Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Extra Profile Fields Page Details »
Extra Profile Fields Page
Mod Version: 3.0.1, by Wired1 (Coder) Wired1 is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2019 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.3 Rating: (20 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 252
Released: 21 May 2008 Last Update: 09 Jun 2008 Downloads: 2180
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Code Changes  

Don't forget to hit INSTALL!

You can find the 3.6.x version of this hack here.

This product will add a new page to the User CP for easy editing of specially marked profile fields, that for one reason or another you would like to split off from the main list. NOTE: Any fields marked for this page will not be seen in the user's profile. A mod I'll release later on will create a tab for them, fully editable like the "About Me" tab.

After the product is FULLY installed, when a you want to move a profile field to the new page for easy editing:

1. Go to the AdminCP and edit the field as normal.
2. At the bottom in the Display Page area, you will see "Which page displays this option?" The last option should say Options: $vbphrase[extra_options].
3. Save!

Personally, I use this page for PC specs, but it can also be used for other specs as well (e.g. cars). With an ADDITIONAL product (e.g. NOT this one), I place these specs in a dropdown list under the user title in each user's post, as well as in their profile as an extra tab.

Here's some examples of how I use this mod (with the Add-On mod, Extra Profile Fields Tab, and a separate mod, Profile Fields in a Postbit Dropdown):
http://www.houseofhelp.com/forums/sh...ad.php?t=39826
Note: the pics in that thread are from 3.6.x, but you'll get the idea.


# of plugins: 3
# of php page edits: 1 (admincp/profilefield.php)
# of new templates: 1 (page)
# of template edits: 1 (USERCP_SHELL)
# of new phrases: 3 Click here for details. Also look at the attached pictures to see where they show up.


If you have a 3.6.x version of this on your forum and are running 3.7.0, please uninstall it via running backwards through the old instructions, and then follow the Install instructions.

To Install:
1) Save the attached product-wired1_epfp.xml file.
2) Navigate to AdminCP -> Plugins & Products -> Manage Products -> [Add/Import Product]
3) Browse to wherever you saved the file.
4) Allow Overwrite -> Yes.
5) Import!
6) Follow the instructions for the manual edits (1 template edit, 1 PHP page edit)

The install process should only take 5 minutes at most.

Don't forget to hit INSTALL!

Support will only be given to people who have hit install.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Addons

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Display Page.jpg
Views:	2177
Size:	17.2 KB
ID:	81093   Click image for larger version

Name:	Extra Page.jpg
Views:	3884
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	81094  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Profile Enhancements Extra Profile Fields Page Wired1 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 337 20 Aug 2008 09:42
Extra Profile Fields Page Wired1 vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 233 22 May 2008 21:05
Extra Profile Fields Page Zachery vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 124 11 Jan 2008 17:19

  #16  
Old 21 May 2008, 22:36
neologan neologan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by KHALIK View Post
How do I manage to get it displayed on postbit?

Example - like this or smiliar (prefer - just one line and the rest under popup)

This is from neologan forum
http://forums.pureoverclock.com/showthread.php?t=479


I have installed this and can see the extra options under my UserCP, but it does not display under postbit.

any ideas why?
that is a different mod: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=97702
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21 May 2008, 22:39
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by KHALIK View Post
How do I manage to get it displayed on postbit?

Example - like this or smiliar (prefer - just one line and the rest under popup)

This is from neologan forum
http://forums.pureoverclock.com/showthread.php?t=479


I have installed this and can see the extra options under my UserCP, but it does not display under postbit.

any ideas why?
Because this mod has nothing to do with the dropdown in the postbit That's a different mod of mine, although that site you linked to either made their own or uses someone else's. They do indeed use my profile page mod though.


Originally Posted by Jase2 View Post
Anything changed from the 3.6 version Wired ?
Functionality, nope. easier install though (less manual edits). Still working on something new for it, but it would hardly be a noticable change.


Originally Posted by Big Boss View Post
Thanks for the update! I've been waiting for this and it's finally here.
Hit INSTALL then!
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net

Last edited by Wired1; 21 May 2008 at 22:46.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 21 May 2008, 23:10
neologan neologan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by Wired1 View Post
What's the code? I'll add it tonight.
the actual table is


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

in the page template above:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

but i think a new phrase for naming this would be best, too?
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 21 May 2008, 23:30
odeezie odeezie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I installed this, but im not seeing anything...Am I supposed to see an "Extra Options" link show up in my UserCP?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 21 May 2008, 23:37
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

just before

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

is sufficient I think. Now that I see the change, I'll probably wait till the next product version update to add that, as no one's mentioned it in years
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 21 May 2008, 23:38
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by odeezie View Post
I installed this, but im not seeing anything...Am I supposed to see an "Extra Options" link show up in my UserCP?
If you followed the INSTRUCTIONS, yes. To be specific, you need to do the manual edits in the instruction file.
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 21 May 2008, 23:41
odeezie odeezie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Originally Posted by Wired1 View Post
If you followed the INSTRUCTIONS, yes. To be specific, you need to do the manual edits in the instruction file.

I did those edits and went back over them a second time to make sure they were right. I would love to download your other mod too so I can get that drop down menu in users postbits, but I am stuck right now....

Can you tell me exactly where I should see the Extra Options link? Maybe I am simply overlooking it....sorry
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 21 May 2008, 23:50
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
I put pictures up which should explain everything (probably put up around when you were initially posting your question).
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 22 May 2008, 00:01
neologan neologan is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by Wired1 View Post
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

just before

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

is sufficient I think. Now that I see the change, I'll probably wait till the next product version update to add that, as no one's mentioned it in years
agreed!
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 22 May 2008, 00:34
odeezie odeezie is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I figured out why it would not show up.

The Extra Options link in the userCP will not show up if you have the UserCP icons hack installed: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=170558

Once I disabled those icons, it worked just fine. Is there anyway I can make this work with the icons enabled?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 22 May 2008, 02:04
SVTOA SVTOA is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Very well done!

/installed
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 22 May 2008, 02:21
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by odeezie View Post
I figured out why it would not show up.

The Extra Options link in the userCP will not show up if you have the UserCP icons hack installed: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=170558

Once I disabled those icons, it worked just fine. Is there anyway I can make this work with the icons enabled?
His mod does much more than just add icons, it replaces the UserCP with its own template. You'd have to edit that new UserCP template.

Originally Posted by SVTOA View Post
Very well done!
thanks!
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 22 May 2008, 03:57
toucan42 toucan42 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Tagging this mod and looking forward to the one adding a tab to the 3.7 profile.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 22 May 2008, 06:31
Wired1's Avatar
Wired1 Wired1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Originally Posted by toucan42 View Post
Tagging this mod and looking forward to the one adding a tab to the 3.7 profile.
Please hit INSTALL as well (TBH, no idea what the use of tagging is).
__________________
Admin of the Corsair Memory Forum (AKA the House of Help from back in the day)
Admin of Petri's IT Forum / Moderator at webdesignforums.net
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 22 May 2008, 15:01
KHALIK KHALIK is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Originally Posted by Wired1 View Post
Because this mod has nothing to do with the dropdown in the postbit That's a different mod of mine, although that site you linked to either made their own or uses someone else's. They do indeed use my profile page mod though.
Can you link me to that mod please.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:21.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: