Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Have a Forum Favicon Details »
Have a Forum Favicon
Mod Version: 1.00, by smartkidbk5 (Member) smartkidbk5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2011 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (6 votes - 4.83 average) Installs: 51
Released: 21 Jun 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 320
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes  

This hack is very simple. And creates a forum favicon on your site. A favicon is the small image that appears next to your site title in your browser's tabs.

To create a favicon:
First you need to create an image that is 16x16. It must be saved as "favicon.ico" You must save it as an ICO file, you cannot save it as another file type & just change it to a ".ico"

To Save an Image as an ICO file:
For Adobe Photoshop: Download the Plugin (Attached) & Move it to (In your Adobe Photoshop Folder)- Plug-Ins>File Formats
Now you need to create an image that is 16x16. Also remember, if you want your image to be transparent, make sure you delete the background layer. Once you are done creating your image, Click "File>Save As". Now you will see the option to save it as an ICO file, make sure you save it as an ICO file. Then save the file as "favicon.ico".

For GIMP (To Download GIMP, go to: http://www.gimp.org):
Create a 16x16 Image. If you want your image to be transparent: Click Layer>New Layer, then delete the background layer. Once you are done creating the image, click "File>Save As". Click the "+" that is next to "Select File Type (By Extension)", a dropdown will appear. Scroll down to "Microsoft Windows icon". Then save the file as "favicon.ico".

Now to put it on your forum:
First, upload the "favicon.ico" file into your directory. (You may upload it to any place you wish in your directory)
For Firefox:
In your AdminCP, go to: Styles & Templates>Style Manager
Select the style, and click the dropdown and go to: Edit Templates
Find the template named "headinclude" and click on it
At the very top of the template insert this text:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Insert the link to where you previously uploaded your "favicon.ico" file instead of both of the: "http://yoursite.com/images/favicon.ico"

For IE:
Upload the "favicon.ico" file to the root of your directory.
(Ex. If your site domain is "http://exngaming.com", then upload it right into that directory,
so the link would be "http://exngaming.com/favicon.ico")

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	faviconchrome.jpg
Views:	534
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	100834   Click image for larger version

Name:	faviconfirefox.jpg
Views:	489
Size:	61.9 KB
ID:	100835   Click image for larger version

Name:	faviconie.jpg
Views:	460
Size:	31.1 KB
ID:	100836   Click image for larger version

Name:	faviconopera.jpg
Views:	386
Size:	39.5 KB
ID:	100837  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Custom favicon per forum ForumDog vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 8 14 Oct 2006 11:30

Comments
  #2  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 06:17
smartkidbk5 smartkidbk5 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reserved*
__________________
http://www.exngaming.com
AIM- eXn GraViTY
Skype- smartkidbk5
Email- [email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 11:36
raja811 raja811 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 20:28
80's 80's is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Is it necessary? I think you should only change favicon file in forum's froot directory.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 21:26
smartkidbk5 smartkidbk5 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Originally Posted by 80's View Post
Is it necessary? I think you should only change favicon file in forum's froot directory.
That only works for IE, it doesnt work for Firefox.
__________________
http://www.exngaming.com
AIM- eXn GraViTY
Skype- smartkidbk5
Email- [email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 21:51
Extreme24 Extreme24 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by smartkidbk5 View Post
That only works for IE, it doesnt work for Firefox.
Really? It works just fine for me...

Takes a while to update (cache) but it changes just fine for me (I'm on the newest Firefox version.)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21 Jun 2009, 22:45
smartkidbk5 smartkidbk5 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Originally Posted by Extreme24 View Post
Really? It works just fine for me...

Takes a while to update (cache) but it changes just fine for me (I'm on the newest Firefox version.)
I even tried removing the code from the template, & it doesnt appear in firefox. also even if it works for your firefox it might not for others.

Also im not sure which way does it, but it also makes it work in Google Chrome and Opera.
Also its better to do both ways just incase, because there are always some people who are on older browser versions...
__________________
http://www.exngaming.com
AIM- eXn GraViTY
Skype- smartkidbk5
Email- [email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 22 Jun 2009, 03:25
Extreme24 Extreme24 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Yeah I guess you're right. No harm I guess in adding it in to make sure it shows up instead of wondering if it is or not.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01 Jul 2009, 10:42
Xeyn Xeyn is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Works on Firefox & Opera for me too.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10 Jul 2009, 03:51
MattZ DSLR MattZ DSLR is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
thank you this worked great
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 Jul 2009, 06:23
armthehomeless1 armthehomeless1 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I've just got a favicon.ico in my domain root and it works for me in all browsers. It just doesn't appear straight away - takes a day or so to refresh.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05 Aug 2009, 05:19
knucklenitz knucklenitz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
I made the custom icon and added to my forum root. It hasn't 'refreshed' yet but I also don't recall seeing the 'V' there either. Is there some other setting in IE or VB that needs to change?

I have visited others sites that say they have the icon and all that I see is the 'e' in front of a page for internet explorer. I tried Firefox and it does show up. Strange.

Thanks!

Last edited by knucklenitz; 05 Aug 2009 at 05:37.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05 Aug 2009, 05:56
R1lover's Avatar
R1lover R1lover is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Ca
There isn't any reason for a mod for this... all you do (as mentioned above) is place a favicon.ico file in your root directory. This works for IE, Opera, FF, and just about every browser.

If it's not working for you them clear your browser cache and try it again.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05 Aug 2009, 05:57
R1lover's Avatar
R1lover R1lover is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Northern Ca
Originally Posted by knucklenitz View Post
I made the custom icon and added to my forum root. It hasn't 'refreshed' yet but I also don't recall seeing the 'V' there either. Is there some other setting in IE or VB that needs to change?

I have visited others sites that say they have the icon and all that I see is the 'e' in front of a page for internet explorer. I tried Firefox and it does show up. Strange.

Thanks!
What version of IE are you running?

The latest versions of IE work as well with just the favicon file in the root directory, both on the address bar and the tabs as well.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05 Aug 2009, 08:22
ry215's Avatar
ry215 ry215 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Nelson
This is not a Modification.

and have a tut for favicon:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=131191
__________________
My Mods & Styles

Contace me now for more details!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:41.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: