins - A comma-separated list of the Facebook IDs of the Admins of your pages on Facebook.
FB - App ID - The application ID of your Facebook Application.
OG - Site Name - A short, human-readable name for your site that will appear in the Like on the User's Facebook Activity Stream.

It is important to fill in these, as they are used by FB to fill in some of the information, and allows your pages (Showthread at the moment) to be referenced in the Open Graph.

What's Next?
This is an early beta release to gauge the interest in Open Graph/Facebook type stuff.
I intend to add the tags to other pages, and implement some of the other Facebook Social Plugins. These will all be On/Off configurable. Some can be seen in action at:

View Profile: kall - New Zealand Boards - Like for Member Profiles
http://www.nzboards.com/the-lounge/r...on-sale-90544/ - Activity and Recommendation Streams in first and last post.

(4.0.3 Version here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=242525)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Integration with vBulletin Add New Facebook "Like" Button and Social Plugins (and OpenGraph to Headinclude) kall vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 91 20 Feb 2012 18:01

  #46  
Old 01 Jun 2010, 09:12
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
Find this in the ogfb_like_metadata template, and change the bit in the "" to whatever you want:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 01 Jun 2010, 18:05
ceho ceho is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Real name: Chris
I am suddenly getting errors without having changed anything!!

When you click on the button it says "Be the first one to like: Error".

Erros is a link, when you click it a popup opens saying the page could not be reached. Pls. see screenshot.

fborg.jpg

Any ideas what that is, why it happens out of nowhere and how to fix it?

Thanks a lot!

Edit: OK, it looks this is a Firefox issue. It works on IE, Opera and Google Chrome!
Second edit: a user just reported it happend on IE as well :-(


@MagicThemeParks: thank you very much, I will give it a try once my problem as above is sloved ;-).
__________________
www.cureconnections.com

Last edited by ceho; 01 Jun 2010 at 18:21.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 01 Jun 2010, 20:13
kall's Avatar
kall kall is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Ace
I'm thinking that the temporary error without changing anything scenario has to be at the FB end. A few people mention it over on the FB developers forums.

See if it comes right in an hour or 2.
__________________
vBulletin Styles (All styles compatible with 3.8.4 - Steel Blue 4.0 Available) | vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 09 Jul 2010, 05:36
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Could you please instruct me on an example where to place the "$ogfb_like_showthread" code so it appears just as in your screen shot?

Also, whenever a user uses the feature to post it on their profile it automatically grabs an image off the thread. Can I control which image is posted, I don't wish for this part to be automatic. I'd like to inset my forum's logo.

Thanks

Last edited by ps2wiz; 09 Jul 2010 at 06:49.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 12 Aug 2010, 22:54
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Installed this, it's the third Facebook Like hack I have tried and this one works better than the others, I have tweaked and played about as I always do and finally worked in a tidy placement of the Like button, top and bottom of thread, with correct alignment.

Example:
http://www.bowlandcentral.com/forum/...ad.php?t=86622
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 13 Aug 2010, 23:19
Kwikms Kwikms is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
I try to show this button only in the first post without success. How can I do that?
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 14 Aug 2010, 00:28
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
You could try wrapping it in this conditional, in the postbit or postbit_legacy templates, not sure if it can be called there or not though as I haven't tried it.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 15 Aug 2010, 12:01
Kwikms Kwikms is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Thanks.

I am just not able to put the like button any where else except in the showthread. It just dont show up. And it doesnt matter what I put in the plugin "OpenGraph/Facebook Integration - SHOWTHREAD variables". I can switch it to whatever I want (postbit_start e.g.) it still shows up in showthread but not in postbit_legacy.

Weird.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 16 Aug 2010, 07:13
Mark.B Mark.B is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by Kwikms View Post
Thanks.

I am just not able to put the like button any where else except in the showthread. It just dont show up. And it doesnt matter what I put in the plugin "OpenGraph/Facebook Integration - SHOWTHREAD variables". I can switch it to whatever I want (postbit_start e.g.) it still shows up in showthread but not in postbit_legacy.

Weird.
It's not weird, it's that the variable mustn't be available in the postbit templates.

There'll be a way round this, I'm just not sure what it is.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 15 Sep 2010, 07:45
benFF benFF is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Installed and works great I just wondered if there is any to get a list of all the "liked" threads somehow in FB.

Insights doesn't like my site application right now, or maybe that's because it hasn't been used enough?
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 25 Feb 2011, 21:34
Chase Chase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
What's the difference between this? http://developers.facebook.com/docs/.../plugins/like/
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 26 Feb 2011, 04:00
Edgespeeder06 Edgespeeder06 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Very cool, any updates on this? In you original post, how did you get the fully custom profile page seen here? http://www.nzboards.com/members/kall/


I would like to set that up for www.NJStangers.org since I already have the Facebook Login bridge going.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 26 Feb 2011, 18:59
wicked80 wicked80 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by Mark.B View Post
It's not weird, it's that the variable mustn't be available in the postbit templates.

There'll be a way round this, I'm just not sure what it is.
Same issue, working in SHOWTHREAD but not in postbit_legacy...
any workaround guys to make it work in postbit_legacy???

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 28 Mar 2011, 16:10
moreilly moreilly is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Can anyone explain to me or help me fix why after you "like" a post when I visit Facebook it has some random image next to it on my wall?

Sometimes it grabs a smiley face, or some random icon placed on my site.

Is there a way to make the image the same?
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 28 Mar 2011, 17:08
moreilly moreilly is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
nvm, got that sorted.

Now I am a little undecided on where this button needs to go.

Anyone have some examples of where you guys have your button with this hack?

If you do, could you post which template and the code where you integrated it?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: