Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Display Options Above Threads - as seen on vbulletin.org Details »
Display Options Above Threads - as seen on vbulletin.org
Mod Version: 1.01, by kira (Member) kira is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.7 Rating: (6 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 81
Released: 15 Jul 2007 Last Update: 27 Jul 2007 Downloads: 720
Not Supported Template Edits  

This template mod will streamline and relocate the "Display Options" dropdown menus to the top of your threads list on forumdisplay, as seen here at vbulletn.org in the modification areas.

As part of this move, we'll also change the look of the "Active Users"/Moderators panel remaining at the bottom of the page. (Screenshots of both sections are below.)

This modification should work on vB versions 3.6.5 - 3.6.7 PL 1.

Important: There are two different versions of the instructions: one for a default setup, and one for people using the excellent Thread Prefixes mod by Mystics. Please make sure you choose the correct version for your setup!

(Of course, if you've installed or applied other mods that have altered the forumdisplay template, you may need to adjust the instructions accordingly.)

Update on May 10, 2008: I'm happy to say that the 3.7.0 version of this mod is now available! Note that there's now only one set of instructions in 3.7.0, since Mystics prefix mod no longer applies. If his mod is ever updated, however, I'll be happy to include a new batch of instructions. Especially 'cause I prefer his prefixes to vB's!

Update on July 27, 2007: New version fixes issue with AJAX inline editing thread titles. If you've already installed the older version, please use these instructions to correct the problem. Thanks to Skavenger for the heads-up.

Live Demo: Working Demo at My Site. (This will show you the Display Options section; I don't use the "Active Users" part of the mod.)

This is my first template modification release, and I hope it's helpful. Many thanks to vbulletin.org for the inspiration, not to mention years of providing an amazingly helpful community.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	displayoptions_prefix.jpg
Views:	2644
Size:	38.1 KB
ID:	67025   Click image for larger version

Name:	activeusers_simple.jpg
Views:	1600
Size:	13.2 KB
ID:	67026  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements Display Options Above Threads - as seen on vbulletin.org kira vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications 63 17 Sep 2012 15:32

  #16  
Old 12 Aug 2007, 23:55
kira kira is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hi hissatsu! You do need the prefix hack installed in order to use the version specifically for thread prefixes. See the intro here:

Important: There are two different versions of the instructions: one for a default setup, and one for people using the excellent Thread Prefixes mod by Mystics. Please make sure you choose the correct version for your setup!
If you don't use the Thread Prefix mod, you should use the file called displayoptions to top.txt . If you do have the Thread Prefix mod, use the file called displayoptions to top_prefix.txt.

The version without the prefix mod looks pretty much the same, it just won't have the prefix dropdown.

Does this make sense? Hope it helps!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 00:48
hissatsu hissatsu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
yeah it does help. unfortunately i installed the prefix hack and started experiencing errors on my new forum (using vb 3.67 PL1). And i am not finding anyone who knows coding to help me edit stuff to make the thread prefix work (it is one Hack my Forum definately needs)

I havent received any replies (probably because the prefix hack isnt supported anymore). Will u be able to help? (ie getting thread prefix to work then adding ur mod afterwards)

Pretty Pleeese!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 02:15
kira kira is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I havent received any replies (probably because the prefix hack isnt supported anymore). Will u be able to help? (ie getting thread prefix to work then adding ur mod afterwards
Where did you ask for help? I don't see any previous posts by you regarding the thread prefix mod. I'll try but you should really ask in the Thread Prefix mod's thread itself, maybe others can help too.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 06:11
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
can you post your button css class ?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 06:25
kira kira is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Sure. It uses a background image, though, which I've attached.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Attached Images
File Type: gif bg_button.gif (192 Bytes, 219 views)
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 06:27
hissatsu hissatsu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
it is alright now - one coder came to fix it for me.

It works now. So i will try using your hack to display the prefixes on top of my pages. Will let you know what happens. Definately click install if it works.

Edit:
wow-- kira ur site is beautiful. How did you set that up? damn -- i really need to learn how to code, these things may become easier to understand.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 08:49
kira kira is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Wow, thanks so much, hissatsu! I did the graphic designing and template modding myself, but the code modifications can all be found right here (there's some custom work, but not very much). This site's taught me so much. This month we're even up for vB.com's Board of the Month contest along with four other very nice sites. You should check them all out for inspiration -- it's a great way to learn.

Anyway, I hope you have luck installing the template changes. It's pretty simple! If you need any help let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 09:39
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Originally Posted by kira View Post
Sure. It uses a background image, though, which I've attached.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Kira,

I meant to ask for the css button class of vb.org default, not the one you use (nice). Mine come out flat square. Not like the one in your demo pic or the one here which has rounded corners
sorry about it
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 13 Aug 2007, 18:43
kira kira is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I meant to ask for the css button class of vb.org default, not the one you use (nice). Mine come out flat square. Not like the one in your demo pic or the one here which has rounded corners
Oh, I feel dumb. Okay, well the form buttons here and at vbulletin.com are identical, so this is part of the default vBulletin style. If you look at the default style you'll see there's nothing in the button class that affects the edges or border - just the font. (BTW, if you've customized your style, you can recreate the default by going to your Style Manager and adding a new style -- just make sure it has no parent style.)

A look at the quantnet.org style shows that your css for the buttons is:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Remove the border and margin attributes from the "extra CSS attributes" box and you should get back to the original rounded shape.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 14 Aug 2007, 18:28
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
thanks Kira.
I had to revert the button css
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 20 Aug 2007, 02:26
PeteBlume PeteBlume is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Here you can use the TMS-XML for Template Modification System.

It's my first try with this system. I hope that everyting is ok.
Attached Files
File Type: xml templateedits-displayoption_above_thread_prefix.xml (10.2 KB, 8 views)
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 20 Aug 2007, 20:02
kira kira is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hi PeteBlume! Thanks for the addition. Can you explain what this does? I'm afraid I'm not very familiar with the TMS.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 25 Aug 2007, 10:03
Symmetrical®'s Avatar
Symmetrical® Symmetrical® is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
thnx ..
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 30 Aug 2007, 00:12
gobears20 gobears20 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
I was curious if I wanted to display this only for certain user groups?

Would I put something like this below and if so, where?

Thanks!


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 30 Aug 2007, 03:06
kira kira is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hi gobears20. Short answer: yes, that code will work if you want to hide the filtering options part of the forumdisplay. You would place the first line right after:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and the final "/if" statement would go right before:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

HOWEVER. The problem is that if you want to use the original filtering options as an alternative, things are gonna get a little complex, because this means you'll need both the original code and the changed template stuff we added in this modification, either showing or hiding each depending on the different usergroups with conditionals.

I can try to figure it out for you if you really need this to work that way. I'd need to know what specific usergroups you want to allow access to the new version, and which ones will have the original version. (Oh and also whether you're using the prefix or nonprefix version.)

Out of curiosity, why would you only want certain usergroups to have this capability? It's not that nifty, except looks-wise.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:43.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: