Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 19 Feb 2018, 18:09
bendiesel bendiesel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
setting home page

Hi !
is it possible to make a home page (3 columns of squares) with excerpt of articles conatining one photo and the number of comments, to looks like news home page ? thanks for help..
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24 Feb 2018, 06:14
romaine's Avatar
romaine romaine is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by bendiesel View Post
Hi !
is it possible to make a home page (3 columns of squares) with excerpt of articles conatining one photo and the number of comments, to looks like news home page ? thanks for help..
Maybe this webmaster forum http://www.webmastersun.com matches your question?
it has 3 columns with photo (avatar of member) and title of post and it looks like a news site. If that, you can need a custom code to have same homepage.

Other than that, you will not find any settings in vB to have that.
__________________
Best smartphones 2018 - smartphones discussion forums, reviews and news.
Tranh phong cảnh, khung tranh đẹp
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02 Mar 2018, 15:18
bendiesel bendiesel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
thank you very much for the reply, indeed i should learn more about Custom CSS, or find CSS Master Developer
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02 Mar 2018, 15:33
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Originally Posted by romaine View Post
Maybe this webmaster forum http://www.webmastersun.com matches your question?
it has 3 columns with photo (avatar of member) and title of post and it looks like a news site. If that, you can need a custom code to have same homepage.

Other than that, you will not find any settings in vB to have that.
You directed someone to a custom vB4 site to answer a question about vB5. The two are entirely different in their capabilities. A three column layout can be accomplished in vB5 just by using the built-in layouts in SiteBuilder. The search modules can be configured to do anything a developer wants. This is all possible without custom coding.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02 Mar 2018, 16:40
bendiesel bendiesel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
thank you In Omnibus, i'm grateful for your concern !

yes i'm working on version 5.4 and i'm learning in détails about it especially to have this "News Home page" with excerpts of articles

i'm just a beginner
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02 Mar 2018, 16:54
In Omnibus's Avatar
In Omnibus In Omnibus is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Real name: Kris
Originally Posted by bendiesel View Post
thank you In Omnibus, i'm grateful for your concern !

yes i'm working on version 5.4 and i'm learning in détails about it especially to have this "News Home page" with excerpts of articles

i'm just a beginner
Understood. I just didn't want you led in the wrong direction. Once you select a layout from the SiteBuilder you can move the modules around and create as many as you like. If you need help with the specific JSON for a module you might have better luck finding the answers on vbulletin.com as many questions about how to configure specific modules have already been asked and answered there.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02 Mar 2018, 19:12
bendiesel bendiesel is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
thank you very much In Omnibus, I can say that your clarification was decisive for me and definitely put me in the right direction
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03 Mar 2018, 03:35
romaine's Avatar
romaine romaine is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Originally Posted by bendiesel View Post
thank you very much for the reply, indeed i should learn more about Custom CSS, or find CSS Master Developer
Of course but even you found a CSS Master Developer work for you then you still need to know CSS so you can edit parts according to your ideas for you site.

Originally Posted by In Omnibus View Post
You directed someone to a custom vB4 site to answer a question about vB5. The two are entirely different in their capabilities. A three column layout can be accomplished in vB5 just by using the built-in layouts in SiteBuilder. The search modules can be configured to do anything a developer wants. This is all possible without custom coding.
Whoops..I didn't know this because I have not used vb5, I thought vB5 could not do that and it needs a custom mod like what I show for bendiesel.

Can you show me any samples for sites that used SiteBuilder to build a layout with 3 columns with vB5?
__________________
Best smartphones 2018 - smartphones discussion forums, reviews and news.
Tranh phong cảnh, khung tranh đẹp
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04 Mar 2018, 08:16
noypiscripter's Avatar
noypiscripter noypiscripter is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Originally Posted by romaine View Post
Can you show me any samples for sites that used SiteBuilder to build a layout with 3 columns with vB5?
Sitebuilder is a built-in vB5 feature with drag-and-drop module functionality. It is an Admin interface on the front-end (not AdminCP). See sample screenshot below.

__________________
Glenn Vergara, an ex-vB Developer, now a vB Mod Developer

GIPHY for vB5 | AutoLinker | Video Attachments Player | New Registered Users Module | Clear System Cache Cron | DragNDrop Upload | Topic AJAX AutoUpdate | Force Read Topic
Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[HTL] & [Normal] Setting Varname Next to the Setting Title. Link14716 vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 6 15 Jan 2004 15:26



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:04.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: