Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rename register.php by BOP5 Details »
Rename register.php by BOP5
Mod Version: 1.1.5, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (36 votes - 4.92 average) Installs: 272
Released: 04 May 2013 Last Update: 09 May 2013 Downloads: 943
Supported Uses Plugins Code Changes  

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5 / Qapla.com

It's great when you stop spam bots during registration but this mod gives you a chance to stop them BEFORE they even attempt to register.

I have received multiple reports from people who say their "register.php" was getting hammered with spam requests- so much so it was like a denial of service attack. Even if they disabled registration they would waste so much resources their site was slow or worse- had to be taken offline.

What this mod does is allow you to rename the register.php file- my theory is many of the vBulletin spamming bots are hard coded to look for register.php. Using a unique name will throw them off, at least for a while.

To manually change the name of register.php would have meant dozens, maybe hundreds of manual edits to files and templates previously.

This mod makes it as simple as possible. At worst you will need to edit 2 phrases and 1 file, and some people don't need to edit anything at all.

Compatible with VB 3.8.x (and 3.7, and 3.6 probably too) and all VB 4.x.x versions.

Basic Instructions
1) Import XML File
2) Go to mod settings in Admin CP
3) Rename your register.php file via FTP or some other means- make it a unique value but only use basic letters, numbers, underscores, or hyphens. Something like "joeregister999.php"
4) In the mod settings, set the value of register.php to the new file name you chose.
5) If you require email verification during registration follow the next setting in the Admin CP and edit the phrases listed (activateaccount and activateaccount_chnage phrases in Email Body)
6) Finally, if you use Facebook Connect on your forum make the manual file edit of class_bootstrap.php as instructed.

Now enjoy your new filename for register.php, I hope it reduces server load and spam in general.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

----

Note- if having problems sending activation codes or other Admin CP related activities use the solution in post #197.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	bop5_rr_settings.jpg
Views:	1332
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	144820  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #76  
Old 12 Jun 2013, 21:05
socialteenz's Avatar
socialteenz socialteenz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Real name: Arun
Working fine on 4.2.1

Thank you.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 13 Jun 2013, 04:25
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I would suggest temporarily disabling the other plugin on the hook.
I disabled all products or plugins using that hook or anything using any useradmin_edit_? hook, including vBulletin Blog. No change.

Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Maybe you got a bad copy? Try re-downloadig.
Tried that. Downloaded and re-imported. No change. It is still trying to run register.php instead of the new name.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 13 Jun 2013, 09:53
New Joe's Avatar
New Joe New Joe is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
I installed it but it didn't work.
It went to the new path I had made but instead of going to the registration page it just sent to my home page.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 17 Jun 2013, 21:26
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by New Joe View Post
I installed it but it didn't work.
It went to the new path I had made but instead of going to the registration page it just sent to my home page.
I don't understand... Perhaps the file had a slightly different name then you entered in the mod?

Do you have VBSEO installed? It should still work but that is the only way I can think you'd be sent to the homepage instead of a 404 error.

FYI (to everyone)- for those not sure if this helps, some people here said it was no help, but at least one guy found it reduced his bandwidth usage by 80%.

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum...different-name
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 17 Jun 2013, 23:28
djbaxter djbaxter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Originally Posted by djbaxter View Post
I disabled all products or plugins using that hook or anything using any useradmin_edit_? hook, including vBulletin Blog. No change.



Tried that. Downloaded and re-imported. No change. It is still trying to run register.php instead of the new name.
BOP5, any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 18 Jun 2013, 02:39
New Joe's Avatar
New Joe New Joe is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
I don't understand... Perhaps the file had a slightly different name then you entered in the mod?

Do you have VBSEO installed? It should still work but that is the only way I can think you'd be sent to the homepage instead of a 404 error.

FYI (to everyone)- for those not sure if this helps, some people here said it was no help, but at least one guy found it reduced his bandwidth usage by 80%.

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/forum...different-name
It was installed correctly, I have the vB 4 P Suite, I do have VBSEO installed.
I made the new reg path a few different things but no joy, just redirected to the home page every time...
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 19 Jun 2013, 14:08
migratoria migratoria is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Works perfectly in Vb 4.2.1 + Vbseo
Compliments!
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 21 Jun 2013, 11:45
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Originally Posted by djbaxter View Post
BOP5, any other ideas?
Short of disabling every single mod besides this one, no not really.

If all mods disabled but this- see if it works. If ti does, re-enable mods 1 by 1 until it stops working.

Originally Posted by New Joe View Post
It was installed correctly, I have the vB 4 P Suite, I do have VBSEO installed.
I made the new reg path a few different things but no joy, just redirected to the home page every time...
Well the reason you get sent to the forum homepage is because you have VBSEO. VBSEO does that for any missing page.

Your symptoms therefore are simply that of an incorrect file name. There is no logical reason if you specify xxx.php and have a file called xxx.php it shouldn't work.

Remember file names ARE case sensitive on most servers.

If you go to the URL of the new file directly, does that work? Like http://site.com/xxx.php ? If that works the file name exists and is correct. If it doesn't work the file is not correct or not uploaded to the correct location.
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 29 Jun 2013, 11:54
nhawk nhawk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Installed and working on 4.2.1. Voted for MOTM and would highly recommend this mod.

You might want to put a reminder in big bold letters to remember to rename register.php when/if someone upgrades vB. If they forget to do that after an upgrade, they will have problems.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 17 Jul 2013, 10:06
shaker2003 shaker2003 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Guys, i change register.php everywhere. but look
when i click register on main page, nothing change. when i click a have blank screen.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 17 Jul 2013, 11:13
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
In your Admin CP -> Plugin Manager, Do you have any other modifications that have a plugin on the hook replacement_vars?

If so, temporarily disable those mods and see if anything changes?
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 22 Aug 2013, 16:44
Ophelia Ophelia is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
We had to install this earlier this week due to having DDOS's all weekend. Since installation, the attacks have stopped and our server hasn't had any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 26 Aug 2013, 17:08
Bubble #5 Bubble #5 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Question

If I understand step 5 correctly, you just want us to open up activateaccount and activateaccount_change and change register.php in 3 places in each file, for a total of 6 edits? Correct?

Thanks
__________________
If we don't help each other when we can, then we're not making this world a better place.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 26 Aug 2013, 20:26
influence influence is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by Bubble #5 View Post
If I understand step 5 correctly, you just want us to open up activateaccount and activateaccount_change and change register.php in 3 places in each file, for a total of 6 edits? Correct?

Thanks
Correct
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 27 Aug 2013, 14:21
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Cool

Originally Posted by Bubble #5 View Post
If I understand step 5 correctly, you just want us to open up activateaccount and activateaccount_change and change register.php in 3 places in each file, for a total of 6 edits? Correct?

Thanks
Search your phrases for "register.php" as I found a few other locations to edit aside from the two phrases listed and one is a notice as well. This helped a URLJet client, his register.php page was being hammered and I've been recommending this to others with a similar issue regarding register.php activity.

Tips:
- If you're simply being hammered by spam then another anti-spam mod might be your best bet.
- If your register.php page is being what almost seems like ddos'd (denial of service) with so much activity that its causing issues this mod should help.

Nice idea Joe .
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:41.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: