Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Yet Another Ranks System Details »
Yet Another Ranks System
Mod Version: 4.1.4, by TheLastSuperman (Senior Moderator) TheLastSuperman is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.x Rating: (12 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 165
Released: 28 Jun 2011 Last Update: 30 Oct 2012 Downloads: 1299
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files Translations  

* CREATE A BACKUP OF YOUR FORUM AND DATABASE BEFORE INSTALLING !

I've had quite a few PM's in regards to this and seeing as how once upon a time I administered a gaming tournament forum it came in handy... we had virtual armies in battlefield games with Generals, LtCol's, Captains, squads of 6 and enjoyed a rank structure along with our awards so we converted the Awards mod into a Ranks mod, many also had a need for it and now we have it for 4.x. This is a complete re-write of the 4.x Yet Another Awards System by CypherSTL and Xanlamin ( http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=232684 ) with updates including one fix by another community member for the profile tabs (noted in Changelog.txt). I hope everyone enjoys it who finds a use for it .

DESCRIPTION:
This is a Medals/Ranks system. Admin can give members ranks, and rank icons will be displayed in member's profile, posts, as well as in a rank list.

FEATURES:

In AdminCP
  • Can Create/Edit/Delete/Reorder categories/sub-categories in ACP (with category name and description)
  • Can Create/Edit/Delete ranks in ACP (with Rank Name, Description, Icon URL, Image URL)
  • Can Move one (or all) rank(s) from one category to another
  • Can set some ranks un-classified (not displayed for public)
  • Can re-order ranks in ranks showcase
  • Issue ranks to members, based on username or userid, with Issue Reason
  • Remove ranks from members

In ModCP
  • Issue ranks to members, based on username or userid, with Issue Reason
  • Remove ranks from members

Front page & other
  • Display ranks list in with: Rank Name, Description, Icon, Image, and Members who get each rank.
  • Display ranks showcase in profile, with Rank information, Issue time and reason
  • Display rank icons in postbit (showthread, showpost, announcement, private)
  • Separate Rank Request/Recommendation Forms
  • CSS Customizable
  • Points System *Requires MySQL 5.0+


Attention:

If you do not properly setup this modification you will see errors such as:

Originally Posted by faraz_hamza View Post
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I am getting this error when i recommend or issue rank request?

how to fix it ?
Basically here's the short on this:
  • Edit your usergroups, for each usergroup set whether they can request and recommend ranks.
  • Setup the mod options in AdminCP > Ranks System > Rank System Settings.
  • If your having the requests or recommendations posted as a New Thread OR New Post within a existing thread please ensure that the members usergroup has permission to do so, in other words they can't post a new rank request into a private admin-only forum or a new post in a admin only thread correct? Bingo . You can create a new forum and only allow viewing to normal members .
  • If your having users requesting ranks every min or two, adjust your minimum time between posts to be one minute.
  • Try disabling the Points System, do you still have a issue?

Other issues:
  • What is the minimum version of MySQL Required?
    - The core of the ranks sytem will function on MySQL 4.1. However, in order to use the Points System you must be running at least MySQL 5.0+
  • I'm seeing output like "-- BEGIN TEMPLATE: ranks_rankusers_bit -->" before it displays members. Why?
    In your AdminCP > Settings > Options > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments = OFF
  • Styling issues? - http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...58&postcount=2
  • If you have any other issues, post them however I need to know if this was the 2nd, 3rd or 4th request, what was done before the error and if issuing to another user worked afterwords! Thanks!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	RankAdmin.png
Views:	2012
Size:	158.9 KB
ID:	130475   Click image for larger version

Name:	RankPostbit.png
Views:	3077
Size:	67.6 KB
ID:	130476   Click image for larger version

Name:	RankPrivateMessage.png
Views:	2587
Size:	94.4 KB
ID:	130477   Click image for larger version

Name:	RankProfile.png
Views:	3420
Size:	65.0 KB
ID:	130478  

Click image for larger version

Name:	RankAdmin2.png
Views:	3962
Size:	98.2 KB
ID:	130479  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Major Additions Innovative Ranks System TheLastSuperman vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 163 20 Mar 2011 10:25
Major Additions Innovative Ranks System TheLastSuperman vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 30 24 Mar 2010 23:57

  #16  
Old 28 Jun 2011, 21:42
grey_goose grey_goose is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
How configurable is the position of the ranks? I'd like to redo my usergroup/ranks as just awards, but I'm pretty adamant on how I want my postbit to appear and would want the awards to be in the same location. Doable with minor postbit editing?
Attached Images
File Type: png postbit.png (93.7 KB, 37 views)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 28 Jun 2011, 22:22
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by grey_goose View Post
How configurable is the position of the ranks? I'd like to redo my usergroup/ranks as just awards, but I'm pretty adamant on how I want my postbit to appear and would want the awards to be in the same location. Doable with minor postbit editing?
You should try using the custom css option first before editing any templates (this is located within the rank options, enable by selecting custom then either edit the rank css template or post your modified css you fabricated from the default.css file included and paste within additional.css. That way you could adjust it to suit and perhaps avoid unnecessary template editing by using css alone .

Edit: Although for us at one point in time... we displayed ranks correction Awards on the userinfo right location and displayed our military rank just below the avatar and designed to compliment it as well - just a idea if your only showcasing one rank otherwise if a display box containing a few you may not desire such changes or that location specifically, it's up to you .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 30 Jun 2011 at 22:18.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 00:38
grey_goose grey_goose is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
*facepalm*

Like "{vb:raw post.userranks}" ?

Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 00:47
grey_goose grey_goose is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I'm getting some 'extra' info:
Attached Images
File Type: png extrainfo.png (136.1 KB, 47 views)
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 03:34
grey_goose grey_goose is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Fixed that by turning off adding template names as HTML comments.

However, requests don't seem to be working:

There's some error when sending your rank request. Please contact site's administrator for assistant.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 08:42
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by grey_goose View Post
Fixed that by turning off adding template names as HTML comments.

However, requests don't seem to be working:

There's some error when sending your rank request. Please contact site's administrator for assistant.
Confirmed, will release a new version fixing requests/recommend asap although more than likely right after Monday (4th). Anyone else feel free to use the current version and simply restrict those two options in your usergroup settings until the new version is out .

Edit: Updated, reference here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...58&postcount=2
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!

Last edited by TheLastSuperman; 05 Jul 2011 at 18:15.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 09:24
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Bingo, so you can install this and use in conjunction w/ the Awards mod if your running a military or FPS gaming community etc etc same as it's been since we first converted Hachno's mod into the Ranks system pretty much, I simply used Cypher and Xan's code to make it easier on me to update since a few had requested it for 4.x .

In fact you could rename the Awards mod into well.. anything and use it like a badge/ribbon/award/rank whatever mod, it is marked as re-usable code after all .
Are there any differences between this mod and the awards mod other than the wording?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 14:14
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by Kaspersku View Post
Oh dear, it can not be installed on vbb 4.1.4
When I installed the 4.1.4 database, then it fails, I try to install on localhost, it was like, you can explain ?
It looks like the installer did not add the rank table at your database.

Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
I've only ran this on 4.1.3 and below per the info in the mod description: vB Version: 4.1.3
It shouldn't make any difference at all about the versions, mod database install wise I mean.

After taking a quick look at the xml file I noticed a few things that need correction. For example, at the below install code you have forgotten to include the TABLE_PREFIX part which has been included everywhere else. Because if a user is using a custom prefix at his/her database then it won't work. It will work only if no prefix has been used at all.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Also you are using the depricated font size all over the place. It would be better, coding wise to use <span style instead.

Also it would be better to use:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

instead of:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Other than that, great mod
__________________
My mods.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 16:32
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by borbole View Post
Also it would be better to use:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

instead of:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I noticed the install code this morning along w/ a few other misc changes, I had not noticed the above ^ .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 02 Jul 2011, 18:12
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by sticky View Post
Are there any differences between this mod and the awards mod other than the wording?
As far as revisions to code and corrections per Borbole's suggestion above and other misc changes and updates... yes, as far as functionality that would be none. So again, no need to use this unless you have a requirement to give out Awards and Ranks and the ranks should be used in a different manner other than "titles" per say as you already have a rank structure i.e. Administrator/Moderator/Member etc etc .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03 Jul 2011, 03:55
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Updated to v4.1.4 on 7/2/2011

Notes:
  • Removed some residual Awards references in snippets of the code.
  • Updated two phrases.
  • Tested and initial bug report of database error depends on settings from tests ran, please be sure to test on a site with more than one user and have the options set correctly in admincp.
  • Tested and confirmed to work on vBulletin 4.1.4.
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 03 Jul 2011, 08:03
sticky sticky is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
As far as revisions to code and corrections per Borbole's suggestion above and other misc changes and updates... yes, as far as functionality that would be none. So again, no need to use this unless you have a requirement to give out Awards and Ranks and the ranks should be used in a different manner other than "titles" per say as you already have a rank structure i.e. Administrator/Moderator/Member etc etc .
Can I change the text in this to saw "award" instead of "rank?"

If the coding is cleaner and has some fixes I would prefer to use this.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 03 Jul 2011, 22:27
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by sticky View Post
Can I change the text in this to saw "award" instead of "rank?"

If the coding is cleaner and has some fixes I would prefer to use this.
Well... it's not just a simple matter of find/replace as some would think there's many variations i.e.

Award = Rank
Awards = Ranks
award = rank
awards = ranks
aw = ra
au = ru
etc
etc
etc

So it might be easier for you to simply rename a few phrases, in that case most of it would show the wording "Award" or whatever you wish it to say... some areas in admincp may still say Ranks etc but a few changes to the phrases in the xml and you should have something working the only con to that is if you have Awards mod installed atm it might conflict and certainly won't upgrade from a previous Award mod version know what I mean? .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 06 Jul 2011, 19:24
Maischter Maischter is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
the profil menu isnt displayed correctly...??? attachment 1

and could you insert an option for postbit info placement like in attachment 2?

if im in the my ranks menu (in the profile section) i cant see the the yars menu anymore! ( attachment 3)

p.s. i have 4.1.4
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (30.6 KB, 24 views)
File Type: jpg 2.jpg (46.1 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg 3.jpg (22.9 KB, 21 views)

Last edited by Maischter; 06 Jul 2011 at 19:35.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 06 Jul 2011, 22:10
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by Maischter View Post
the profil menu isnt displayed correctly...??? attachment 1

and could you insert an option for postbit info placement like in attachment 2?

if im in the my ranks menu (in the profile section) i cant see the the yars menu anymore! ( attachment 3)

p.s. i have 4.1.4
For the first image, it seems you have a fixed width or your browser was at a certain set size due to screen resolution but the point being once you install so many mods that add tabs your going to run out of room and it will drop the others on a new line. I also assume you have "My Ranks" from this modification and "Ranks" from another mod perhaps a DB Tech mod or something to do w/ ranks as well?

Second image, sure let me see what I can whip up, about to release a update here shortly and will include that information.

Third image I'm assuming is another mod conflicting.. what else do you have installed that interacts with your postbit?
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: