Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Security Password for Admincp Hacks Details »
Security Password for Admincp Hacks
Mod Version: 1.00, by AnhTuanCool (Member) AnhTuanCool is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2006 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.3 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 16
Released: 10 Oct 2004 Last Update: Never Downloads: 90
Not Supported Is in Beta Stage  

Security Password for Admincp Hacks
by AnhTuanCool

Quick Stats:
Version 1.0.2
Tested full functionally on vBulletin 3.0.3
Time to install: no more than 2 min
File to edit: 4
Template to edit: None
Query to run: None

What this hack does:
Add an additional Password for ACP which is only known by insiders if intentional or unintentional someone could get your current account and do the bad things to your board, this password is assign to all current administrator and only can be changed by the superadministrator*.

Updated:
Upgrade from v1.0.0
Fixed bug that not allow normal member to login

Install:
I had includes the installation file so that you don't have to move much which is always discourage people with long instruction. Included the installation file, download and upload the two files onto your forumroot/admincp/ directory, run the file acppassword_install.php from your admincp and follow it closely.

Disclaimer:
Of course do not forget to back-up your file before uploading it.
Do NOT stop the installation while it isn't finished yet, this can cause you more trouble.

*Be a superadministrator
If you are the webmaster of your site, then you probably can use FTP or another way - edit the source code, you will need to edit the $superadministrators variable in the includes/config.php file to be a superadministrator or you can add some of trusted people, in order to reset this password.

To allow the administrators to access this page, edit the variable to include the user IDs of those administrators should have access, separating each user ID with a comma, like this:

$superadministrators = '1,25,57';

To allow only a single administrator to access this page, simply add that user's ID with no commas, like this:

$superadministrators = '1';

Note: This hack assigns the security password for all current administrators, so if you set someone to administrator, you will have to reset the password in order to allow him to ACP.

Screenshots:
Attachment

NOTE: INSTALL as your OWN risk. This hack has a serious side-effect on the login function. I'll try to fix it as soon as I can.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	s1.jpg
Views:	463
Size:	135.1 KB
ID:	21130   Click image for larger version

Name:	s2.jpg
Views:	413
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	21131   Click image for larger version

Name:	s3.jpg
Views:	521
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	21132  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Administrative and Maintenance Tools Password Security Tools John vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 55 29 Nov 2012 09:29
Password Security Andreas vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 41 31 Dec 2009 14:37

Comments
  #2  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 15:09
BarHopper BarHopper is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Very good, i like this one
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 15:28
Oblivion Knight's Avatar
Oblivion Knight Oblivion Knight is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Andy
So this would be like having a HTACCESS password, but within vBulletin itself?

Could the same be applied to the modcp?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 16:54
d7me4ever's Avatar
d7me4ever d7me4ever is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Saudi Arabia
Real name: Abdull Rahman
Thanx

Nice hack

good jop

bay
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 19:59
AnhTuanCool's Avatar
AnhTuanCool AnhTuanCool is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Real name: Tom
Originally Posted by Oblivion Knight
So this would be like having a HTACCESS password, but within vBulletin itself?

Could the same be applied to the modcp?
This COULD be applied to the modcp, just do the install one time for both

But only in admincp you can reset the password.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 21:17
Blam Forumz's Avatar
Blam Forumz Blam Forumz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Could just apply HTACCESS
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 21:20
yukayumi yukayumi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Could not find the "if (!verify_authentication($username, $password, $md5password, $md5password_utf, true))" in my login.php file

Get stuck here! I wonder if someone has the same problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 21:31
AnhTuanCool's Avatar
AnhTuanCool AnhTuanCool is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Real name: Tom
To yakayumi - it IS in there(login.php), did you install another hack that involved this line. Check the attachment out first.
Attached Images
File Type: png s4.png (27.1 KB, 104 views)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 21:37
AnhTuanCool's Avatar
AnhTuanCool AnhTuanCool is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Real name: Tom
Originally Posted by Blam Forumz
Could just apply HTACCESS
It's hard for some people.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 21:50
PitchouneN64ngc's Avatar
PitchouneN64ngc PitchouneN64ngc is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Yves
Thumbs up

Yeah, great hack, using same password encoding like vB3 passwords

* PitchouneN64ngc clicks install ^^
__________________
Administrator of http://forum.vbulletin-fr.org/

vBulletin QA Engineer / Lead Project Tools Developer
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 21:54
yukayumi yukayumi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Really don't remember if I had made any changes to this file before.It's supposed to be there like in your screenshot but mine is different.Please take a look and tell me what to do.Should I hit the back button and uninstall this script? I'm afraid I won't be able to login my admincp if get stuck in the middle of the installation here.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg screen.JPG (109.2 KB, 97 views)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 21:57
PitchouneN64ngc's Avatar
PitchouneN64ngc PitchouneN64ngc is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Yves
What is your version of vBulletin you using? For vB 3.0.3, all is good
__________________
Administrator of http://forum.vbulletin-fr.org/

vBulletin QA Engineer / Lead Project Tools Developer
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 22:03
AnhTuanCool's Avatar
AnhTuanCool AnhTuanCool is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Real name: Tom
To yukayumi -

Replace your lines from 156 to 158 with:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 22:23
yukayumi yukayumi is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Mine is vbb 3.0.1,maybe that's why there's alot of error out there.Could not find the code between those <!-- login fields --> in my adminfunctions.php file.I guess it's not compatible with 3.0.1 though.What should I do?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 10 Oct 2004, 22:30
AnhTuanCool's Avatar
AnhTuanCool AnhTuanCool is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Real name: Tom
In adminfunctions.php, SELECT BETWEEN the two <!-- login fields --> and <!-- /login fields --> line, and do the replacement, good luck
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: