Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Sidebar Anywhere (Formerly Sidebar for Activity Stream) by BOP5 Details »
Sidebar Anywhere (Formerly Sidebar for Activity Stream) by BOP5
Mod Version: 2.2.0, by BirdOPrey5 (IB Staff) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2020 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (40 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 366
Released: 22 May 2012 Last Update: 06 Dec 2012 Downloads: 2406
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

Brought to you by BirdOPrey5
www.Qapla.com


Version 2.2.0

The new Activity Stream for VB 4.2.0 is very nice but it feels like it is missing something- and what it is missing is a sidebar. Ideally at some point VB will release a custom sidebar built just for the Activity Stream but until then this quick mod will let you use the built in forum sidebar on the Activity Stream.

As of version 2.0 besides just working on the Activity Stream the mod can now add a sidebar to ANY vBulletin page including forums, threads, groups, albums, who's online, forum leaders, and more. In fact you can easily add the sidebar even to custom pages from custom mods.

New Features
  • Now works on ANY vBulletin Page (except blogs which have their own sidebar)
  • Option to align sidebar with page content or top of page
  • Option to Disable Sidebar Collapse Option (By Usergroup in 2.1.0)
  • Collapsed sidebar state now "remembered" on different pages
  • Option to enable Sidebar by Usergroup
  • Option to disable Sidebar by Forum (if enabled for forums/threads)
  • Option to disable Sidebar in specific styles
  • Options to disable sidebars if mobile devices detected*

NOTE: To enable mobile device detection options you must install the Mobile Browser Detector mod.

Live Demo: Qapla.com Activity Stream

You can enable or disable the Sidebar Anywhere independently of the forum sidebar but they will both display the same content (blocks.)

NEW - If you need to have different blocks on different pages check out this add-on.

You must have at least 1 block setup and active for the sidebar to show.

Unlike most of my other mods this mod is enabled by default upon installation. Be default it is setup to show only on the Activity Stream and register.php pages.

I am aware there is already a mod out there "Everywhere Sidebar" by another coder. This is completely different code and I made this because my "Staff Online Sideblock" mod did not work on Sidebar Everywhere but it does work on this mod.

This mod requires at least VB 4.2.0 to work on the Activity Stream but should work on older VB 4.x.x versions on other pages.

Full view of admin cp options: http://www.qapla.com/mods/ss/sidebar...tings_full.jpg.

The old version Zip file Sidebar for Activity Stream by BOP5 v11.zip works only on the Activity Stream.

PLEASE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS INCLUDED WITH THIS MOD- THEY ANSWER MOST OF THE QUESTIONS ABOUT HOW TO USE IT.

------------------------------------------------------

Please "Mark as Installed" if you use this.
Donations always appreciated.
Nominate MOTM if you LOVE it!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sidebar_anywhere_activity.jpg
Views:	3919
Size:	148.5 KB
ID:	139528   Click image for larger version

Name:	sidebar_anywhere_forumdisplay.jpg
Views:	3597
Size:	126.4 KB
ID:	139529  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Cel Forum Sidebar: enable sidebar for IE 6, disable collapsing cellarius vBulletin 4.x Add-ons 17 25 Jan 2016 13:57
Top Activity List for Activity Modification WetWired vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 5 31 Oct 2007 21:00

  #346  
Old 21 Sep 2014, 20:49
Disco_Stu's Avatar
Disco_Stu Disco_Stu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Originally Posted by jrw422dx View Post
LOL forgive my brain deadness. I assume its with this Mod then yes I would like to know how.

Jon
Actually the right sidebar is using this mod. It's a forum HTML block I created.

The left widget is a CMS Static HTML widget that I created. I added a very simple plugin to allow it to be displayed on any page. I also added the fade in/out logic in the header template.

If you wish to use my approach then you need CMS and a willingness to change your templates and some other stuff. Otherwise ask the creator of this mod if he would be willing to provide an enhancement to allow dual sidebars using his approach. I asked but did not receive an answer so I just did it my way.
Reply With Quote
  #347  
Old 21 Sep 2014, 21:47
jrw422dx jrw422dx is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Ok thanks. Maybe BOP5 will respond. Thanks for the info.
Jon
Reply With Quote
  #348  
Old 01 Oct 2014, 12:52
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I love this mod and do not want to disable it, but it is causing a glitch in another (much loved and Very needed) mod.

The gist of it is, when I used Canned Replies with this mod (version 4.1.5), this mod causes the images in canned replies to display as a link instead of as an image. However, when I shut off the sidebar in the exact same forum and try again, the image displays properly.

I've posted the full details in the other mod thread:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...39#post2517239

Any thoughts on what might cause that?
Reply With Quote
  #349  
Old 30 Oct 2014, 15:57
AvalonSM AvalonSM is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Thanks a lot for the mod!!! The only thing - i can not find where i can change top position of side bar, need to shift it for 10 px down. Can somebody advise?
Reply With Quote
  #350  
Old 23 Feb 2015, 18:40
Emad ELsayed's Avatar
Emad ELsayed Emad ELsayed is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful product
Reply With Quote
  #351  
Old 03 Apr 2015, 19:25
Jonm Jonm is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
is this working for everyone?

Suddenly mine is messed up and I've not change or added anything for months...

check it out - http://www.staffs-vw.co.uk/
__________________
www.staffs-vw.co.uk - Jon-Morgan.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #352  
Old 03 Apr 2015, 19:32
Jonm Jonm is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
actually update - I disabled this mod and it now works... for somereason this mod was messing up vBulletins own sidebar
__________________
www.staffs-vw.co.uk - Jon-Morgan.co.uk
Reply With Quote
  #353  
Old 03 Apr 2015, 21:42
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Has the version of PHP changed on your server? If so, what are you on now?
__________________
-Joe
Former vb.org Moderator. Retired.

@BirdOPrey5 | All Things BOP5 | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I no longer making new VB mods, sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #354  
Old 15 May 2015, 15:48
thenicehorizon thenicehorizon is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
working great
thank you very much
Reply With Quote
  #355  
Old 15 May 2015, 17:46
Vintum Vintum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
This is not working for me on 4.2.2 pl4. I've set it to enabled and have chosen the options for the pages I want it displayed on. How would I got about troubleshooting this?

I'm noticing in the options that it only have the option to disable it one one style, the default style. I have two other styles installed that it is not picking up on. Might this be the issue? But also to note that it still does not load the sidebar even on default style.

I currently have two side blocks active.

Last edited by Vintum; 15 May 2015 at 17:54.
Reply With Quote
  #356  
Old 20 May 2015, 00:14
AusPhotography's Avatar
AusPhotography AusPhotography is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Real name: Rick-owner, Kym-admin
Works for us on vB4.2.3RC1 on PHP 5.5 (ad it ran on vB4.2.2pl4 previously).

Check the upload files etc. are in the right place
__________________
www.AusPhotography.net.au a.k.a. AP is a photography forum where members share their photography, photo editing skills and techniques. We run regular photographic competitions; Rick (site owner) and Kym (site tech) using this account
*** Home of the AP fully comprehensive vb4 photographic competition management solution ***
Reply With Quote
  #357  
Old 20 May 2015, 03:43
Vintum Vintum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
There is nothing in the folder to upload. I've gone through all the settings and tried turning things on and off to no avail.
Not sure if php version would be the issue, but my server is running 5.3.
Reply With Quote
  #358  
Old 25 May 2015, 22:32
M.Rizk M.Rizk is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
I would like to change the width to 325 so that I can add ads there in a block. I edited the forum_sidebar_width from the stylevar but it's only affecting the sidebar when showing on the forum display, never inside topics.
Reply With Quote
  #359  
Old 09 Jun 2015, 02:38
deltahawk5 deltahawk5 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Originally Posted by Vintum View Post
I'm noticing in the options that it only have the option to disable it one one style, the default style. I have two other styles installed that it is not picking up on. Might this be the issue? But also to note that it still does not load the sidebar even on default style.
Second this. Did you figure out a way around it?
Reply With Quote
  #360  
Old 09 Jun 2015, 03:16
Vintum Vintum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Originally Posted by deltahawk5 View Post
Second this. Did you figure out a way around it?
Nope, never got it to work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:56.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: