Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Selective Forum Filter Details »
Selective Forum Filter
Mod Version: 1.1.0, by akanevsky (Coder) akanevsky is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.x Rating: (9 votes - 4.78 average) Installs: 131
Released: 14 Oct 2005 Last Update: 31 May 2009 Downloads: 277
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Translations  

I no longer support my hacks. Please feel free to update them and release new versions elsewhere as long as I get the credit for the original modification.

/*======================================================================*\
|| Selective Forum Filter
||
|| Author : Anton Kanevsky
|| Co-Author(s) : Andreas
|| Works on : vBulletin 3.5.x - 3.8.x
|| Released : May 31, 2009
||
|| Time required to install: 30 seconds
|| Difficulty: easy
\*======================================================================*/

DESCRIPTION

Ever came across large boards with a huge number of sub forums? Couldn't find your info? Wanted to run away from that huge load of stupid threads? This hack is intended to save your users from having such a horrible experience. It provides them with an opportunity to exclude any number of forums from the forums list (as well as from "get new"/"get daily" searches), which still letting them to access those forums directly and search within them, too.

STATISTICS

Products to Install: 1


INTRODUCTION

To enable "can be excluded" in all forums, run this query:
UPDATE PFXforum SET excludable = 1
To disable "can be excluded" in all forums, run this query:
UPDATE PFXforum SET excludable = 0
In both cases, PFX must be replaced with the actual table prefix that you have defined in config.php.
If you have not defined a prefix, remove PFX from the queries.
After you run either one of these queries, you must then open and save any one forum for the forum cache to be updated.

VERSION HISTORY

1.1.0
[+] The hack is now compatible with vBulletin 3.5.x - 3.8.x.
[+] Eliminated all template edits.

1.0.2
[+] The hack is now compatible with vBulletin 3.6.
[+] Corrected a couple of mistakes in the installation manual.

1.0.1
[+] Added option to set forums as excludable. By default, excludability of all forums is disabled.

1.0.0
First Public Release

The installation manual is contained within the attached file.

IF YOU LIKE MY HACK, PLEASE CLICK INSTALL

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.png
Views:	98
Size:	58.3 KB
ID:	99909  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
End-User Options Selective Forum Filter akanevsky vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 156 19 Nov 2013 16:43
Selective Forum Filter akanevsky vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 81 07 Nov 2005 19:12

  #91  
Old 21 Jul 2006, 22:15
Vindicator Vindicator is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Ok, I want users to be able to exclude certain forums from the "New Posts" facility. Yuor hack does this but it also hides the forum from the list which I do not want. Can the facility be enabled/disabled and if not can you please point me towards KirbyDE's original hack please? (doesn't appear on this forum)

Edited: Don't worry, found hack under Andreas username

Last edited by Vindicator; 21 Jul 2006 at 22:38.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Old 27 Aug 2006, 17:25
tandy tandy is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Installed for the second time on a fresh installed vB 3.54, everything seem to work in the database, but no forum excluded, still view all of them.


Ok, i found the reason...

SQL Query:
UPDATE PFXforum SET excludable = 1


To disable excludable in all forums, run this query:
SQL Query:
UPDATE PFXforum SET excludable =0 "Must be Zero instead of one"

Last edited by tandy; 28 Aug 2006 at 01:59.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 12 Sep 2006, 18:20
yj_enquirer yj_enquirer is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK
Hiya.. woz wondering if this will work in 3.6.0?
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 13 Sep 2006, 03:54
ChrisBaktis ChrisBaktis is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Can someone tell me how to get the info I need to replace PFX with?
__________________
www.rustysoaptraders.com
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 16 Sep 2006, 13:48
ze_roberto ze_roberto is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
In the Database. Try to replace it with nothing as a first shot (just delete PFX).

By the way: works on 3.6.1 on my testboard.

The bad news is that the forums still show in the latest thread of an vbadvanced portal and thing like vbispy...

cheers, ze

Last edited by ze_roberto; 16 Sep 2006 at 13:52.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 08 Nov 2006, 14:00
McMendo McMendo is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Installed (click) on 3.6.2 and working just fine.

Originally Posted by tandy
Ok, i found the reason...

SQL Query:
UPDATE PFXforum SET excludable = 1


To disable excludable in all forums, run this query:
SQL Query:
UPDATE PFXforum SET excludable =0 "Must be Zero instead of one"
The install instructions are still wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 10 Nov 2006, 13:01
JohnBee JohnBee is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
How do we find our table prefixes?
I tried:

UPDATE PFXforum SET exludable = 1
UPDATE forum SET exludable = 1

both gave me error number: 1054
error desc: Unknown column 'exludable' in 'field list'
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 10 Nov 2006, 13:18
JohnBee JohnBee is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Okay I figured it out, the modification instructions have a few typos in it.
Also, I'm not sure on the entire effectiveness of this hack. While it does filter out forums if your running any addons such as 'Number of unread posts' it does not really filter them out, it only confused people because the no. of unread posts is still shown but when they hit the link to view them, they get an error page.

I would really like to see this modification expanded on though. It sounds like a great addon.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 10 Nov 2006, 13:53
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
The table prefix is what you specified in config.php.

Also, I'm not sure on the entire effectiveness of this hack. While it does filter out forums if your running any addons such as 'Number of unread posts' it does not really filter them out, it only confused people because the no. of unread posts is still shown but when they hit the link to view them, they get an error page.
The modification is designed as a hack for vBulletin, not for other hacks.
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 30 Dec 2006, 21:52
TosaInu's Avatar
TosaInu TosaInu is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Originally Posted by tom w View Post
Same problems here as 4yBak. Tried both '1' & '0', but neither populates the forum list in User CP.

<later that same day...>
I did discover that if you "save display order" in Forum Manager, Options starts displaying the forum list.
Thank you, fixed it for me.
__________________
Ja mata
TosaInu
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 13 Jan 2007, 22:11
Insert Username Insert Username is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
I'm running into a problem here. I updated the template. I imported the product. I ran the query and set all forums as excludable. I even confirmed in the DB that the 'excludable' field for each forum was set to '1'.

When I go to the options in the user cp, I see the excludable section at the bottom, but none of the forums are showing up.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 13 Jan 2007, 22:57
akanevsky akanevsky is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Anton Kanevsky
Originally Posted by Insert Username View Post
I'm running into a problem here. I updated the template. I imported the product. I ran the query and set all forums as excludable. I even confirmed in the DB that the 'excludable' field for each forum was set to '1'.

When I go to the options in the user cp, I see the excludable section at the bottom, but none of the forums are showing up.

Any ideas?
Try saving at least one forum via admincp forum manager. It rebuilds the forum cache.
__________________
I can no longer support any of my hacks. Please do not contact me for that. Feel free to create and post new versions of my hacks, as long as you give me credit for the original work.
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 13 Jan 2007, 23:08
Insert Username Insert Username is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Originally Posted by Psionic Vision View Post
Try saving at least one forum via admincp forum manager. It rebuilds the forum cache.
Perfect! Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 21 Jan 2007, 11:56
otstrel otstrel is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
I would strongly recommend changing the type of field in database from varchar(255) to mediumtext.
Some users are clicking through every forum they don't want to see instead of selecting only categories and they end up with huge list of forumids which simply do not fit in varchar(255).
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 25 Jan 2007, 11:18
sickboy6ths sickboy6ths is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Nevermind this post...

Last edited by sickboy6ths; 25 Jan 2007 at 11:32.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:41.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: