Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
reCAPTCHA v2 Human Verification Details »
reCAPTCHA v2 Human Verification
Mod Version: 1.0.0, by kh99 (Senior Member) kh99 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2017 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (16 votes - 4.81 average) Installs: 95
Released: 11 Dec 2014 Last Update: 22 Feb 2015 Downloads: 731
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations  

(Note: This mod was renamed. The original name was "New reCAPTCHA Human Verification")

What is it?
----------------------------
This mod adds reCAPTCHA v2 as an option in the Human Verification Manager.

Note: The original reCAPTCHA used default keys if you didn't enter your own, so you could leave the key fields blank. This version requires you to have your own keys for your domain. To create them, go to this page (click on the "Get reCAPTCHA" button). It can take a short time after creating the keys before they will work, so if you get "ERROR: Invalid domain for site key", wait a while and try again.

vb4 version is here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=315960

Installation:
----------------------------
1) Upload the file in the "upload" folder to your server.

2) Import the product XML file from the Product Manager.

3) If you don't already have keys, go to this page and create keys for your domain. (If you already have keys you can get them from that page as well).

4) Go to Settings > Human Verification Manager, select "New reCAPTCHA" for the Verification Library, and click Save.

5) Enter your keys on the options page, and select the light or dark widget as desired (apparently white and black are the only options at this time). You could select "Audio" to default to audio instead of image for the challenge, but the widget seems to have a bug in it at the moment so I recommend leaving it set to "image". Click Save when you're done selecting options.

6) You can check the configuration and do a test by clicking on "Click here to test connection" which appears under the description in the Human Verification Manager.

7) Do a test registration (or other action that requires hv) to test that your keys are entered correctly and everything is working.

8) If you are upgrading from version 0.9, you can remove the file includes/class_humanverify_newrecaptcha.php (the one without the third underscore) from your server.

History:
----------------------------
1.0 (Feb 22, 2015)
  • Cached template (required renaming the uploaded file from
    class_humanverify_newrecaptcha.php to class_humanverify_new_recaptcha.php)
  • Removed default keys (which didn't work anyway)
  • Removed trademark symbols
  • Changed execution order of plugins from 5 to 4, to make sure this product
    works with another HV add-on that has a bug.
  • If "New reCAPTCHA" is selected when this mod is uninstalled, the hv library
    is switched to 'disabled'.
  • Added a test option to print out more information about verification failures

0.9 (Dec 11, 2014)
  • Initial Release

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sg2.jpg
Views:	678
Size:	109.0 KB
ID:	151270   Click image for larger version

Name:	sg1.png
Views:	402
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	151944  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 05 Dec 2017, 02:52
BGObsession's Avatar
BGObsession BGObsession is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I hear you. I found this discussion first and several folks were discussing vB4 version in this thread. I know how to install a mod Sorry - found the references to different lines that required editing in both mod threads (both lines 8 and 14 were referenced) confusing. I decided not to bother with updating Recaptcha at all and am just going with a couple of quiz questions.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 06 Dec 2017, 15:32
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Gotha,

I didn't need to make any edits to line 8 but I'm still using PHP 5.6.x. Can't be sure it isn't different on PHP7.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 30 Dec 2017, 18:59
imported_silkroad imported_silkroad is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Worked fine with vB 3.8.4
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 16 Apr 2018, 00:14
TheBang TheBang is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I've repackaged this add-on into a 1.0.1 version, which you can download below. The main change is incorporating the required PHP fix. So, this will work properly with vBulletin 3.8.11 and PHP 5.6/7.0/7.1. It should also work with earlier versions, though the minimum PHP version required is probably something like PHP 5.3.

I also updated all the UI elements to refer to the feature as "reCAPTCHA v2" instead of "New reCAPTCHA". I also updated the readme docs, correcting errors and typos.
Attached Files
File Type: zip kh99_recaptchav2_vb3_v1.0.1.zip (145.4 KB, 5 views)

Last edited by TheBang; 15 Sep 2018 at 14:42.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 02 May 2018, 17:08
JohnChapman's Avatar
JohnChapman JohnChapman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Just deployed this update to my 3.8.11/PHP 5.6.31 site and it works as advertised. The previous 1.0 version survived config/test, but threw an error on the actual registration page.

Thanks for the module.
__________________
There's someone in my head, and it's not me - Pink
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 28 Aug 2018, 07:50
RSBHeadlight RSBHeadlight is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Maybe I messed something up here. Running vbulletin 3.8.7 patch level 6, I upload the file and imported the product xml with no issue but when I go to human verification I only see whats in the attached screenshot, assistance would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Capture.jpg (36.3 KB, 18 views)
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 28 Aug 2018, 16:50
crazymook crazymook is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Same here.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 07 Sep 2018, 18:52
TheBang TheBang is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
You're looking in the wrong place. reCAPTCHA v2 is found in "vBulletin Options > Human Verification Manager", not in "vBulletin Options > vBulletin Options > Human Verification Options"
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 18 Sep 2018, 15:24
crazymook crazymook is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Im looking in the right place, v2 is not there.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 22 Sep 2018, 19:59
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: Joe D.
Just to be clear the screenshot posted in Post 36 is not the right place to look for it, so that is why it is confusing.

If it isn't showing up in the actual right place most likely the files were uploaded to the wrong directory.
__________________
-Joe
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member

(@BirdOPrey5) Former vb.org Moderator. Fighting for a free & independent vb.org.
BirdOPrey5.com - Exclusive VB Mods! (Formerly Qapla.com) | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic
Note - I do not read my PMs often, do not expect quick replies.

Last edited by BirdOPrey5; 22 Sep 2018 at 20:01. Reason: M
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 24 Sep 2018, 15:53
crazymook crazymook is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Originally Posted by BirdOPrey5 View Post
Just to be clear the screenshot posted in Post 36 is not the right place to look for it, so that is why it is confusing.

If it isn't showing up in the actual right place most likely the files were uploaded to the wrong directory.
File uploaded to includes folder. XML file installed. Looking in the right spot. No update to the verification options
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 24 Sep 2018, 16:11
motd2 motd2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
you_site/forum/admincp/verify.php
if the admincp is not renamed
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 24 Sep 2018, 16:19
crazymook crazymook is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Originally Posted by motd2 View Post
you_site/forum/admincp/verify.php
if the admincp is not renamed
maybe elaborate on that? i'm not sure I'm understanding.
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 24 Sep 2018, 16:27
motd2 motd2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 24 Sep 2018, 16:30
crazymook crazymook is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
I know where to look...I keep saying that, haha. v2 is NOT there...I followed the steps perfectly. The mod does not work with my site.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:10.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: