Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01 Jun 2012, 18:09
DetroitYES's Avatar
DetroitYES DetroitYES is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Using the same $vbulletin->options across multiple products

So, I have two products, each of which offer to make a call to bit.ly to shorten a url before tweeting to a twitter account.

For me, it would be most sensible if I could utilize the same vbulletin option in both products, rather than having to enter the same api keys twice for each.

I've noticed that $vbulletin->options seem to be independent of any product aside from existing in the products installation xml file.

Is it valid/ would there be a problem with having the code to create the same option across multiple products? -- this is assuming that they were listed under the same setting group, and same var name in each xml file for the two products?

What I'm trying to move towards is a central framework for all of my products to simplify managment.

So in abstract, lets say i have product A: atdasd & B: atdsbr and I would like to combine their common elements under the prefix atdatd...

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01 Jun 2012, 18:40
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
You could do it if you just require the mod that has the option for the second mod.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Jun 2012, 18:53
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
If the option already exists, it will simply be ignored on install.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Jun 2012, 18:55
DetroitYES's Avatar
DetroitYES DetroitYES is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Originally Posted by cellarius View Post
If the option already exists, it will simply be ignored on install.
Thank you, that is what I assumed but wanted to confirm.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Jun 2012, 18:55
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Build a product for each unique functionality that you can isolate. Make your own products dependent on it (literally add it as a dependency).

cellarius, are duplicates ignored or removed when you uninstall one of them?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Jun 2012, 19:44
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Real name: Sven
I'd have to check, but they would probably be uninstalled. That's a catch, indeed. You─re suggestion with seperate products per function is likely the way to go.
__________________
Please note that there will be no further updates to my addons, especially they will not be upgraded for vB5. I'm leaving vB, since IB choose to go the banana-way yet again.

http://www.roma-antiqua.de
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01 Jun 2012, 21:11
DetroitYES's Avatar
DetroitYES DetroitYES is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
are duplicates ignored or removed when you uninstall one of them?.
oh, man good point...
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:50.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: