Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin Merge Tool for v2.2.x Details »
vBulletin Merge Tool for v2.2.x
Mod Version: 1.00, by JulianD (Member) JulianD is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 2.3.x Rating: (2 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 69
Released: 17 Nov 2002 Last Update: Never Downloads: 40
Not Supported Is in Beta Stage  

Well, I did this for a friend and I saw some request for this tool before, so here you got.

My code is based on the import scripts that you found on vbulletin.com.

What it does?
- Merge: users, forums, threads, posts, polls, PMs and attachments of two vBulletin databases.
- It allows to associate usernames with current vBulletin users, to prevent duplication

Both databases should be in the same server, and use the same password.

If there's a duplicated name in both databases, the script will postfix the username from the database you're merging with something like: [imported]. So you probably will find users that looks like username[imported] after the merge. To solve this problem of two usernames being one person, there's a tool in the script to merge users individually.

New version
- The database to merge can now have a different host/username/password. *
- Ability to auto merge users with the same username (to avoid 4000 users with the [imported] thing. ) *
- You can now skip the forum merging, and use the tool only to merge users.
- The poll bug seems to be fixed now. Post your feedback.


Installation:

Simply upload the attached file to /forum/importers/ and go to your Admin CP > BB Import Systems and choose vBulletin Merge Tool for v2.2.x.

Note that this script requires vBulletin 2.2.7 (or newer) to work. I have tested it with 2.2.6 but you need to upgrade the file /forum/admin/bbimport.php to the version you found on vBulletin 2.2.7 or newer.



Important Information:
This merger is beta! You should backup everything before starting. Use it under your own risk!


I decided to reopen this thread with a new version of this merger. I hope it fixes all the problems with previous versions.

REMEMBER:

If you're going to merge two database that are located on the same host, you SHOULD use a different hostname for both database.

For example:

If you have 'localhost' configured as your $servername variable on the admin/config.php file, and you want to merge a database stored on the same server, you should use something like '127.0.0.1'. Another example... If you have $servername configured to 'vbulletin.org', and you want to merge a database located on vbulletin.org, use the IP address for that server instead... In this case '205.214.66.221'. Get it?

Sorry, I'm not very good with english and it's very hard to explain this. I hope you've understood this.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #151  
Old 02 Jul 2003, 16:23
Smellycat's Avatar
Smellycat Smellycat is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Have you made sure both databases are of the same version? i,e 2.3.0
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 02 Jul 2003, 18:23
Mikal Mikal is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mikal
They should be
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 03 Jul 2003, 15:19
Mikal Mikal is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Mikal
But it doesnt even let me run the script, in admin cp, I choose the script and try to run it, and get the error.

so any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 15 Jul 2003, 15:35
marcel-ea marcel-ea is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Also i offer everybody 100$ cash who help me to fix the script
and merge two big forums. PM me
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 15 Jul 2003, 17:48
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
I am sorry for all the problems you're having with this script.. It was something I wrote a long time ago and I don't have the time to fix all the numerous bugs that have been appearing with the new PHP and MySQL releases.

I'm sure some of the problems (like the duplicated threads) are caused by new versions of PHP and/or MySQL.... The first releases of this script didn't have such problems... I took a look to the code a few days ago but I can't find the problem... It requires some more testing and some more time, and that's something I don't have right now

I'd be very happy if some of you guys can improve this script until Jelsoft officially releases something like this for vB2 and vB3.

Right now I can't take care of this script, even though I would love to fix it and post it here for the benefit of you.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 27 Jul 2003, 05:33
!!!cyr0n_k0r !!!cyr0n_k0r is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
hey, ++++ this guy

I just contacted him on AIM to ask him a question about this script and he blocked me.

I then asked him why he blocked me on ICQ and he blocked me again.

This guys an +++++++.
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 28 Jul 2003, 04:27
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
I didn't blocked you. I disconnected from the Internet. Anyway, I am not giving support for this hack, so if you were looking for support, I can't help you. Sorry.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 04 Aug 2003, 07:41
!!!cyr0n_k0r !!!cyr0n_k0r is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
bull++++ you disconnected. You were online with ICQ after you blocked me from aim.. and only disconnected AFTER I asked you why you blocked me in the first place.

Dont lie to my face +++++++.
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 04 Aug 2003, 08:56
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
OK Thread closed. Sorry.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 14 Oct 2003, 16:43
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
I decided to reopen this thread with a new version of this merger. I hope it fixes all the problems with previous versions.

REMEMBER:

If you're going to merge two database that are located on the same host, you SHOULD use a different hostname for both databases.

For example:

If you have 'localhost' configured as your $servername variable on the admin/config.php file, and you want to merge a database stored on the same server, you should use something like '127.0.0.1'. Another example... If you have $servername configured to 'vbulletin.org', and you want to merge a database located on vbulletin.org, use the IP address for that server instead... In this case '205.214.66.221'. Get it?

Sorry, I'm not very good with english and it's very hard to explain this. I hope you've understood this.

Go to the first post... There's the attachment.
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 19 Oct 2003, 02:55
TDeath TDeath is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
i have two vbb 2.2.8 databases on the same server. when i try to start the merge script in the control panel, i get the following error msg:

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Warning: Access denied for user: 'p34067380@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /homepages/11/d70604821/htdocs/vbb/admin/db_mysql.php on line 34

Warning: MySQL Connection Failed: Access denied for user: 'p34067380@localhost' (Using password: NO) in /homepages/11/d70604821/htdocs/vbb/admin/db_mysql.php on line 34

Database error in vBulletin Merge Tool 2.2.8:

Link-ID == false, connect failed
mysql error:

mysql error number: 0

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

do i have to edit something in the db_mysql.php? i tried a lot of different stuff, however nothing worked.
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 20 Oct 2003, 02:37
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
Are you sure you're typing the right values for the database you want to merge?
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 24 Oct 2003, 19:42
hockyfan hockyfan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
I have my forum on my server, and a database dump of the forum I would like to merge into my forum. Is this the correct way of doing it? And where should I upload this database dump to?

Also, do both mine and his databases have to be the same version of vB? Or can his be older than mine (mine is 2.3.2)?


h
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 24 Oct 2003, 22:54
JulianD's Avatar
JulianD JulianD is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Julian Muņoz
You should load your dump file to a real mysql database... before starting with the merge you should have two real database... The one you're running at the moment, and the one you want to merge.

I think it shouldn't be a problem if the version of both databases isn't the same.

Just remember, back up your data before proceed and you should be safe
__________________
Julian D. Muņoz
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 25 Oct 2003, 23:20
hockyfan hockyfan is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Originally Posted by JulianD
You should load your dump file to a real mysql database... before starting with the merge you should have two real database... The one you're running at the moment, and the one you want to merge.
How do I do that?



h
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:02.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: