Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Import External Images Details »
Import External Images
Mod Version: 1.0.5, by y2ksw (Coder) y2ksw is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (38 votes - 4.68 average) Installs: 302
Released: 07 Nov 2010 Last Update: 14 Feb 2011 Downloads: 1900
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

This vBulletin 4 product imports external images in your posts from external servers or paths into a specific path, normally your forum's image folder.

Differently than the previous product Image Cache for vBulletin 3.x., it parses the posts at regular intervals for new images and replaces the external references in the background. Also, instead of using only a single folder, it creates folders for years and months, making it much easier to handle large quantities of images. The source and destination image URL's are stored into database, too, avoiding unnecessary duplicates.

It moves and optionally converts images from one place to another. It is a handy tool in order to keep your images local to your forums.

Version 1.0.4 is temporarily in BETA stage until the users have confirmed the newly requested features.
Version 1.0.5 is still in BETA stage. It adds a new bunch of additional features, one of which allows you to test your mathematical understanding ... and a few other to fine-tune CURL and socket timeouts, and resizing on the fly of too large images. If you don't know what these options do, please leave them at their default values.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	08-11-2010-11.32.53.jpg
Views:	4017
Size:	112.4 KB
ID:	123480   Click image for larger version

Name:	02-02-2011-22.06.39.jpg
Views:	2789
Size:	126.0 KB
ID:	126356  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #406  
Old 12 Oct 2012, 22:21
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
This mod works almost perfectly except when a image is something like IMG_1123-1.jpg?t=1349992120 .

If there is anything after the .jpg it rarely imports correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #407  
Old 12 Oct 2012, 22:21
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
I am against watermarking images coming from other sites and thus will not implement this feature.

If you want to watermark the files, you may use quite easily a self-tailored script from SSH, or via cronjob and PHP, operating directly on the imported files.
Well it's more that people use you as a host and steal your bandwith so you should get credit for you bandwith/server use.

I honestly don't know how to do what you mentioned but would love to learn and implement it...
Reply With Quote
  #408  
Old 13 Oct 2012, 10:59
BadgerDog BadgerDog is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Doug
Originally Posted by sticky View Post
This mod works almost perfectly except when a image is something like IMG_1123-1.jpg?t=1349992120 .

If there is anything after the .jpg it rarely imports correctly.
I have exactly the same problem with filenamse containing a "-"....

Refer to my original post and y2ksw's anser following a few posts later:

Post 367 (click here)

From his answer, I assume there's nothing can be done about the issue...

Other than that, this is a fabulous mod and a great addition to our site...

Regards,
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #409  
Old 15 Oct 2012, 16:37
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by sticky View Post
This mod works almost perfectly except when a image is something like IMG_1123-1.jpg?t=1349992120 .

If there is anything after the .jpg it rarely imports correctly.
You may convert images to jpg and then all images will not carry the original filename and/or extension.

However, if an image is dynamically linked, visibility may depend on your logged in state (or the state the "pasting" user is in) and thus may not work in any case. The server script is not logged into the remote media server (is a guest) and thus may not see anything.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #410  
Old 16 Oct 2012, 18:37
ZEHH's Avatar
ZEHH ZEHH is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Muito bom !!
Reply With Quote
  #411  
Old 02 Nov 2012, 14:43
lazydesis lazydesis is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
this is working fine for me on vb3.8.7 .. just needed to remove the dependencies on the product file for it be installed

thanks
__________________
http://www.lazydesis.com
Reply With Quote
  #412  
Old 14 Nov 2012, 21:33
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I'm interested in this mod. Should I download 1.0.2, 1.0.4, or 1.0.5? I assume 1.0.2 but I wish to be sure before I proceed.

And, what happened to 1.0.3?
Reply With Quote
  #413  
Old 15 Nov 2012, 06:58
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
You may convert images to jpg and then all images will not carry the original filename and/or extension.

However, if an image is dynamically linked, visibility may depend on your logged in state (or the state the "pasting" user is in) and thus may not work in any case. The server script is not logged into the remote media server (is a guest) and thus may not see anything.
That's not the issue. The issue is if someone is linking to a file that has anything after the .jpg. Then it doesn't import correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #414  
Old 15 Nov 2012, 14:04
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
I'm interested in this mod. Should I download 1.0.2, 1.0.4, or 1.0.5? I assume 1.0.2 but I wish to be sure before I proceed.

And, what happened to 1.0.3?
normally you would choose the latest version. 1.0.5
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #415  
Old 16 Nov 2012, 18:36
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
normally you would choose the latest version. 1.0.5
Gotcha ya!

It hasn't finished importing all the images yet. So, I hit Run Now in the Scheduled Task Manager and got this:

Request Timeout

This request takes too long to process, it is timed out by the server. If it should not be timed out, please contact administrator of this web site to increase 'Connection Timeout'.


Anything I can do about this?

It's scheduled to run every 10 minutes but the latest images imported were at 10:35 this morning about 4 hours ago.

EDIT

Another question

Include Forum ID's and Exclude Forum ID's

I did not enter any forumids in either box. Is this correct?

Thanks!!

Last edited by Bob_R; 17 Nov 2012 at 02:43.
Reply With Quote
  #416  
Old 17 Nov 2012, 11:47
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
Gotcha ya!

It hasn't finished importing all the images yet. So, I hit Run Now in the Scheduled Task Manager and got this:

Request Timeout

This request takes too long to process, it is timed out by the server. If it should not be timed out, please contact administrator of this web site to increase 'Connection Timeout'.


Anything I can do about this?

It's scheduled to run every 10 minutes but the latest images imported were at 10:35 this morning about 4 hours ago.

EDIT

Another question

Include Forum ID's and Exclude Forum ID's

I did not enter any forumids in either box. Is this correct?

Thanks!!
1. There is nothing I can do about connection timeouts. It may be your PHP hosting plan has Safe Mode enabled and thus will timeout at the system settings. Or, the server is simply too busy to make fast connections on outgoing requests.
2. You should not play with these (actually all) options unless you really need to
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #417  
Old 17 Nov 2012, 14:29
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Originally Posted by y2ksw View Post
1. There is nothing I can do about connection timeouts. It may be your PHP hosting plan has Safe Mode enabled and thus will timeout at the system settings. Or, the server is simply too busy to make fast connections on outgoing requests.
2. You should not play with these (actually all) options unless you really need to
OK.

So what do I do?

It hasn't run in nearly 24 hours.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #418  
Old 17 Nov 2012, 18:35
Bob_R Bob_R is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
These are instructions from the PDF file:

Large image quantities
If you have a very high number of images, the iei_cron.php task may run out of memory. If this happens, you can empty the iei_img table. By doing so, the script will start over with a new array of imported images, which is acceptable once and then. If you want to keep the history, please feel free to keep a backup of this table.


Please explain in detail how to do this.

This may be my problem. I've reduced the posts at once to 5. Convert to jpg and disabled Cache Image URL's.
Reply With Quote
  #419  
Old 18 Nov 2012, 12:10
y2ksw's Avatar
y2ksw y2ksw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Real name: Giovanni
Originally Posted by Bob_R View Post
These are instructions from the PDF file:

Large image quantities
If you have a very high number of images, the iei_cron.php task may run out of memory. If this happens, you can empty the iei_img table. By doing so, the script will start over with a new array of imported images, which is acceptable once and then. If you want to keep the history, please feel free to keep a backup of this table.


Please explain in detail how to do this.

This may be my problem. I've reduced the posts at once to 5. Convert to jpg and disabled Cache Image URL's.
If you have this option (depends on release you are using):

Cache Image URL's
Cache image URL's into memory. If you have a large board, a lot of imported images and limited memory, you may want to switch this option off. If disabled, images are tested by less efficient database queries.

Try to switch it off, first (No). Then, each request for an image is queried from the database instead of loading the file list into memory. If this does still not work, then you have a different problem.
__________________
Giovanni
Italian support: http://www.vbulletin.it/
Reply With Quote
  #420  
Old 20 Nov 2012, 12:38
Rckcrwlr Rckcrwlr is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I'm in the process of a doing a new install with my existing DB. It got me thinking...if I uninstall this, what can I expect to happen?

Will it say with them locally?
Default back to original?
Lose all images?

Thanks
John
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lisansdevir


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: