Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #46  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 17:02
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
You don't need a backup, upload the 4.2.1 files then run the upgrade.php it worked for me on all my sites I tested this first on my test site to make sure it worked first

Just make sure you pick the left side option when going from 4.2.2 to 4.2.1
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 17:03
eboggs_jkvl eboggs_jkvl is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Thanks


Elmer
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 17:05
findingpeace's Avatar
findingpeace findingpeace is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Ok thanks Elmer! Will do. I'll duplicate our current forum in a test directory and run the upgrade to see how much would break.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 17:08
eboggs_jkvl eboggs_jkvl is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Originally Posted by findingpeace View Post
Ok thanks Elmer! Will do. I'll duplicate our current forum in a test directory and run the upgrade to see how much would break.

I wish I had the "smarts" to do this before I did the upgrade. I might not have multiple threads and a ticket open on here now.


Elmer

--------------- Added 10 Oct 2013 at 17:47 ---------------

Status.

I reloaded 4.2.1 back on my forum.
I lost NO post data.
I turned on my 1 product that failed because of 4.2.2
I can now upload attachments.

Let me know when 4.2.3 comes out and I'll watch from the sidelines and see if there are any repercussions from the update BEFORE I update.


Thanks to all that responded. I staying on v4.2.1 for now. I'm too old for this nonsense.

Elmer
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 19:14
meaters meaters is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Same here, this is the first time I regret a vbulletin upgrade!


Reverted back to 4.2.1 I

Thanks everyone for the help and comments.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 19:24
RedTurtle's Avatar
RedTurtle RedTurtle is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
I also upgraded to 4.2.2 without testing it first.

I usually keep a development site just for this reason but thought that this would be a minor upgrade with no major template changes so thought "**** it, lets do it live!".

A lot of things broke, including vBSEO and I also had the issue with not being able to upload attachments.

Luckily I keep daily database backups and had made one right before trying the upgrade so I dumped all the tables in my upgraded database, re-imported the 4.2.1 database and just re-uploaded the 4.2.1 files and I'm back in business on 4.2.1.

I didn't know that you could simply upload the 4.2.1 files and run the upgrade script and it would downgrade the database to 4.2.1, but that's pretty cool to know.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 20:45
Arrogant-One's Avatar
Arrogant-One Arrogant-One is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Real name: Alex
Originally Posted by eboggs_jkvl View Post
After you FTP your files to get 4.2.1 loaded again, go to
http://www.yoursitesname.com/forum/install/upgrade.php in your browser.
This worked when I first upgraded to vB 4.1.12, but is not working today. The screen just goes blank.

Again, I uploaded vB 4.2.2 to my FTP, but there does not seem to be a config.php file in the includes folder. There is a config.php.new, but not a config.php

Is that a clue. I got the 4.2.2 from the members area of vbulletin.com, downloaded it from there. So am I looking in the wrong place for the config.php file?

I figure if I ensure all plugins are deactivated by adding text to the config.php, maybe that will help, but I need to find or upload that file first.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ScreenShot of OzChess.jpg (121.4 KB, 16 views)
__________________
OzChess - Australia's Chess Forum- http://www.ozchess.com
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 21:02
eboggs_jkvl eboggs_jkvl is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Originally Posted by Arrogant-One View Post
This worked when I first upgraded to vB 4.1.12, but is not working today. The screen just goes blank.

Again, I uploaded vB 4.2.2 to my FTP, but there does not seem to be a config.php file in the includes folder. There is a config.php.new, but not a config.php

Is that a clue. I got the 4.2.2 from the members area of vbulletin.com, downloaded it from there. So am I looking in the wrong place for the config.php file?

I figure if I ensure all plugins are deactivated by adding text to the config.php, maybe that will help, but I need to find or upload that file first.
Did you reload the older version? The /install/ folder should have been deleted after your last update. The /install/ will function if you reload all of the older files, like I did to get to 4.2.1.


Also, as explained to me, vb does NOT bring a new config.php in an update. Instead they load a config.php.new so as not to overwrite a config.php that you might be using with special stuff in it. You can just create a new config.php and load the line of code in it to help solve your problems. I think it needs to go into the /includes/ folder. Most likely you have a config.php already loaded in your /includes/ folder.



Elmer

Last edited by eboggs_jkvl; 10 Oct 2013 at 21:21.
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 21:54
meaters meaters is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Delete config.php.new and replace with config.php from your 4.2.1 version.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 22:06
eboggs_jkvl eboggs_jkvl is online now
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
I don't think config.php.new is doing anything in there. My config.php had my pertinent data in it to make the forum run. The "new" file was from vb for the update and it doesn't run as far as I know. I looked at config.php.new and it has blanks in places that point to the data base, the pw to access the db, admin access (listed by ID#), bunches of stuff. I wouldn't want vb to overwrite my config.php or my board would die just for that reason alone.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 22:21
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Here is a fix for 4.2.2

In class_core.php
Line 5683 change this

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to this

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 22:31
meaters meaters is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks man...just one question will this solve problems with broken templates as well or will it just supress the error messages?

Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 22:35
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
That is for attachments fix as I don't have them other things I can't test for them. About the error messages you are getting you need to edit your php.ini file and put


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

but only if you are getting the error with the date


something like


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

--------------- Added 10 Oct 2013 at 22:44 ---------------

Originally Posted by meaters View Post
Thanks man...just one question will this solve problems with broken templates as well or will it just supress the error messages?

Thanks for your time.
can you post the error messages u are getting
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 22:50
meaters meaters is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I have a problem with bootstrap.php

Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 10 Oct 2013, 22:52
ForceHSS's Avatar
ForceHSS ForceHSS is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
That's a problem with a plugin you have. Have you got any out of date plugins you could disable all plugins then enable each one to see what one is causing the problem
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: