Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Country Flags - Postbit & Postbit_Legacy. vB 4.0.x (Inc GO Details »
Country Flags - Postbit & Postbit_Legacy. vB 4.0.x (Inc GO
Mod Version: 1.00, by Welshy2008 (Designer) Welshy2008 is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (102 votes - 4.60 average) Installs: 594
Released: 04 Dec 2009 Last Update: 30 May 2012 Downloads: 4521
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes Additional Files Translations  

Description:

This Add on, gives a selection of Countries that your Member (New or Existing) can choose from in a 'Drop-Down Menu'. The Country he/she selects, will be displayed as a Flag in their Postbit.

Credit for the Flags goes to Cobro. (I have renamed each and every flag to work with this Mod).


Instructions:

Firstly “Upload” ALL the Flag GIF pics to your forum root /images/buttons/flags folder.

IE: yourforumaddress.com/forum/images/buttons/flags

Please Note: Due to the flags folder being too large to upload as one - I have been forced to upload it as "flags1", "flags2" and "flags3" - Please ensure that you add a new folder to "images/buttons/" and name it "flags". Please copy the contents of ALL THREE (3) flags folders in the attachment below to the new 'flags' folder that you have just made. (DO NOT place them as 3 seperate folders!"


Then in your Admin Control Panel (ACP), please do the following:
ACP -> User Profile Fields -> Add New User Profile Field ->Profile Field Type -> Single-Selection Menu (select ‘Single-Selection Menu’ from the Drop-Down Menu) -> Please enter the following into the following fields (REMEMBER to make a note of the FieldID, because you will need to replace ALL the X’s in [fieldX] with it!!!
(Please see 'FieldID.jpg' attachment below).

Add New User Profile Field Single-Selection Menu:

Title = Country Flag
Description = Add your country flag to your profile:
Profile Field Category = (Uncategorized)
Options = Copy & Paste the Whole contents of the file attached below (OPTIONS)
Set Default = None
Display Order = You Select this (dependant on how many you already have)
Field Required = yes, at registration and profile updating
Field Editable by User = Yes
Private Field = No
Field Searchable on Members List = No
Show on Members List = Yes


Optional Input:

Allow user to input their own value for this option = No
Max length of allowed user input = 100
Field Length = 25
Regular Expression = Leave this Blank


Display Page:

Which page displays this option? = Edit Your Details ** Please note that the vB4.0.4 Version does not show this option. Please select "Edit Profile" option. The selct your country flag option, I can confirm, Also shows on registration too.
** SAVE **


Then, In your Admin Control Panel (ACP)...

ACP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> <<>> -> Postbit Templates -> select the template that you use (ie Postbit or Posbit_legacy) – This is for the Postbit_Legacy…

FIND:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


If you would like to place it under your number of user posts (to the right of your Postbit) then look for:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


(upto vB4.0.5) ADD BELOW:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(for vB4.0.6 AND 4.0.7) ADD BELLOW:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(Also adds the Username to the 'alt' Code on Mouseover).

(for vB4.0.8):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(Thanks to Krusty1231 for this).

(for vB4.1.0 , 4.1.0 PL2 & 4.1.1)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Even though I have not tested this in these versions, others have and have reported this mod to be working in them.[/B]

Please make sure the style and template edits are still there. Just one of the people can be seen on post 350


** Replace the ‘X’ with your FieldID number **
** Replace the ‘Red Text’ with Your Forum Address **



** SAVE Template **





And that's it - Enjoy!


Please do not forget to click "Install"

Edit & Update TRACKER - Keep Upto date here:

** 30/05/2012 - Update "Flags2 to include correct name on Switzerland flag"..

** 27/09/2010 - Update on 4.0.6 "added code for the 4.0.6 Version, and instructions on how to place the flug under a user's postcount in posbit"..


** 12/07/2010 - Update on 4.0.4 "Which page displays this option"..

** 26/06/2010 - Updated Flag Names and Country Names in the "Options" text file. PLEASE Re-upload and overwrite all three flag folders and the options Text file...

** 15/01/2010 - Made all the Countries in the "OPTIONS.txt" in Alphabetical Order..

** 27/12/2009 - Changed the contents of OPTIONS.ZIP folder from a .docx file to a .txt file, as requested.

** 26/12/2009 - Option 2 Added
- Flag folder Updated (UK.gif changed to UK.GIF)


** 05/12/2009 - OPTIONS File Added.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	AdminCP.jpg
Views:	4067
Size:	100.7 KB
ID:	107172   Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit_Legacy.jpg
Views:	7338
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	107173   Click image for larger version

Name:	FieldID.jpg
Views:	5800
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	107179  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Country Orb people (Country Flags) mac27 vBulletin Avatar Sets 101 02 Jan 2012 23:16

  #466  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 01:17
K!nG K!nG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Originally Posted by Mariner1 View Post
Sorry about this,im totally confused now.

img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/flags/{vb:raw post.fieldX}.GIF"

This line of code is there already

<!-- Wy Country Flags Start -->
<vb:if condition="$post['field5']"><style="text-align:left"> Country:</dt> <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/flags/{vb:raw post.field5}.GIF" align="middle" alt="{vb:raw post.field5}" border="" /></vb:if>
<!-- Wy Flags End -->
Hi Mariner,
May b i am wrong but i have a feeling that you have wrong "user profile field" number just double check by going in your admincp and see if its the same field that you have created.
Reply With Quote
  #467  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 01:25
Mariner1 Mariner1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Just double checked and the field number is right.
Reply With Quote
  #468  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 02:27
POL_ED POL_ED is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
@ Mariner1,
Give address YOURFORUM.
Reply With Quote
  #469  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 08:13
Welshy2008's Avatar
Welshy2008 Welshy2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Originally Posted by datoneer View Post
Hi,
please can you help me with country flags. I have 4.1.8 version.

I added everything in postbit template to show me flag after posts, but image not showing only name of the country.

Thanks

Hi,

You have the wrong route to your flags folder.

You have:

http://www.imspot.org/images/styles/ColorTheory/buttons/flags/{vb:raw post.field5}.GIF

It should be:

http://www.imspot.org/images/buttons/flags/{vb:raw post.field5}.GIF

Let me know how you get on.
__________________
Talk.electricianforum.co.uk - The UKs most respected Electricians Forum.

Last edited by Welshy2008; 10 Dec 2011 at 08:25.
Reply With Quote
  #470  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 08:24
Welshy2008's Avatar
Welshy2008 Welshy2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Please remember Guys and Girls,

It makes no difference if you have different styles.

You just need the one route to your flags.

For an example of this - please see the help for the member above. (How it was in Red bold text - and how it should be in green bold text).
__________________
Talk.electricianforum.co.uk - The UKs most respected Electricians Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #471  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 08:27
Welshy2008's Avatar
Welshy2008 Welshy2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Marina.

I have just tired checking your forum - but it is showing that it cannot be displayed.

This is the correct one, yes?:

http://thatsentertainmentuk.co.uk/forum.php


Sounds like your issue is the same as that described in by two posts above this one.

Let me know if that helps.
__________________
Talk.electricianforum.co.uk - The UKs most respected Electricians Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #472  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 08:30
Welshy2008's Avatar
Welshy2008 Welshy2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Also, If anyone would like me to have a look and get it working on their forum, please set up a temporary admin account with admin permissions and PM me the details.

I will then sort it out for you.
__________________
Talk.electricianforum.co.uk - The UKs most respected Electricians Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #473  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 22:43
bremereric's Avatar
bremereric bremereric is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Real name: Eric Bremer
My site is using vb 4.1.3 and I used Krusty's code. Here are some snap shots of what I did. I have a big red X for the picture. My forum was set up by someone else. My directory to the flag.gifs is aspenandvolare/images/buttons/flags. I am sure its not finding the flag.gifs and is giving me the red x.





__________________
F Body Mopar Lover &
VB4.1.3 Newbie


Last edited by bremereric; 11 Dec 2011 at 03:39.
Reply With Quote
  #474  
Old 10 Dec 2011, 22:58
POL_ED POL_ED is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I do not see on your serwer "United States.GIF" flag

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Your Avatar is ok

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

=====================
Edit://
Now working Country Flags on http://www.aspenandvolare.com

Last edited by POL_ED; 11 Dec 2011 at 00:08.
Reply With Quote
  #475  
Old 11 Dec 2011, 03:30
bremereric's Avatar
bremereric bremereric is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Real name: Eric Bremer
Originally Posted by POL_ED View Post
I do not see on your serwer "United States.GIF" flag

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Your Avatar is ok

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

=====================
Edit://
Now working Country Flags on http://www.aspenandvolare.com
WTF..It wasn't working before and I left for a Christmas party and I came back and it is. I didn't change anything?
__________________
F Body Mopar Lover &
VB4.1.3 Newbie

Reply With Quote
  #476  
Old 11 Dec 2011, 10:28
gazza2008 gazza2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Originally Posted by Welshy2008 View Post
Also, If anyone would like me to have a look and get it working on their forum, please set up a temporary admin account with admin permissions and PM me the details.

I will then sort it out for you.
Ive pmd you mate and sorted a temp admin account out
Reply With Quote
  #477  
Old 11 Dec 2011, 10:43
Mariner1 Mariner1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Sent you a pm too
Reply With Quote
  #478  
Old 11 Dec 2011, 12:57
gazza2008 gazza2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Originally Posted by gazza2008 View Post
Ive pmd you mate and sorted a temp admin account out


I have fixed this mate

so you can disragard the PM
Reply With Quote
  #479  
Old 11 Dec 2011, 14:06
Mariner1 Mariner1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Id like to thank Welshy2008 for fixing the problem ive had.He fixed it in minutes.

Thanks again bud,really appreciate your help
Reply With Quote
  #480  
Old 11 Dec 2011, 15:18
bremereric's Avatar
bremereric bremereric is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Real name: Eric Bremer
I put the same code into the postbits for two other sytles I have and I get the big red x on those sytles. It works fine on vb4 default sytles. I would also like to know where to install the code on postbit legacy in case I want to switch my forum over to that someday. If you go to my site you can see that I am using what I believe to be postbit legacy but the template I added the code to was postbit.

__________________
F Body Mopar Lover &
VB4.1.3 Newbie


Last edited by bremereric; 11 Dec 2011 at 15:23.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:20.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: