Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Form Hack Details »
Form Hack
Mod Version: 4.1, by Abe1 (Coder) Abe1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (76 votes - 4.51 average) Installs: 1213
Released: 15 Sep 2006 Last Update: 24 Apr 2008 Downloads: 6042
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Form Hack 4.1


Features:

Ever wanted an online form that a user can fill out, which when submitted gets:
  • Posted into a new thread in a forum of your choice
  • Create a new poll in the new thread with options of your choice
  • Posted as a reply in an existing thread of your choice
  • PMed to you or someone else
  • Emailed to an email address you specify
  • Choose to redirect to the post, thread or forum, or a custom thank you message
  • Choose to redirect to edit post
  • See a preview before they submit

Or any combination or all of the above?

Well, this is the hack for you!

You can use this for:
  • Moderator Applications
  • Quiz Submit Form which gets PMed to a moderator
  • Contact Form that goes to PM, email or thread
  • Guests to apply to be members
  • Report a Moderator form that goes as a PM to you
  • Guests can PM you for whatever reason
  • Order form to buy things
  • Donation form
  • News or Articles submissions that can go straight to a thread

Or anything you like - this hack is totally customizable via the AdminCP.

The beauty of this hack is that once you install this hack, to make a new form all you need to do is copy the main hook, rename it to whatever you want, edit the variables in the hook, and you have a totally new form!!! You do not need to touch the templates again, but can always create new ones and use different templates for different forms.

Format of the form:
  • One main input question
  • 3 Radio buttons Choice questions
  • 3 Normal text input questions
  • 1 Drop down menu
  • 3 Check boxes
  • 1 Long answer question
  • 1 VB message editor text box question
  • Upload attachments

This is customizable via the hook.

Also:
  • You can set the usergroups you want access to this form.
  • Depending on your forum permissions, if the new thread is in a public forum, members can reply to it. This hack allows a form to submit the new thread or post wherever you want it to go.
  • Force the user to answer all questions.

INSTALLATION
Easy - takes only a few minutes:
  • Import the XML into products. (admin cp -> Plug-in System -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product)
  • Edit the main plug-in - the instructions are all inside the hook itself, in the top half. Follow the instructions carefully!
  • To get to the form, go to: /newthread.php?do=form (change "form" to the name of your form if you have few)

Done!

Use this hack to make as many forms as you like!

Enjoy!

Updates:

Version 4.0: (09/15/2006)
  • Ported over for vb3.6
  • Send to multiple emails.
  • Send multiple PMs.
  • Parse emails for BBCode
  • And finally, ATTACHMENTS!

Version 4.1: (04/24/2008)
  • Fixed for vb 3.6.10
  • Small bug fixed.
  • List of the 2 quick edits are in the zip file so you don't have to start making a form from scratch.

MAKE SURE YOU CLICK INSTALL!
You will get an email when a new version is released.

Abe1 with rights from Dr Erwin Loh

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	form.JPG
Views:	21056
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	53487  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases Ajax add-on Form Hack Deepdog009 vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 23 22 Sep 2008 21:17

  #466  
Old 16 May 2007, 22:07
JTMON's Avatar
JTMON JTMON is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Hi, I haven't found this problem searching this thread so here goes...did the edits, made sure part 1 and 2, had all working until I finished..now I get this error:

Parse error: parse error, unexpected '}' in /home/www/ticketdoctor/forums/newthread.php(71) : eval()'d code on line 608

My code is:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

any ideas? Line 71 in newthread is eval..and the normal stuff doesn't go to line 608?


any help is mucho appreciated..thanks!
__________________
JTMON

The Ticket Doctor
NY Traffic Tickets handled from the comfort of your home for as little as 99!!
Reply With Quote
  #467  
Old 17 May 2007, 05:01
ComputerVitals ComputerVitals is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
did you modify the lower part of the hook?
If you did, look there for line 608, looks like an extra curly is there.
If you need a free text editor with line numbers try winsyntax
__________________
ComputerVitals.com
Your Online Computer Helpline ~ Go ahead and join!
Reply With Quote
  #468  
Old 17 May 2007, 06:44
JTMON's Avatar
JTMON JTMON is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I even checked it with araxis merge and found no difference other than variables..maybe it's in the template?
__________________
JTMON

The Ticket Doctor
NY Traffic Tickets handled from the comfort of your home for as little as 99!!
Reply With Quote
  #469  
Old 17 May 2007, 16:14
samual samual is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
I added an extra raido button to this form but it is showing up on the right side of the page. What do I need to do to move it back to the other side?
Reply With Quote
  #470  
Old 17 May 2007, 19:17
JTMON's Avatar
JTMON JTMON is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
I found out my problem, I had chopped off the little bit of code above the variables.

Samual..you need to edit the "form" template.
__________________
JTMON

The Ticket Doctor
NY Traffic Tickets handled from the comfort of your home for as little as 99!!
Reply With Quote
  #471  
Old 17 May 2007, 20:57
JTMON's Avatar
JTMON JTMON is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Any idea why the emails are sent as plain text html instead of being formatted html? I edited the formanswers template and when I preview the template its right..but both the preview at bottom of the form and email come with all the html code visible?
__________________
JTMON

The Ticket Doctor
NY Traffic Tickets handled from the comfort of your home for as little as 99!!
Reply With Quote
  #472  
Old 18 May 2007, 09:55
newforum newforum is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
WoW really great man. Its very simple and fast.
Great HACK.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #473  
Old 24 May 2007, 13:25
Saviour's Avatar
Saviour Saviour is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
One thumb up!

This is an excellent hack!

Installed and working in 3.6.7.

It took me a while to get it to where I wanted it, but I'm there...and that's all that counts.

There's only one thing from keeping me from voting for this as MOTM and that's a user-friendly GUI for this thing.

Adding three or more radio buttons, check boxes, or text fields can prove to be very annoying...they don't line up properly. There's too much brain racking to figure out just what's going wrong.

It would be nice if this mod had an ACP interface that would automatically insert these fields for you once you key in the variables. If you ever need to change the form or update it...manually modifying the form, formanswers, and form plugin is a pain in the...well you know...neck!

Get that fixed...and you'll have my vote. Also, getting it supported would be another plus.

Hats off to Abe...good job!
__________________
Free Computer Help
Reply With Quote
  #474  
Old 28 May 2007, 02:11
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
I've just upgraded to 3.6.7 and I'm running into a problem.

When regular users go to submit the forum, they get an error telling them "no thread specified".

This only happens for one user group. This tells me that there's a permission setting wrong somewhere, but I can't find where.

The user group has access to the forum and the permissions for the user group are such that they appear to be allowing the user to post in that forum.

I remember running into this when I was setting it up a while back, but now that it's been a while, I can't for the life of me figure out where to start searching for a resolution.

Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by RedGTiVR6; 28 May 2007 at 02:43.
Reply With Quote
  #475  
Old 29 May 2007, 14:11
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
bump!
Reply With Quote
  #476  
Old 31 May 2007, 03:14
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
well, I'm not sure what I did, but I got it working....for a little bit.

Now the users are reporting a different error.

That they don't have permission to view the page.

I've added the user group to the plug-in for this form and I can see it just fine as an admin.

Even if I send them the direct link they cannot see the form.

This tells me it's a permission issue with the form it's self and not the forum the form is in.

Am I missing something obvious here?

Anyone?

Does anyone read this thread any more?
Reply With Quote
  #477  
Old 31 May 2007, 04:06
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
EDIT: Ok - I think I might have found the issue.

I'm trying to allow a secondary user group access to this form.

Basically, I have the user group set-up as such:

Primary User Group: Active Users
Secondary User Group: Private Testers

I have set this specific form to be accessable by Admins, Staff members, and Private Testers.

private testers are the only ones of those 3 groups to access the form as a secondary user group...

I hope what i typed just made sense.

Does this make sense to anyone as being the issue?

I did test this with a test account by changing the user group that I'm trying to test to be primary instead of secondary so I'm able to confirm that this is the issue (bug?)

Last edited by RedGTiVR6; 31 May 2007 at 04:11.
Reply With Quote
  #478  
Old 31 May 2007, 23:58
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by Saviour View Post
This is an excellent hack!

Installed and working in 3.6.7.

It took me a while to get it to where I wanted it, but I'm there...and that's all that counts.

There's only one thing from keeping me from voting for this as MOTM and that's a user-friendly GUI for this thing.

Adding three or more radio buttons, check boxes, or text fields can prove to be very annoying...they don't line up properly. There's too much brain racking to figure out just what's going wrong.

It would be nice if this mod had an ACP interface that would automatically insert these fields for you once you key in the variables. If you ever need to change the form or update it...manually modifying the form, formanswers, and form plugin is a pain in the...well you know...neck!

Get that fixed...and you'll have my vote. Also, getting it supported would be another plus.

Hats off to Abe...good job!
Yea , I agree, but it ain't going to be easy...

I also hope that ABE1 will add Admincp options...

I played with some options and code to enhance this, but i found that its a bit beyond my intermediate skills. Im still learning all this stuff and man I noticed Im getting more headaches and dizzy spells. he he

Good Luck ABE1
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #479  
Old 01 Jun 2007, 00:02
Deepdog009's Avatar
Deepdog009 Deepdog009 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by RedGTiVR6 View Post
EDIT: Ok - I think I might have found the issue.

I'm trying to allow a secondary user group access to this form.

Basically, I have the user group set-up as such:

Primary User Group: Active Users
Secondary User Group: Private Testers

I have set this specific form to be accessable by Admins, Staff members, and Private Testers.

private testers are the only ones of those 3 groups to access the form as a secondary user group...

I hope what i typed just made sense.

Does this make sense to anyone as being the issue?

I did test this with a test account by changing the user group that I'm trying to test to be primary instead of secondary so I'm able to confirm that this is the issue (bug?)


RedGTiVR6 what seems 2 B yo problem?

Zip up all yo files in text format and upload, I will take a look C...

Its probably something that you missed in plugin code...
__________________
Long vacation folks, back 2 dabble and doodle... *** Enjoy the Forums
Reply With Quote
  #480  
Old 01 Jun 2007, 00:24
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
I've changed the user group structure.

Rather than zip it all up first, can you try it on your implementation?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:47.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: