Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Form Hack Details »
Form Hack
Mod Version: 4.1, by Abe1 (Coder) Abe1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (76 votes - 4.51 average) Installs: 1213
Released: 15 Sep 2006 Last Update: 24 Apr 2008 Downloads: 6041
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Form Hack 4.1


Features:

Ever wanted an online form that a user can fill out, which when submitted gets:
  • Posted into a new thread in a forum of your choice
  • Create a new poll in the new thread with options of your choice
  • Posted as a reply in an existing thread of your choice
  • PMed to you or someone else
  • Emailed to an email address you specify
  • Choose to redirect to the post, thread or forum, or a custom thank you message
  • Choose to redirect to edit post
  • See a preview before they submit

Or any combination or all of the above?

Well, this is the hack for you!

You can use this for:
  • Moderator Applications
  • Quiz Submit Form which gets PMed to a moderator
  • Contact Form that goes to PM, email or thread
  • Guests to apply to be members
  • Report a Moderator form that goes as a PM to you
  • Guests can PM you for whatever reason
  • Order form to buy things
  • Donation form
  • News or Articles submissions that can go straight to a thread

Or anything you like - this hack is totally customizable via the AdminCP.

The beauty of this hack is that once you install this hack, to make a new form all you need to do is copy the main hook, rename it to whatever you want, edit the variables in the hook, and you have a totally new form!!! You do not need to touch the templates again, but can always create new ones and use different templates for different forms.

Format of the form:
  • One main input question
  • 3 Radio buttons Choice questions
  • 3 Normal text input questions
  • 1 Drop down menu
  • 3 Check boxes
  • 1 Long answer question
  • 1 VB message editor text box question
  • Upload attachments

This is customizable via the hook.

Also:
  • You can set the usergroups you want access to this form.
  • Depending on your forum permissions, if the new thread is in a public forum, members can reply to it. This hack allows a form to submit the new thread or post wherever you want it to go.
  • Force the user to answer all questions.

INSTALLATION
Easy - takes only a few minutes:
  • Import the XML into products. (admin cp -> Plug-in System -> Manage Products -> Add/Import Product)
  • Edit the main plug-in - the instructions are all inside the hook itself, in the top half. Follow the instructions carefully!
  • To get to the form, go to: /newthread.php?do=form (change "form" to the name of your form if you have few)

Done!

Use this hack to make as many forms as you like!

Enjoy!

Updates:

Version 4.0: (09/15/2006)
  • Ported over for vb3.6
  • Send to multiple emails.
  • Send multiple PMs.
  • Parse emails for BBCode
  • And finally, ATTACHMENTS!

Version 4.1: (04/24/2008)
  • Fixed for vb 3.6.10
  • Small bug fixed.
  • List of the 2 quick edits are in the zip file so you don't have to start making a form from scratch.

MAKE SURE YOU CLICK INSTALL!
You will get an email when a new version is released.

Abe1 with rights from Dr Erwin Loh

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	form.JPG
Views:	21055
Size:	147.2 KB
ID:	53487  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add-On Releases Ajax add-on Form Hack Deepdog009 vBulletin 3.6 Template Modifications 23 22 Sep 2008 21:17

  #1231  
Old 26 Aug 2008, 05:35
Vackrick Vackrick is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Real name: Matt
How to add this into the templete???

$dropdownquestion1 = "Suspension Reason";

// The following choices must NOT have quotation marks
$dropdownchoice1a = "Inactivity";
$dropdownchoice1b = "No Ads";
$dropdownchoice1c = "Wrong Ads ";
$dropdownchoice1d = "Incorrect Placement Of Ads";
$dropdownchoice1e = "No Index Up Within 1 Week Or More";
$dropdownchoice1f = "Another Reason That Is Unlisted";
$dropdownchoice1g = "Unknown";
Reply With Quote
  #1232  
Old 26 Aug 2008, 15:12
mustang_lex mustang_lex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Threads automatically generated state that they are "Moderated" SOLVED!
Form missing "Manage Attachments" SOLVED!


For those who have had this happen to them. I found the solutions. Its quite simple but easily overlooked. Please note that in my situation, the form was being posted to an admin forum that is not accessible to any registered users, just admins.

1) Login into Admin CP
2) Under "Forum and Moderators" click Forum Permissions
3) Go to the forum that the form gets submitted to.
4) Click "Edit" on the usergroup that uses the form (you may need to do this for more then just one usergroup)
5) Because in my situation, everything was set to NO. So I selected YES to "Can Post Threads", "Follow Forum Moderation Rules" and "Can Upload Attachments".
6) Save and volla. Well it worked for me.
__________________
Alex
My vbulletin 3.0.7 site www.stangette.com/community
My coppermine gallery (fully integrated) www.stangette.com/showcase

http://www.stangette.com/graphics/stangettebanner2.jpg

Last edited by mustang_lex; 26 Aug 2008 at 15:28.
Reply With Quote
  #1233  
Old 26 Aug 2008, 15:55
Stryker412 Stryker412 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
I didn't test my triple drop down question in IE. It shows in Firefox fine, but in IE the one drop down box does not even appear.

Edit: fixed

Last edited by Stryker412; 27 Aug 2008 at 14:10.
Reply With Quote
  #1234  
Old 27 Aug 2008, 10:34
cragtay cragtay is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
In the default form template of Form Hack 4.1, there is only one place where user can use editor menu bar, emotions, etc., i.e. $messagearea

Can I create another place where user can use editor menu bar, emotions, etc. in a form? I may have only one VB TEXT AREA INPUT, but is there any way to have one more field where user can use bbcode, emoticons, etc.?
Reply With Quote
  #1235  
Old 27 Aug 2008, 15:01
viper357's Avatar
viper357 viper357 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I have 2 forms up and running but when I click submit on my newly created form it is not creating any threads, I have tried various forum numbers but nothing?

Last edited by viper357; 27 Aug 2008 at 16:02.
Reply With Quote
  #1236  
Old 28 Aug 2008, 00:32
skulldred skulldred is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
My solution:

Add:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

after:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

then set the variable:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

and now add the following:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

open the form with:
newthread.php?do=form&fid=5 or 6 or what you want

thats it
Reply With Quote
  #1237  
Old 28 Aug 2008, 02:12
lazytown lazytown is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
For those of you trying to use this as a "contact us" form but are frustrated with the spam, I found a solution..

Use this mod http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=186926 instead (only useful for a single contact us form to be posted as a thread).. Uses the spam prevention features of vbulletin.

-vissa
Reply With Quote
  #1238  
Old 02 Sep 2008, 04:19
BlueBulletRL BlueBulletRL is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
pretty please someone help me
Reply With Quote
  #1239  
Old 03 Sep 2008, 16:21
Castro82 Castro82 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
after the update to 3.7.3 there is an securitytokken error using this hack.?
Reply With Quote
  #1240  
Old 05 Sep 2008, 02:59
DieselMinded's Avatar
DieselMinded DieselMinded is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
WOW will implement when its updated next
__________________
Is your forum registered? - https://www.forumregister.com
Reply With Quote
  #1241  
Old 05 Sep 2008, 04:13
zglows zglows is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by Castro82 View Post
after the update to 3.7.3 there is an securitytokken error using this hack.?
is this true?
Reply With Quote
  #1242  
Old 05 Sep 2008, 09:38
brianFL1 brianFL1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Sorry if this has been asked before, but is it possible to redirect to a specified page with our own URL instead of a thankyou message. Thankyou
Reply With Quote
  #1243  
Old 06 Sep 2008, 13:57
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
Originally Posted by zglows View Post
is this true?
Try searching vbulletin.org for "Security Token", you'll find that it's not related to this specific hack at all.

I'm guessing you went from 3.6.8 to 3.7.3?

Just search for the term and you will find a solution.
Reply With Quote
  #1244  
Old 06 Sep 2008, 13:58
RedGTiVR6 RedGTiVR6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Real name: Jan
Has anyone been able to find a way to warn the user when the title is too long for the 'thread'?

I'm finding that our users are putting a very long title in.

I have a field set: Please give a brief description of the problem here

Well, they seem to think that brief means long....

So they go to submit a bug report, they are told by vBulletin that it's submitted...yet nothing ever shows up because the title is too long.
Reply With Quote
  #1245  
Old 09 Sep 2008, 12:55
jdunsworth jdunsworth is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Great hack!

For some reason when I import this product to a new set of forums running vBulletin 3.7.3 and try the newthread.php?do=<name> it gives me a parse error:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I tried it in forums running 3.7.0 and it doesn't work either, whereas the original forum I made these for was running 3.7.0.. It honestly makes no sense. Any help is appreciated!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:48.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: