Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Give Moderators ModCP Link In Footer Details »
Give Moderators ModCP Link In Footer
Mod Version: 1.00, by LightScribe (Member) LightScribe is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 14
Released: 09 Dec 2007 Last Update: Never Downloads: 4
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

I just spoke to one of my moderators today and found out that by default in vBulletin the ModCP link doesn't show up in the footer for them. It shows up next to the AdminCP link for Administrators but if the user isn't an administrator they cannot see it.

This is just a very quick template modification for you to use if you want it to be visible for all moderators (and administrators).

Template Edit (1)

In Template "footer", find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace With:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I don't know why vBulletin hides it from them by default, and I haven't seen an option in the ACP to enable or disable it.

I hope this little modification helps at least one person.

Screenshot
Attachment 73098

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	ModCPlink.jpg
Views:	423
Size:	61.3 KB
ID:	73098  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
ModCP Link for Moderators Andreas vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 7 24 Jul 2006 08:43

Comments
  #2  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 03:53
LightScribe's Avatar
LightScribe LightScribe is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Michael
Reserved, although this isn't the sort of mod likely to need updates.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 05:04
yahoooh yahoooh is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
is this not default in vbulletin?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 05:32
LightScribe's Avatar
LightScribe LightScribe is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Michael
Nope. Try logging in as a moderator account and see for yourself.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 07:53
ssslippy's Avatar
ssslippy ssslippy is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Normally only supermods and higher can the mod cp link. Dont ask me why.
__________________
Immortal Guild - My Guilds Website
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 07:55
Millenium IT's Avatar
Millenium IT Millenium IT is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
This belongs in the vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications catagory
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 12:34
mokonzi's Avatar
mokonzi mokonzi is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Nice work LightScribe. It's been driving me up the wall this problem, glad it was such a simple solution. Let's hope vB includes an option in 3.7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 14:13
DssCrazy DssCrazy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Does this mod give a regular mod the same cp as a super mod?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 14:18
DssCrazy DssCrazy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I hope this get fixed by vb, because, this should be in the vb forums by defalt, if a admin gives a regular member mod rights then thay would be a staff, and thay would not be a staff if thay were not trusted! so why is it hided?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 20:29
johnrizz's Avatar
johnrizz johnrizz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Originally Posted by DssCrazy View Post
Does this mod give a regular mod the same cp as a super mod?
No...

How I got around this in the first place was to go into Mod Usergroup and check Can Moderate All Forums (is Super Moderator) at Administrator Permissions this would show the MOD link at bottom, then go into Forums & Moderators >>Show All Moderators>> then pick & choose what power you like them to have...
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09 Dec 2007, 23:14
Spank Spank is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Mark
Apparently it's not on vB by default because it adds a query for ever user.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10 Dec 2007, 10:03
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
As Spank already replied, this is left out of the default vBulletin because it adds queries to every single page load. Adding this can have a negative impact on the performance of your board.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11 Dec 2007, 10:45
LightScribe's Avatar
LightScribe LightScribe is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Real name: Michael
Originally Posted by DssCrazy View Post
Does this mod give a regular mod the same cp as a super mod?
You choose the permissions that show up in the ModCP using the Moderator Manager section of your ACP. You can grant ability to ban, edit signatures, prune, move ect ect.

Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden View Post
As Spank already replied, this is left out of the default vBulletin because it adds queries to every single page load. Adding this can have a negative impact on the performance of your board.
But how much more strenuous is the if condition="can_moderate()" query than the if condition="$show['modcplink']", since this replaces the latter with the former?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11 Dec 2007, 14:15
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
I have all my mods set as super mods anyways.
If I had a board setup that had mods that could only mod selected forums, I don't know if I'd want them to have access to the modcp.

just my 2 cents
__________________

Email me for website help: brandon[at]sheley[dot]org
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11 Dec 2007, 17:17
Triky's Avatar
Triky Triky is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: [Italy]
Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden View Post
As Spank already replied, this is left out of the default vBulletin because it adds queries to every single page load. Adding this can have a negative impact on the performance of your board.
Oh.
I didn't know this. Thank you, Marco.
__________________
I'm italian, I am learning english.. so, please, if you see any errors in my grammar or spelling, let me know via PM. Danke!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:35.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: