Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Improve registration with popup window Details »
Improve registration with popup window
Mod Version: 1.00, by cionfs (Coder/Designer) cionfs is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2018 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.2 Rating: (6 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 53
Released: 29 May 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 9
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

Here's a script that makes time for X seconds display a popup window to improve users to register.
The message is shown only for guest when they view forumhome.

Go to AdminCP>Styles & Templates>Search in Templates and fint "header" template.

At the beginning, before all the code, add this code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To change the time, in this example set to 20 seconds, change this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and put in its place the seconds that must remain active popup.

To change the message in the popup to change what is between


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Example in attachment.


PS: sorry for my english

Original modification in Italian language available here.

Cionfs of Cionfs'Forum CMS

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	improve_registration.jpg
Views:	3878
Size:	107.3 KB
ID:	99761  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Mini Mods Improve Registration Rates oninuva vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 73 25 Dec 2008 15:59
Improve Registration + Ads! oninuva vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 28 04 Feb 2007 08:11

  #46  
Old 15 Nov 2009, 03:06
cionfs's Avatar
cionfs cionfs is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Real name: Antonio
Change this code


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

To this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Change "color" with your preferred color
__________________
Cionfs'Forum CMS: CMS Support
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 15 Nov 2009, 05:05
Bouncer222 Bouncer222 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Thanks! works!
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 21 Nov 2009, 02:54
Danny Diamond's Avatar
Danny Diamond Danny Diamond is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Real name: Dan
Can anyone tell me if this affects google or other search bots in a negative manner?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 22 Nov 2009, 16:01
tommydamic68's Avatar
tommydamic68 tommydamic68 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Angry menu showing in background

Hey,
maybe someone can help, this mods works fine but menu shows in the background, see www.sphynxlair.com
thanks in advanced. Oh and where do i add rel="nofollow" for bots etc. Whats odd is it does not show on desktop but only on lap top?

Last edited by tommydamic68; 22 Nov 2009 at 16:50.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 22 Nov 2009, 18:10
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Michael Miller Jr
Originally Posted by tommydamic68 View Post
Hey,
maybe someone can help, this mods works fine but menu shows in the background, see www.sphynxlair.com
thanks in advanced. Oh and where do i add rel="nofollow" for bots etc. Whats odd is it does not show on desktop but only on lap top?
Tommy,

Try changing this code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And making it go down a bit... i.e.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That will lower it more otherwise change the 30px to more it seems UKBL's menu mod must share some similar.. something or just not implemented right? Not 100% sure but you should be doing this...


This goes into head inlcude template not header...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This into Forumhome template (otherwise if you put it in header or navbar it could pop up each time you change a page but it looks to have that set not to do it):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And Tommy, just been busy

Mike
__________________
Daddy Does Dios and Figs!
https://www.linkedin.com/in/thelastsuperman

Search - Use the search feature to find similar issues/answers.
Information - Include screenshots, copy/pasted error codes, url etc.
Fixed - Please return to your thread/post and let us know how it was fixed!
Thanks - For participating! Click the "Like" on a post if someone helped you!
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 17 Jan 2010, 19:43
captkirk captkirk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Works perfect, a big thanks
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 12 Nov 2010, 18:51
Eplexx Eplexx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto
Real name: Kyle
It worked great thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 23 Nov 2010, 23:29
SouthEastSxS SouthEastSxS is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
anyone know if this works in 4x or if there is anything like this for 4x
__________________
vBulletin - v4.0.4u1 (CMS), GoDaddy Hosting, Linux OS, MY SQL Database

Addons:- vBH Add New Tabs 1.2, Forum Category Icons Advanced 1.2.4, Mini Photo Edit 1.0.1, VBadvanced CMPS 4.0.1, VSa Advanced New Posts 3.0.2, VSa Advanced Registration 2.0.1,
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 24 Nov 2010, 08:59
cionfs's Avatar
cionfs cionfs is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Real name: Antonio
It works in vB4.
__________________
Cionfs'Forum CMS: CMS Support
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 10 Jan 2011, 13:32
Ivelios Ivelios is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Real name: Przemysław
Thx for mod.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 17 Mar 2011, 16:13
Joe Gronlund's Avatar
Joe Gronlund Joe Gronlund is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Joe Gronlund
is it works on 4.1.2 ?
i tried but no works any help ?
__________________
MCSE, MVP, CCIE
Microsoft Beta Team
Windows 7 - Windows 7 Support
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 10 Jun 2011, 20:04
englndpatriots englndpatriots is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
For those that want one W3C Validated I tried but no luck. I managed to kill 2 errors though.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 14 Jun 2011, 23:10
dizzynation's Avatar
dizzynation dizzynation is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by sdfaheem View Post
Its still not aligning, the page is getting extended to the right.
Still having this problem too.

And coinfs, if you can quote peoples post it would be much easier to read your instruction and who you are talking to.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 15 Jun 2011, 17:47
dizzynation's Avatar
dizzynation dizzynation is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
in the message, your default message, i just want to add "FREE" before services, can anyone explain how to do that? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 20 Jun 2011, 15:03
ChatHut ChatHut is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Originally Posted by dizzynation View Post
in the message, your default message, i just want to add "FREE" before services, can anyone explain how to do that? Thanks

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Just find this and edit the message as you wish. I've taken the liberty of adding the word free in red for you, but you can edit the entire message as you see it.





Out of interest, and on a separate matter, I want to know if it is possible to pop up with a login box for members, or perhaps 'Choose a username and password', and this brings them to the main registration page with those fields auto-filled in? I know this mod isn't supported any more, but any pointers would be appreciated, thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: