Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBulletin to Twitter, live tweets of new threads Details »
vBulletin to Twitter, live tweets of new threads
Mod Version: 1.00, by buro9 (Member) buro9 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This thread is in the Modification Graveyard.
vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (33 votes - 4.67 average) Installs: 272
Released: 27 Jan 2010 Last Update: Never Downloads: 1482
Not Supported Uses Plugins Additional Files Re-usable Code Translations External Content  

This should work on all 4 and 3 versions of vBulletin as it's trivial.

Description:

You start a new thread, this hack makes a tweet about it on your twitter account.

This are live updates... not delayed, not based on RSS... the instant the thread is started, a tweet is made. This is how this hack differs from other hacks.

Why:

Mostly for SEO, but also as an alert system.

For SEO the idea is simply that search engines are drinking from the Twitter firehose and are indexing the links that are tweeted. Faster and increased indexing of your site benefits you by helping it be found.

For alerts it means that users are able to use whatever twitter client they wish to obtain updates. A lot of these provide filtering capabilities, so they're able to get a live filtered stream of updates that interest them. This works very well when you also use thread prefixes.

Pre-requisites:

You should have an account on bit.ly for URL shortening, and you should have an account on Twitter.

Go and register if you haven't yet:
http://bit.ly/
http://twitter.com/

Installation:

NOTE: Most problems are related to not putting your bit.ly or twitter user details in the plugin. Follow the instructions carefully!

Upload the two attached files to your forum root. These are twitter and bitly classes that enable the hack to work, you can also download these from the author:
http://classes.verkoyen.eu/bitly
http://classes.verkoyen.eu/twitter/

Go to the plugin manager and create a new plugin with the following details:
Product: vBulletin
Hook: newthread_post_complete
Title: Tweet to Twitter

PHP Code: [See below]

To configure the PHP code you need to know your bit.ly API key (go get it from bit.ly/account) and your username and password for twitter.

You also should make a list of the forumIds that are non-public as you will want to put these in the array provided.

i.e. if your admin forum is forumId = 7 and you also have a private forum for regular members which is forumid = 12, then you will want this:
$excludedForums = array(7, 12);

The PHP code should be this, with all of the relevant values for your forum inserted (replace everything bolded, including the < and > bits):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

So the bit.ly line might look like this after you've put your values in:
$bitly = new Bitly('testUser', 'R_hj3456hgf3hig56hi2gf6');
NOT
$bitly = new Bitly('<testUser>', '<R_hj3456hgf3hig56hi2gf6>');
See? Remove those <> bits, they just show what to replace.

The shortUrl line might look like this:
$shortUrl = 'http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?t='.$newpost[threadid];

The Twitter line might look like this:
$twitter = new Twitter('stephenfry','op1umisn1ce');

All make sense?

And that's it. Save and activate the plugin and create a test thread.

Now whenever a new thread is started, a tweet will be made to twitter instantly.

You can see this in effect here:
http://twitter.com/lfgss

That is being pushed new threads for http://www.lfgss.com/ and it's working perfectly.

Any questions?

FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions)

Q: It doesn't work!

A: That's not a question, however if it doesn't work then it's extremely likely you got your username and passwords wrong or left the < > signs in there. Double-check and do it again.

Q: I see an "INVALID_JSON" error

A: Disable bitly by setting $useBitly to false.
Q: I see an "You must be authenticated to access shorten" error

A: The credentials that you entered are either wrong, or you made a mess of the syntax. You did remove the < > when you put your values in right? Did you check the example given above?

Q: I see an error that says "Warning: curl_setopt_array() [function.curl-setopt-array]: CURLOPT_FOLLOWLOCATION cannot be activated when in safe_mode or an open_basedir is set in [path]/bitly.php"

A: Wow, that's a good one... but easily fixable. Insert this at line 136 (just after the CURL options) in bitly.php:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases vBulletin 2 Twitter - Take Your News Straight To Twitter! AHealthForum vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 115 22 Feb 2013 23:02

  #286  
Old 11 Mar 2010, 00:36
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
"Could not authenticate you" (with Twitter) is going to be more difficult. Look back through the thread and you'll see others with the problem, and they don't seem to have had a lot of luck solving it.
Reply With Quote
  #287  
Old 11 Mar 2010, 07:47
Globus Globus is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Hello everyone!

First, buro9 Thank You for the great plugin you have done for the public and been so good in replying to our not so smart questions!

However, i was not able to get it going from the first kick! After reading about 12 pages of this thread and trying everything possible I Got IT going.

The working conditions(in my case) are:
vB 4.0.2
vBSEO 3.5: Custom URLs
Charset: UTF-8 ( Russian)
User details: correct
CURL: installed.
JSON: enabled.
Safe_Mode: off

bitly.php CURL options:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


tweeter.php CURL options:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Hope it helps somebody.
All the best!

Last edited by Globus; 11 Mar 2010 at 11:27. Reason: fkng gramma :)
Reply With Quote
  #288  
Old 11 Mar 2010, 18:47
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
I'm not a coder, but after hacking away with these two mods I finally got one that works for me. I made no claim to credit for anything, nor am I suggesting anyone should use mine.
Well, First KUDOS to you Videx, If you were close buy I'd buy you a CASE of Beer. I tried the original code here and no matter WHAT I did bit.ly would NOT work. Then I went over and downloaded vBulletin2Twitter and that didn't work either. 6 1/2 hours of tweaking, reading tons of posts and signing up to a "support" forum only to find out that you have to Pay for help on the "hacks", I finally discovered your post and gave it a go. It's working wonderfully.

Thank you - Thank You - Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #289  
Old 11 Mar 2010, 19:08
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
only to find out that you have to Pay for help on the "hacks"
Actually, let's wish the guy the best of luck. Every day I see people post "I'll pay to get this or that". Well, Mosh seems to know his way around this code (unlike myself), so now is the time to support his endeavors. I'm sure he will only make this mod better, and god knows I couldn't have gotten mine working at all if not for him.
Reply With Quote
  #290  
Old 11 Mar 2010, 20:18
123LearnToTrade 123LearnToTrade is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
If I have an RSS feed I am importing and it is posting a new thread with the RSS feed info in it, for some reason this does not post that thread to twitter. Is there a way to modify this?
Reply With Quote
  #291  
Old 11 Mar 2010, 20:38
jwood01 jwood01 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Installed and operational in 7 minutes following the directions, including remembering my twitter password.

Thank you for doing this for the community.
Reply With Quote
  #292  
Old 12 Mar 2010, 19:44
LbR's Avatar
LbR LbR is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
"Could not authenticate you" (with Twitter) is going to be more difficult. Look back through the thread and you'll see others with the problem, and they don't seem to have had a lot of luck solving it.

I would prefer waiting you to build up a mod, That fix all the problems like that. I wasted so many hours to get it work. Your 3.8.X product was great. While the Owner of this Mod is sleeping...
Reply With Quote
  #293  
Old 12 Mar 2010, 21:24
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by LbR View Post
Your 3.8.X product was great.
You have me confused with someone else. I have never released a product and can barely code "Hello World!" in HTML.

You can try the other tweet mod vBulletin2Twitter , but since it sounds like a server issue I doubt that will work for you either. However, that mod's author charges for support, so if you pay the fee you may be able to talk him into logging into your server and looking around for a solution. You'll have to trust him with your server credentials for that.
Reply With Quote
  #294  
Old 13 Mar 2010, 23:25
LbR's Avatar
LbR LbR is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
You have me confused with someone else. I have never released a product and can barely code "Hello World!" in HTML.

You can try the other tweet mod vBulletin2Twitter , but since it sounds like a server issue I doubt that will work for you either. However, that mod's author charges for support, so if you pay the fee you may be able to talk him into logging into your server and looking around for a solution. You'll have to trust him with your server credentials for that.

Oh sorry man, I thought you made that haha anyways sorry
Reply With Quote
  #295  
Old 16 Mar 2010, 15:53
123LearnToTrade 123LearnToTrade is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
If I have an RSS feed I am importing and it is posting a new thread with the RSS feed info in it, for some reason this does not post that thread to twitter. Is there a way to modify this?
Reply With Quote
  #296  
Old 16 Mar 2010, 17:57
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by 123LearnToTrade View Post
If I have an RSS feed I am importing and it is posting a new thread with the RSS feed info in it, for some reason this does not post that thread to twitter. Is there a way to modify this?
Not easily. Somewhere buried in all the threads about automatic posters is the fact that they use a different hook or something to do their posting, so it bypasses these mods. This could change in a future version of vb4, or someone may figure out a way around it eventually.
Reply With Quote
  #297  
Old 23 Mar 2010, 12:01
MrCookie MrCookie is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Hi Guys,

sorry for my bad english. Thx for this hack but i have a Problem:

I insert this php code in my Plug in:

// The array below are the ids of non-public forums, update these to be your admin forum ids or anything non-public by default
$excludedForums = array(0);

// If you are having trouble getting bitly URL shortening to work... disable it!
$useBitly = false;

if (!in_array($foruminfo[forumid], $excludedForums)) {
$shortUrl = 'http://www.MeineDomain.de/showthread.php?t='.$newpost[threadid];

if ($useBitly) {
// http://classes.verkoyen.eu/bitly
require_once 'bitly.php';
$bitly = new Bitly('<bit.ly username>', '<bit.ly API key>');
$shortUrl = $bitly->shorten($shortUrl);
}

$tweet = '';
if (isset($newpost['prefixid']) && $newpost['prefixid'] != '') {
$tweet = $vbphrase['prefix_'.$newpost['prefixid'].'_title_plain'].' ';
}
$tweet .= $newpost['title'].' '.$shortUrl;

// http://classes.verkoyen.eu/twitter/
require_once 'twitter.php';
$twitter = new Twitter('BlaBlaBla','BlaBlaBla');
$twitter->updateStatus($tweet);

and the system tell me :

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected $end in /var/www/web1/html/newthread.php(262): eval()'d code on line 27

Is the php Code wrong or What´s the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #298  
Old 23 Mar 2010, 22:00
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by MrCookie View Post
Is the php Code wrong or What´s the problem?
I'm not going to study the entire thing, but it looks like you have at least left out the closing bracket. Thus, the code tries to continue on into the next module, throwing that 'unexpected end' error.
Reply With Quote
  #299  
Old 24 Mar 2010, 13:11
captainslater captainslater is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Dominic
I get this error message:

Fatal error: Uncaught exception 'BitlyException' with message 'H' in /var/www/vhosts/hogwarts-forum.de/httpdocs/bitly.php:201 Stack trace: #0 /var/www/vhosts/hogwarts-forum.de/httpdocs/bitly.php(390): Bitly->doCall('shorten', Array) #1 /var/www/vhosts/hogwarts-forum.de/httpdocs/newthread.php(273) : eval()'d code(14): Bitly->shorten('http://www.hogw...') #2 /var/www/vhosts/hogwarts-forum.de/httpdocs/newthread.php(273): eval() #3 {main} thrown in /var/www/vhosts/hogwarts-forum.de/httpdocs/bitly.php on line 201
What have I done wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #300  
Old 24 Mar 2010, 22:06
munsonfan15 munsonfan15 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Seems to work great - installed
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:59.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: