Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #16  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 20:17
scottkoz20 scottkoz20 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Real name: Scott
I used the following


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

on my FORUMHOME it shows the 1st 2 messages, with a marquee scroll starting on the right side, going to the left on the header

in my hockey forum 166, it shows all 3 messages, going from right to left.

this appears to be working

https://www.sportscardforum.com/foru...key-Card-Forum
Attached Images
File Type: jpg marquee.jpg (22.4 KB, 7 views)
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 20:18
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ok maybe this is why ... what js version does it use if it uses js? ... I think the last marquee I had didn't work because of a version of js I had which conflicts with this ...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 20:22
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg View Post
Me too lol ...

So it should show the 3 messages , test ... test 1 and test 2 right ... I think I am the one who is confused

The messages are getting pulled from those 3 forums ... or do I have to create a new thread or new reply for it to show up from any of those 3 forums? .
When viewing the thread list, or viewing any thread (and using the advanced editor) within any of those 3 forums, you should see the 3 messages scrolling, associated with those forums.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 20:23
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I am leaving something out or I just don't understand how this is supposed to work lol ... "head bump on table" ...

--------------- Added 13 Mar 2018 at 20:28 ---------------

LOL OMG !!! dude I "AM" "S" toopet! lol

So the forums which I add will have that specific message !!! lol ..MUAHAHAH !!!!

If I want it on forum home I added 0 and it shows that particular message ... it looks like its working correctly now lol ..
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 20:31
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Yes, using a forumid of "0" will show it in all of the designated scripts.

The person who originally asked me for this wanted different messages for different forums, so that's why it is set up that way.

--------------- Added 13 Mar 2018 at 20:31 ---------------

By the way, you can use HTML in your messages as well.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 20:32
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Nice nice !! lol

How can I set it to be at the very top like ESPN has it's ticker at the bottom of the screen without it disappearing when you scroll down ...
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 21:34
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg View Post
Nice nice !! lol

How can I set it to be at the very top like ESPN has it's ticker at the bottom of the screen without it disappearing when you scroll down ...
Okay, give this a try...you'll see a new setting that allows you to choose between above the header (fixed) and below the header (as it was before).
Attached Files
File Type: xml product-markflforummarquee.xml (11.3 KB, 1 views)
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 21:39
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ok its above header but it still moves/disappears when you scroll down
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 21:43
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg View Post
Ok its above header but it still moves/disappears when you scroll down
Of course...I mean why would it behave for you the same way it behaves for me? LOL!
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 13 Mar 2018, 21:59
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Yeah I don't know but it still does it lol ...

--------------- Added 13 Mar 2018 at 22:18 ---------------

I got it to work now ... I had to add the following to the markfl_forummarquee.css


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I also had to change the margin and padding and then the margin from the top of the bsb div to 70px from the top ...
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 14 Mar 2018, 00:08
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Some of those lines in red are redundant, as they are included in the class selector:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The others are likely particular to your custom style, which of course I can't possibly account for ahead of time.

And you now have no choice but to have the thing fixed.

It worked perfectly for me, but if I had a nickel for every time things work for me, and not for others, I'd be a very rich man.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 14 Mar 2018, 02:08
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Oh that's crazy ..the new css file didn't get overwritten which is why it didn't work ..it only did it on the default and 2 other styles I have ... crazy !
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 14 Mar 2018, 02:41
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg View Post
Oh that's crazy ..the new css file didn't get overwritten which is why it didn't work ..it only did it on the default and 2 other styles I have ... crazy !
Did you make any edits to the .css template? That's the only reason I know of that it wouldn't get overwritten when updating a product.
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 14 Mar 2018, 03:12
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Not that I remember lol ... but it's working now so thank you Mark ...

One thing I wouldn't mind having is being able to pull tittles with links from certain forums ... what do'ya think?

I remember there being one like that but for some reason it didn't work on my site ... don't remember why ... It was able to get links from forums and also from RSS feeds
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 14 Mar 2018, 03:16
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Real name: Mark
You can put links in there manually, using anchor tags.

What kind of links are you wanting to auto-grab, links to threads? Based on what criteria?
__________________
Former vBulletin.org Staff Member



Support for my products (as well as updates/new product publishing) has been moved to MHB - vBulletin Products and TAZ - Add-ons
Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:51.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: