Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Resize large [IMG] images and link them to original Details »
Resize large [IMG] images and link them to original
Mod Version: 1.01, by nsanden (Member) nsanden is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.1 Rating: (4 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 38
Released: 26 Sep 2006 Last Update: Never Downloads: 16
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes Is in Beta Stage  

This mod should resize [IMG] images wider than 'max_width' and link them to their original size. Not very well tested, i'm hoping for some feedback/suggestions. I have tested in firefox/IE latest versions and it seems to work fine. Should be a pretty quick install.

INSTALL:

1) Edit /includes/class_bbcode.php around line 1879 for me.

Look for:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2) Add the following to the headinclude template.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Thread Enhancements Auto Resize large images in an IMG tag mr.gamesbay vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 38 28 Sep 2010 11:04
Forum Display Enhancements Auto Resize large images in an IMG tag mr.gamesbay vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 145 13 Feb 2009 17:04
Auto Resize large images in an IMG tag mr.gamesbay vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 39 16 Dec 2008 16:47

  #46  
Old 30 Sep 2006, 11:01
newbe_haselina newbe_haselina is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Originally Posted by PersianImmortal
/EDIT: OK, I just included another else if statement and modified the first two statements. This should cover all situations. Note however that it can distort images which are both wide and tall - that is it will force an image which is both wider and taller than the maximums to be resized to be exactly the height and width of the maximums. This shouldn't be a huge problem, since people can click on the image to see the original in its proper shape. And usually most images are either too wide or too tall, not both.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
Thanks for your very fast help, I just included the code changes, but unfortunately it doesn't seem to have any impact on "my thread" ... the images which are to high haven't been resized ... I just changes the width from 500 to 400, all the rest is copied from your code ... :cross-eyed: ... I'm afraid I do something wrong ...

EDIT: It's funny ... in some other threads in my forum the images are resized in width AND hight, only in the thread I posted it doesn't seem to work ... ??

Last edited by newbe_haselina; 30 Sep 2006 at 11:10.
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 30 Sep 2006, 11:43
PersianImmortal PersianImmortal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Try again, I just updated the code while you were testing it. Check my previous post. I missed some basic checks and I had to fix some things. Make sure to copy and paste the entire new code over your existing one in headinclude. It should work properly now.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 30 Sep 2006, 11:48
newbe_haselina newbe_haselina is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Hmm, just overwrote it again ... but please have a look http://www.auftrab.de/Forum/showthread.php?t=336 ... in the first thread it's ok, in the second one nothing happend ...

but anyway ... thanks a lot for your help ...
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 30 Sep 2006, 11:50
PersianImmortal PersianImmortal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Looks to be working fine for me - make sure to press CTRL+F5 on your browser to refresh all the code which is being displayed. Also which browser are you using? It works for me in Internet Explorer 7 and Firefox.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 30 Sep 2006, 11:56
newbe_haselina newbe_haselina is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Thanks a lot, that may be the issue ... I'm in the office and there we have IE 6.0 ... :-) ... thanks for your help :-)
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 30 Sep 2006, 12:02
PersianImmortal PersianImmortal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
No, you're right, I just checked your page and it works in Firefox, but not in IE7 - the second set of pictures are not resized for some reason.

On my site however it seems to work, here is a thread from my site which has it working: http://forums.tweakguides.com/showthread.php?t=4535

Note that I edited my post on the bottom of the first page to include the same images again, and as you can see both the top set of images and bottom set of images should be working (at least they are for me in Firefox and IE7).

So maybe there's something in particular about your forums which is causing this? Any feedback from others will also be helpful.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 30 Sep 2006, 12:17
newbe_haselina newbe_haselina is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
You're right, I just tested it with the Mozilla/Firefox Browser, and it works perfectly :cross-eyed:

Hmmmm, hopefully most of my users use Mozilla ... but anyway, even if it doen't work 100% with IE, it's an improvment for my community
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 30 Sep 2006, 21:14
principino1984 principino1984 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Marco Dominici
I found out why this hack is not working on my forum...

this is what I see with IE:



and as I click on the image... see the url:




Well, this is the problem, when this hack tries to resize the picture, it changes the url and thats why the image "disappear" on firefox..

can you help me?

thanks a lot

Marco
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 01 Oct 2006, 03:43
PersianImmortal PersianImmortal is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
For the code I've posted on the previous page, I've tested it in Firefox 1.5.0.7 and Firefox 2 RC1, as well as Internet Explorer 7 and it doesn't seem to have any problems at all, working perfectly on my forum (see test link further above).

All I can suggest is that you follow the instructions to edit your class_bbcode.php file first, then try using the original code for the hack to see if it works, then try replacing it with my code instead and see if it works.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 01 Oct 2006, 08:56
principino1984 principino1984 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Marco Dominici
where do I find those instruction... cause the hack is workin right i think, but it still write me the url like this:

http://yurlmyforum/http://imageurl

where do I have to chage to make it ok?

Marco
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 02 Oct 2006, 20:07
nsanden nsanden is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Ah I see. Well the screen shots help, but I really need to view the page myself (so I can view the source).

Originally Posted by principino1984
I found out why this hack is not working on my forum...

this is what I see with IE:



and as I click on the image... see the url:




Well, this is the problem, when this hack tries to resize the picture, it changes the url and thats why the image "disappear" on firefox..

can you help me?

thanks a lot

Marco
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 02 Oct 2006, 20:35
principino1984 principino1984 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Marco Dominici
i think the problem is VBSEO that rewrite all the links... right now i've just installed another hack, but If it helps you for the support for the other guy I can post you my headinclude or just tell me what do you need

Marco
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 02 Oct 2006, 20:39
nsanden nsanden is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
If you can link me to the thread in your screen shot that should be all i need. Of course if you installed another image resize hack and uninstalled mine, I won't be able to figure out the problem Up to you, my guess is you are right, its just another hack conficting with it.

Originally Posted by principino1984
i think the problem is VBSEO that rewrite all the links... right now i've just installed another hack, but If it helps you for the support for the other guy I can post you my headinclude or just tell me what do you need

Marco
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 12 Oct 2006, 11:53
GoNz00 GoNz00 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
seems to be working fine here, the "other" image tag resizer lagged the forum to hell and back, may have been the .js file included. normal speed resumed with this one
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 12 Oct 2006, 16:57
egelforum egelforum is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Anyone with vB 3.6.2 around? I can't get to work ANY of this image resize addons. Not even one. They just don't do anything. I think the cause is an incompatibility with 3.6.2.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:01.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: