Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 03:35
Frank H. Shaw Frank H. Shaw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
registration image on register,php image goes not refresh

I have taken it upon my self to change the name of the register.php page and I changed all references to the page in the templets by seraching through the all templets looking for the text string register.php. {to stop spam}

Everything seems to work just fine except the registration image which when you click on the link under the registration image you get the little spin indactor spinning but the actual image never gets changed. It seems the ony way to change the registration image text in the registration image box or window on the page is to refresh the register.php in the browser.

Please note I change the register.php to something like registerxx.php.

I am using version VB 3.6.8 with PHP 5.2.3 and MYSQL 5.0.45


THANKS

Frank H. Shaw
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 03:36
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
Instead of going thru all that trouble as i'm sure you'll need to change items on the register.php page, and inside javascript files, install more spam prevention measures such as reCaptcha, isBot and/or other methods to stop spam dead in its tracks
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 03:43
Frank H. Shaw Frank H. Shaw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I have everything working but the image refreshing what does the image use to refresh its self can you explain where one will look for that information?

THANKS
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 03:44
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
I'm not sure where, but I'd imagine its some where in one of the javascript files (inside the clientscript folder) that handles the refreshing of the image since it seems to be handled via ajax
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 04:07
Frank H. Shaw Frank H. Shaw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I found the file in clientscript folder vbulletin_ajax_imagereg and looked through it looking for a reference to the register.php but did not find any such reference. I did see the refresh part in the ajax - so what i think i am looking for is how does the register.php keep track of the current page so when the refresh happens it updates the register.php.

is it stored in some header or what?

Maybe in a session varable but i do not know how vb tracks these things I hope someone has a idea as to where I might find this information?

For example the "forumhome" i see that a .php is added to the end of this in register.php so one can ask how does that value get loaded or set in the first place if I changed the name of the file and if the image uses the formhome when it does a refresh the value in the forumhome would not reflex the name of the file being changed.

This I would think might be related to the problem i might be seeing - so i need to ask how is this value set in what script might i find this and how is this used?

THANKS

Frank H. Shaw


THANKS

Last edited by Frank H. Shaw; 18 Nov 2008 at 04:46.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 05:06
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Did you leave the line at the top of the register.php page where THIS_SCRIPT is defined alone? If you changed that, you may have some other problems too.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 05:09
Frank H. Shaw Frank H. Shaw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I will list the changes I made in the templetes and maybe you have some other places I might have missed in my lack of knowledge of VB as whole.

Activateform
<form action="registerxx.php?do=activate" method="post">

<phrase 1="registerxx.php?$session[sessionurl]do=requestemail">$vbphrase[you_lost_activation_code_or_username]</phrase>

activate_requestemail

<form action="registerxx.php?do=emailcode" method="post">

FORUMHOME
<phrase 1="faq.php$session[sessionurl_q]" 2="registerxx.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[first_visit_message]</phrase>

Modifyprofile
<form action="registerxx.php?do=coppaform" method="post">

Navbar

<td class="vbmenu_control"><a href="registerxx.php$session[sessionurl_q]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[register]</a></td>

Register

<form action="registerxx.php?do=addmember" name="register" method="post" onsubmit="return verify_passwords(password, passwordconfirm);">

register_rules

<form action="registerxx.php?do=register" method="post">

<phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]" 2="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]" 3="registerxx.php?$session[sessionurl]do=coppaform" 4="$vboptions[webmasteremail]">$vbphrase[coppa_rules_description]</phrase>

register_verify_age

<form action="registerxx.php?do=checkdate" method="post" onsubmit="return checkform(this)">

STANDARD_ERROR

<div class="smallfont"><phrase 1="registerxx.php?$session[sessionurl]do=signup">$vbphrase[admin_required_register]</phrase></div>

STANDARD_ERROR_LITE

<div class="smallfont"><phrase 1="registerxx.php?$session[sessionurl]do=signup">$vbphrase[admin_required_register]</phrase></div>

STANDARD_ERROR_LOGIN

<div class="smallfont"><phrase 1="registerxx.php?$session[sessionurl]do=signup">$vbphrase[admin_required_register]</phrase></div>

Looking above did I have to change any place other then what i have done above

THANKS

Frank H. Shaw

--------------- Added 18 Nov 2008 at 05:14 ---------------

Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Did you leave the line at the top of the register.php page where THIS_SCRIPT is defined alone? If you changed that, you may have some other problems too.
I did change this line to

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'registerxx');

What does this line do I have tried changing this line back to the way it was

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'register');

It does not fix the image verification problem - either way i set it?

what does this do?

--------------- Added 18 Nov 2008 at 05:21 ---------------

Until I know more about the

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'register');

I will keep it set to the orginal script

So what kind of problems can i have if i change that line?

what does it do?

THANKS

Last edited by Frank H. Shaw; 18 Nov 2008 at 05:41. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 05:21
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I'll assume you got all the places in the templates - it's pretty easy to do a search of those files. However, 'register.php' is used several times in the php files (6 times in 3.7.3) and then 'register' is also used several times (223 times). Those are going to be the harder ones to track down because in some places they are talking about the name of the php page, other times the word defined as THIS_SCRIPT, other times it's a switch that may or may not be related to the page name, and who knows what the other times are. You will need to go through most of those and figure out if you need to change it or not.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 05:26
Frank H. Shaw Frank H. Shaw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Are any related to the image verifation because that is the only thing that does not work ?

It is the refreshing of the actaul image that i can not figure out the rest of my register.php under a another name works just fine as I tested it every place i could find.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 05:26
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
I have no idea. I wasn't about to go through all of them.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 05:38
Frank H. Shaw Frank H. Shaw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
I am sorry I was not asking for that!

But should I keep the

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'register');

or

define('THIS_SCRIPT', 'registerxx');

is it safe to change?

please explain?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 05:56
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
You should be able to keep the script named as 'register'

That's only used for conditionals, however if you changed anything that looked like "THIS_SCRIPT == register" to "THIS_SCRIPT == registerxx" then you'll also need to update the define function at the top of the register.php to registerxx

Also, you can use a free program such as Crimson Editor, that will search thru all the vBulletin files, for any reference to "register" and tell you the file and line number it appears on, that may help you some as well.

After that, I've honestly not much idea if changing the javascript around didn't help
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 17:57
Frank H. Shaw Frank H. Shaw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Could you plaese give me a link to the Crimson Editor

Thank you for both the information the Crimson Editor and the

"THIS_SCRIPT == register" that will be a big help in understanding.

Now about the session verables or what would be used when the image refreshes its self.

registration image or force a refresh on the page it that point when the user selects the link.

THANKS

Frank H. Shaw
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 19:27
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
These are the lines listed in the source code on that page in regards to the image:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So, you will have to look at the javascript for it.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18 Nov 2008, 19:50
Frank H. Shaw Frank H. Shaw is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
This call the image code which I have not touched in any way but what cause the refresh of the image or refresh of the page? What file in the above script did you get this code since this line

vB_AJAX_ImageReg_Init();

is not in register.php file - what file did you get this from if you do not mind me asking?

I can only assume itis a return from a function.

One could ask is there a place where the link you select on under the image triggers a call to update the image.

Also as I said before the refesh of the page {register.php} seems to cause the image to allso change its letters in the image.

If i could understand that the place where the register.php calls whet maybe I might be closer to answreing my questions may self. But up to now I do not see where that is happening?

THANKS

Frank H. Shaw
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: