Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 02:48
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
Trying to update to vBlog 2.0 PL1 and having issues?

EDIT: Sorry! The title should read vBLOG, not vBulletin!

I'll upload the files and when I try and go to the page, nothing comes up.

It's like nothing is there....I get a page that basically says it can't find that page. I check and blog.php is loaded in the right location, but http://forum.xxx.xxx/blog.php doesn't show up...

Now we do have vBSEO installed, so i'm wondering if it might be related to this?

Our current blog install is linked as follows: http://forums.xxx.xxx/blogs

Once I drop the new files onto the server, then try and access the blog, using the same link (/blogs or even blog.php) nothing happens....

I'm upgrading from 1.0 and according to the directions, it says to just upload the files and that's it...

Anyone know if anything I've missed?

Thanks in advance.

I'm running vBulletin 3.8.1 and vBSEO 3.2.0 btw.

Last edited by RedGTiVR6; 09 Feb 2009 at 03:11.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 03:05
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Anthony
Have you tried checking the error log for the webserver apache/iss?

If disabling vbseo via the product manager dont yield results, the next best thing is tailing the error log on the server when you visit that link.

Might want to make sure you uploaded the files in ascii and not binary, check the file permissions as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09 Feb 2009, 03:12
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
I'll check these things tomorrow night for sure. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 07:52
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
If you are having trouble with an official product, please open a support ticket or post over at the vBulletin.com forum.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 14:06
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
That's nice and all, but I know that as soon as I would do that, they would point the finger at an unsupported product that I have installed. That's why I'm trying to figure out the ACTUAL problem first. If I find out that it's something to do with vBlog its self, then I'll head on over there. I just want to be sure first.

I was trying to avoid being told to go somewhere else for help, but it looks like I didn't avoid that afterall. I love how that works.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Feb 2009, 14:08
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
To troubleshoot this, please remove any hacks and disable your plugins, then see if you still have this problem.
Note: To temporarily disable the plugin system, edit config.php and add this line right under <?php

define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);

If so, reupload all the original vB non-image files (except install.php). Make sure you upload these in ASCII format and overwrite the ones on the server.

If your problem still exists, please create a new Style with no Parent set. Now browse the forum using this new style, do you still have the same problems? If you are troubleshooting login or guest issues, you will need to set this style as board default in the vBulletin Options.

If your problem stil exists after this, then post on vB.com as your problem is not related to a modification.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27 Feb 2009, 00:04
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
This appears to be an issue beyond a compatibility issue with a plug-in I'm afraid.

I've disabled all plug-ins except for the Blog plug-in, I still get the error. I've added the code to config.php, I still get the error. I've created a new style and checked it using that style, I still get the error. I have not tried uploading the files again, but I'm not sure that would fix the problem considering the type of error I'm actually getting.

When I try to go to the Blog page, I get a page telling me that there's been a DB error, but nothing telling me exactly what the DB error is.

When I then go to my profile page, I get the following DB error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27 Feb 2009, 13:01
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Hanson
It looks like some kind of (corrupted, maybe?) DB table. If you have disabled all products except for the blog, and this error still occurs, you should definitely open a ticket.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

View My Modifications
29 Releases and Counting... Latest Modification: dmActivityStream - vBookie Integration (4.x)

Please do not PM me to ask for support - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27 Feb 2009, 16:19
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
Thanks - I've posted over there, but I think I'll just go ahead and initiate opening a ticket too.
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: